We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and rustic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon Resort

Save Saved
You added Johnston Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cute and rustic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from Penticton and it was a nice quiet place that was off the beaten path, away from the hustle of the Banff townsite. This place is not for you if you are not an outdoorsy person or one who needs to watch tv or have a fancy bathroom. The TVs don't work and offer VHS for rental in the gift shop for $5. Nice to get back to a basic experience at this resort. Only one restaurant on site with limited selection of options but good for a night.

My boyfriend was a bigger fan of here than I was, he's more rustic than i am. He liked the kind of musty cabin smell, i didn't... But it was fun and cozy for a night and the hike to see the falls is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    68
    19
    21
    11
See reviews for
71
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Drumheller, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place allows for great photo opportunities. We saw a mountain called Pilot which is located right in front of the resort. It was named after some pioneers in the early days for its location according to a book that was for sale in their gift shop. The gift store had some fun ideas and thankfully provided some necessities for the area. There were sightings of Elk and bears along the Bow Valley Parkway which provided excellent photos. Our room was warm and comfy and the pull out hide a bed was fine too. We would like to thank housekeeping for all the wonderful room service too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We planned a trip for sometime and saw Johnston Canyon was a popular area to see the sights. Everything was fine. Cleanliness and comfort and we loved our Bungalow. We recommended it to our friends. If you can stay closer the trail is does offer a bit better view overlooking the creek. The cabins had a very classic feel to them. There was original hardwood floors and some neat decor that was iconic. We would have liked some longer bedroom curtains and sometimes the light of sun can shine through but that was only a minor detail. Other than that it was lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The cabins are extremely clean and well situated; we stayed in number 35, very back row and it was peaceful. Some of the cabins are on the ridge overlooking the creek and they are lovely too but the walking trail, which can be extremely busy durning vacation time, runs along that ridge below the cabins. The food bar is okay, dining room menu is limited and pricey but food was good. Have bug spray with you. Hiking trails are excellent and range from a 'stroll' to the falls to challenging if you venture away from the immediate resort area. No outdoor camp fires permitted at the cabins but a BBQ area is provided. Overall, a great place to experience the canyon and mountains, drive from Banff township is reasonable and I recommend stoping to see the Cave and Basin along the way :) happy trails.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at several different places during our trip to the Rockies and this was by far the worst. There were a couple of good things: the diner for breakfast and access to the canyon trail. I know the "resort" has different kinds of cabins and it may be that our four person cottage was one of the older ones. We arrived after dark and then, despite being left a key and a map of the property, spent an hour driving around trying to locate our cabin. There are few lights and the main problem is that cabin numbers are not hung in a consistent place. Some were in the front of the cabin, some in the back. They were not the glow in the dark type so unless you had a good flashlight, it would be impossible to verify the cabin number. Our cabin number was hung on the side of the cabin not facing the road. I realize this would be a non-issue if arriving in daylight, but I'm letting readers know that it's an issue in the dark. When we finally found our cabin, we walked in to find it filled with mosquitoes. When we went into the bathroom, we found that there was only a little bit of toilet paper left on the roll with no extra rolls left. This is a problem when four people need to share a small amount of tp until the following morning when the front desk opens at 8. (I did let front desk person know about this issue the next morning.) We had been looking forward to our stay here, but it was disappointing. We wouldn't stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

No much good can be said about this place. Mosquitos suck you dry and there is nothing done to give guests some comfort. We stayed for 5 nights, 3 days the room was not made up to any standard. When we arrived, there were dead flies in the bathroom, when we left they were still there. The duvet was just pulled up, and the pillows not touched. The indentations from our heads still visible. And I can go on. I did complain to the reception, but to no avail. Not sure what others see in this place.

Room Tip: Don't use this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stettler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The reception was pleasant and we had a nice cabin. The place is in a great location. We arrived a bit late so we had to make some amends at the last minute. Our room was nicely set up but needed a bit more attention yet overall well kept. The evening was very pleasant as one could see the stars clearly without intrusive lights. There were a lot of opportunities to see some wildlife including deer and elk and bears too. If you get a chance we would recommend a drive to the lake louise area too. They had a nice sign in the coffee shop saying the mountains shall bring peace to the people. It caught our attention as it is also a verse we saw elsewhere.
The food was good too.

Room Tip: Ask for the Canyon Burger it is popular favorite according to what we heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.