We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Banff
Surrey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The start of our Canadian honeymoon at the end of July began here and we have to say the 3 days we spent here were amazing! We had the executive loft room with a jacuzzi and a definite 10/10 for value for money. The bed was huge, with matress topper and the best pillows. The room had a gigantic floor to ceiling arch shaped window which had mountain views but also overlooked the main road into the centre of Banff (not that busy and you could't hear any road traffic from inside). There were 2 toilets, 2 flat screen TV's, a fridge. a fireplace and of course the Jacuzzi, with warm coloured lights which subtly changed colour. Wish we were back there now!
There is no air - con but we had big ceiling fans which worked a treat.
It is a 15 minute walk into town. The first day we got the free bus but after that we just walked and happened to see an elk just nosying around in someone's front garden. A great sight.
The Keg Restaurant was a bonus with it being in the hotel and the breakfast very good.
Staff were helpful and the hotel very clean.
Another good plus was the free use of the spa with the steam room a great way to recover from jet lag.
Would definetly go back to the Banff Caribou Lodge again, we loved Banff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    461
    121
    57
    17
See reviews for
212
574
40
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Although a good walk into town, there is the availability of free bus transport if you do not want a lovely 10-15 minute stroll.
Rooms are adequate and the restaurant delighted those who ate there. Friendly staff.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The staff are pleasant and helpful. The rooms are average quality. There are irons but no board in the room which is the last thing you need just before you're going out for dinner. Also, there is no aircondtioning so if you stay on a hot day you can expect to have your window open all night. With the window open, you'll have to listen to all the drunks wandering back to the hotel in the middle of the night along Banff Avenue. The hot tub area is badly in need of a freshening up. There is rust everywhere in the bathrooms. Also the fountain isn't working so you'll have to bring your water bottle down with you, as it's very hot and muggy in there. In general, this hotel might need some TLC to bring it up to snuff. Also, if you're driving a big vehicle (truck or SUV) you won't fit into the parking lot. You'll have to drive around and around in order to find a place to park.

Room Tip: Choose one that doesn't face Banff Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The room had a nice decoration, the bathroom was great. Staff was friendly.
There ist a "Keg"-Restaurant inside the hotel - delicious.
The location is good to reach from Highway 1, free parking inside, free rides for Shuttle-Busses to the center of town.
All together: we would recommend it to friends staying in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

An older style hotel, but recently renovated. Very nice place with rustic Canadian charm. All fittings reflect something to do with the Caribou as the name suggests. The light fittings, the curtain rods, everything. Right next door is The Keg Bar and Grill. We both had steaks and I have to say they were fantastic. Quality to rival anything we have had back home in Australia. Our waitress, Susan, was very pleasant and helpful and could not do enough for us even though the restaurant was busy. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful and hotel facilities up to standard. The only complaint was that the ceiling of the carpark is very low, and I only just got the hire car in the car park. We were driving a Chevrolet Suburban, so it was a big car. Not the hotels fault, but something to note.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just returned from Canada after a wonderful holiday. In Banff we stayed at the Caribou Lodge which was a little way out of the centre of town - but only a 5-10 minute walk. The hotel provided a bus pass which enables you to get the bus into and out of town and also to the gondola at Hot Springs etc. The staff were friendly and the room clean and nicely decorated. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant which was more than adequate. Other people in our group had had their evening meal there and were very impressed with the food, especially the steak. No complaints, we enoyed our stay.

Room Tip: You are away from the hustle of the town and the bus pass is very useful if you don't want to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Great rooms and very friendly service. Would love to stay there again. Close to downtown Banff!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.