We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs a facelift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Johnston Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Johnston Canyon Resort
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, needs a facelift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in early September and it was wonderful to be able to take our dog with us on a weekend getaway. We had a bungalow suite which was smaller than I anticipated. We had to open the windows and leave them open overnight as there was a musty smell that would not dissipate. It smelled a bit like pet urine that could no longer be cleaned. While it's understandable in a pet-friendly place, the carpet really looked like it could use replacement.
The best thing about the cabins is the proximity to the very popular Johnston Canyon hike, the parking lot and road shoulders are chalk full by 9:00am.
The food at the restaurant is ok for dinner. The cafe would be good for a faster breakfast before venturing out. Sadly our breakfast took over 30mins to prepare (while staff members managed to get their food) which was a bit frustrating.
I love the idea of staying in a cabin but the experience at Johnston Canyon was average. The price was alright, but there are other cabins in the Rockies (Patricia Lake Bungalows) that are nicer.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    76
    25
    21
    12
See reviews for
79
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We like the bathtub! Very classic setting and clean. We appreciated
the pretty dishes and nice pans. The resort is in a nice location. A bit busy
at times but no where near what we thought based on the previous trip
advisor we saw. The decor of the cabin was lovely and had great curtains.
Thank you for all the nice amenities.

Room Tip: It was pleasant not having the wifi as it allowed to get a break from 24/7 online. If we needed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We stayed in cabin 24, a standalone cabin. Was exactly what my husband and I were looking for when we were able to have a weekend alone without our kids. Restaurant on site, breakfast was delicious.

The cabin was cosy but had a faint musty smell, but that is to be expected for a cabin so we never minded. It had towels, shampoos, conditioner, lotion etc and a mini fridge, and a tv. The tv had no channels, and only movies for rent from the office, but that isn't what we were there for.

It was exactly what we were looking for and will head back.

Room Tip: Cabin 24 was a nice cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Stayed here sept 28-30/14. Second time in my favorite cabin!! Beautiful setting, rustic, peaceful, relaxing. Brought our own breakfasts and one supper- I checked ahead regarding the BBQ. Unfortunately the BBQ s weren't hooked up ( they are building a lovely deck right now.) However the coordinator was more than happy to offer the kitchen staff to cook our sausages.
The lovely fireplace keeps the cabin toasty warm ( a few chilly nights).
Bed is very comfortable and clean, the small fridge provides plenty of room for perishables.
It is rustic but full of charm. Will happily return next fall!!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We were at this property 2 years ago. This time we came for 3 nights for our 10th anniversary. We were given cabin #26. The bed and linens are top notch but I was surprised at the quality of the room. The carpet needed a good cleaning, eg, there was a big black built up spot by the couch. The table had 2chairs, one was ripped right down the middle. That really made it feel like a dive. Before leaving I checked under the bed and found other peoples stuff. One aft. I wanted to sit out on the porch but with the many cleaning girls racing around on golf carts, it was super noisy and dusty. They were having a ball, seeing how fast they could go on the bumpy roads.
The cabin is generally clean and quaint. I think it's time to update. They also want 189.00 a night for this.
We won't be going back even though it's so so quiet with no Wi Fi and trees surrounding you.

I didn't rate the noise level as quiet because of the golf carts.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that is stand alone, last time we had a duplex cabin and you can hear their noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The web photo of the Banff Bungalow (their smallest) looks like a stand-alone cabin. As they tell you when you enquire, it is a duplex. The adjoining unit is offset so that the units only share about half a wall. In any event, it was quiet. It is quite plain, rather small, but comfortable enough. There are two big chairs and a table on the veranda, and a small kitchen table with 2 padded chairs inside. No big upholstered chair - there wouldn't be room. Heat is from a thermostatically controlled propane heater. There is a small old-fashioned TV/VCR but no TV reception - videos may be rented. That's fine with me. There is a coffee maker and small electronic fridge, but no phone. The resort has no laundry but the sink is large, so you can wash, say, a T-shirt. All in all it was quite OK and I'd stay there again if visiting the canyon.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We spent 3 nights there. The cabins are older & more rustic than other places in Banff National Park. We quite enjoyed no tv, phone or internet service, however I still got cell service there. For the price we paid, we feel we got a good deal.

Room Tip: Numerous cabins, depending on requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.