We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming option in Nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon Resort

Save Saved
You added Johnston Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Johnston Canyon Resort
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Alvaston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming option in Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was rather charming in such a lovely setting. The nature was quite spectacular. The mountains and closeness of them to our cabin created a surreal experience. The cabins had a nice character to them. The lodge has a nearby restaurant and gift shop and seemed reasonable
The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    58
    17
    20
    11
See reviews for
65
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were glad to see our nice and very clean cabin. It was a long trip and needed some good
rest and peace. The location next to the trail to the waterfalls is very convenient and we had friendly service and attention. The prices were good too. Would like to return someday in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in a cabin that was a bit different than the others and had not seen something like it elsewhere. Banff and Lake Louise are close to the resort which was convenient without having to drive too much. The mountains appeared very close compared to their actual distance. We understand the snow stays on them year round. The value was good and service was consistent.
Nice character to the cabin too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stettler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wildlife seemed to be on this itinerary. We were not expecting to see
the variety of animals we did. Our cabin was very clean was big enough which was
good as we needed the space. The coffee diner was nice to have close by
as was a quaint gift shop.Nice picture opportunities. The location
is good too. Prices were reasonable and the service was fine.
It was a pleasant option for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile


They appear to be doing a wonderful job.
The location was very nice. The cabin was clean
and most affordable. It was
a well situated and well decided excursion. Nice not having having to travel
far to see the near by sights. The Banff Gondola and Icefields are reasonably close too.
The walk next to the resort has cool waterfalls. Thanks for the memories..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We found it to be a worthwhile stop. It was nice to be able to thank Johnston Canyon for their excellent service and kindness to us. The banff cabins are very colorful and natural. We had
fine service and the location and surroundings were well cared for.. The restaurant and gift shop have a good selection too. The trail is very close as it was a relaxing and was a pleasant outing for us. A bit more time would have been nice too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

There were a lot of animals sighted on the Bow Valley which is right next to the Resort which was great. We were pleased with the friendliness of the staff. Our stay was wonderful as they provided lovely hospitality and service. Our cabin was clean and cozy. The checking in procedures were very thorough and complete. The meals in the restaurant were good and had reasonable prices. If you get a chance the dawn is a good time to see some of the wildlife according to our information.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff
Johnston Canyon
Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.