We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thea's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thea's House
Save
You added Thea's House to your Saves list
138 Otter Street | Box 1237, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“5 Star B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Although Thea's house may be a little more expensive than some B&B's it is worth it. The house is just beautiful, the room spacious, well equipped, comfortable and the whole place is extraodinarily clean and neat.

As other reviews have said, Jami is a perfectionist and no detail is left unattended. She is welcoming, and has useful local knowledge.

Breakfast was delightful - and the coffee station in the evening was very welcome.

Jami made an excpetion and allowed us and our friends to stay for justone night. We should have stayed longer and we would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent three night at Thea's, four block off of Banff Avenue in Banff. We wish we could have stayed longer but they were booked. The property is so clean, well kept and Jamie the owner is a perfectionist and it shows in everything she does. The view out our window was fantastic. The breakfeast she served were amazing. Continental with something hot, pancakes or something along those lines. You are required to take your shoes off at the front door which should give you an idea of how much pride that the owners have to maintain the property for their guests. Once you park your car at Thea's you will not need it again if you are going to dinner or shopping around town. I would really recommend Thea's Place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Winnebago, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Thea's House B&B provided an excellent base for our recent 4 day stay in the Banff/Lake Louise area. the Inn is very conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Banff, the accomodations (Edith's Room) wer very comfortable, and Jami was a very courteous hostess. Breakfast had an excellent variety of fruits and cheese each day in addition to cold cereal and a hot entree. The hot entrees were well prepared, but not as imaginative as some we have had in other inns. All in all a very good location from which to explore the magnificant Canadian Rockies.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Thea's house is immaculate and the bedrooms are amazing! Vary large 4 poster beds and lots of space. Nothing is out of place anywhere in this B&B, all decorations are very tasteful and match the setting. Parking is available and you can easily walk into Banff for dinner. Jami knows the area well and is very happy to give advice about sights to visit in the area. Breakfast was our only issue I am lactose intolerant and a couple of times during our stay I was unable to eat the hot food, a choice would be nice as the rates here are expensive. Also be aware that all hot food is vegetarian.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Location, location, location!!! Thanks to our hostess Jami for her kindness, hints, suggestions and amazing breakfasts. The view of the mountains from our room greeted us every morning. The rooms are spacious, with great amenities, comfy beds and the best wifi of our trip. One morning my husband wanted to leave really(6:30am) early, so we would arrive at the Columbia ice fields a 2-3 hour drive north before the crowds. We asked Jami if we could pick up a a bkfst to go and she put together an fantastic continental fare, in 2 bags ready for us in the refrigerator next to the rooms. So wonderful, so convenient and very generous. Taking our shoes off at the front door was no big deal, we do that in our home, and Jami provided house slippers. Thea's hardwood floors are stunning, and with all the hiking and walking on trails, to take our shoes off was the least we could do. We enjoyed a four night stay, and walked into downtown 3 of the 4 evenings for dinner, so convenient. The gardens surrounding our b&b were stunning! Thea's House was a perfect base to explore, relax and enjoy the Canadian Rockies.

Room Tip: Any room is great! The Cascade room was fantastic....the bed, oh the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

I recommend that you read the other reviews to decide whether the rules are too much for you to handle. I had a wonderful, relaxing couple of days. My room was spectacular, the fireplace cozy, the bathroom relaxing, the bed restful. The internet worked. There were plenty of books, movies, and games to choose from. The movies were in alphabetical order. That's cute, not something to be outraged about. This will definitely be a return spot for us.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in mid-September and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was great for walking "downtown" for dinner, drinks, etc. It might be a little more challenging in winter months, but we had 60 and 70 degree temps during our days, so walking was very pleasant. Being able to walk to dinner was very nice as the traffic (again, when we were there) was less than desirable. Our hostess was very nice and it was obvious she wanted us to be comfortable and happy with our stay...and we were! Breakfasts were great and her recommendations for dining were spot on. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thea's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thea's House

Address: 138 Otter Street | Box 1237, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable elegance in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. Thea's House is Banff's finest boutique style bed and breakfast experience. Our guest rooms each feature one king size bed, gas fireplace, balcony with stunning mountain view, en-suite bathroom with jetted tub (and a shower), plus many more amenities. Guests also have use of a beautiful lounge area and complimentary tea and coffee service is available at all times. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thea`s House Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thea's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.