We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, but not free of flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Johnston Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Johnston Canyon Resort
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Good experience, but not free of flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family of 4 recently spent the night at Johnston Canyon after going on the famed canyon hike.
It was a great and very unique experience. Whether you are coming from afar or a lifelong Albertan resident, you will likely appreciate the beauty and simplicity of the Johnston Canyon Resort.
We were very impressed with the cozy quaintness of our cabin. It provided a wonderful air of privacy and escape even though it was just metres away from a busy trail and highway. This is not the cabin for you if you want something spacious and upscale, and be advised that there will be no hair dryer, couch or working TV. But it is well worth it if you want to experience a serene natural setting.
As for the dining, there is both a diner and a restaurant. They both serve the exact same menus for breakfast and lunch, and I would really suggest that you go to the restaurant as you get the exact same food but at a much more relaxed and enjoyable ambience. The food is a little overpriced-you could easily spend as much on sandwiches and burgers as you would on a finer dining experience in Banff. But the food is generally very good. For dinner, the restaurant serves many good meat and seafood dishes. I really enjoyed the Pacific Salmon myself, and the trout dish was a very popular selection.
There is also a gift shop that provides a wide variety of snacks, books, stuffed animals and charming souvenirs.
Overall, I would recommend Johnston Canyon Resort as a destination or stop along the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    76
    24
    21
    12
See reviews for
78
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drumheller, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The cabin was great and it was a good experience. The resort is very well located in the
national park with and we had a lot of good opportunities for exploring. The cabin was well designed and had a comfortable decor The trail is a bit busy during the day but later on in the day much more serene and majestic. Lots of waterfalls and rock walls. The BBQ was a bit slow in heating up but overall very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from Penticton and it was a nice quiet place that was off the beaten path, away from the hustle of the Banff townsite. This place is not for you if you are not an outdoorsy person or one who needs to watch tv or have a fancy bathroom. The TVs don't work and offer VHS for rental in the gift shop for $5. Nice to get back to a basic experience at this resort. Only one restaurant on site with limited selection of options but good for a night.

My boyfriend was a bigger fan of here than I was, he's more rustic than i am. He liked the kind of musty cabin smell, i didn't... But it was fun and cozy for a night and the hike to see the falls is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place allows for great photo opportunities. We saw a mountain called Pilot which is located right in front of the resort. It was named after some pioneers in the early days for its location according to a book that was for sale in their gift shop. The gift store had some fun ideas and thankfully provided some necessities for the area. There were sightings of Elk and bears along the Bow Valley Parkway which provided excellent photos. Our room was warm and comfy and the pull out hide a bed was fine too. We would like to thank housekeeping for all the wonderful room service too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We planned a trip for sometime and saw Johnston Canyon was a popular area to see the sights. Everything was fine. Cleanliness and comfort and we loved our Bungalow. We recommended it to our friends. If you can stay closer the trail is does offer a bit better view overlooking the creek. The cabins had a very classic feel to them. There was original hardwood floors and some neat decor that was iconic. We would have liked some longer bedroom curtains and sometimes the light of sun can shine through but that was only a minor detail. Other than that it was lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The cabins are extremely clean and well situated; we stayed in number 35, very back row and it was peaceful. Some of the cabins are on the ridge overlooking the creek and they are lovely too but the walking trail, which can be extremely busy durning vacation time, runs along that ridge below the cabins. The food bar is okay, dining room menu is limited and pricey but food was good. Have bug spray with you. Hiking trails are excellent and range from a 'stroll' to the falls to challenging if you venture away from the immediate resort area. No outdoor camp fires permitted at the cabins but a BBQ area is provided. Overall, a great place to experience the canyon and mountains, drive from Banff township is reasonable and I recommend stoping to see the Cave and Basin along the way :) happy trails.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at several different places during our trip to the Rockies and this was by far the worst. There were a couple of good things: the diner for breakfast and access to the canyon trail. I know the "resort" has different kinds of cabins and it may be that our four person cottage was one of the older ones. We arrived after dark and then, despite being left a key and a map of the property, spent an hour driving around trying to locate our cabin. There are few lights and the main problem is that cabin numbers are not hung in a consistent place. Some were in the front of the cabin, some in the back. They were not the glow in the dark type so unless you had a good flashlight, it would be impossible to verify the cabin number. Our cabin number was hung on the side of the cabin not facing the road. I realize this would be a non-issue if arriving in daylight, but I'm letting readers know that it's an issue in the dark. When we finally found our cabin, we walked in to find it filled with mosquitoes. When we went into the bathroom, we found that there was only a little bit of toilet paper left on the roll with no extra rolls left. This is a problem when four people need to share a small amount of tp until the following morning when the front desk opens at 8. (I did let front desk person know about this issue the next morning.) We had been looking forward to our stay here, but it was disappointing. We wouldn't stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.