We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay and Wonderful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon Resort

Save Saved
You added Johnston Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Bathurst, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay and Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay. Centered between Banff and Lake Louise. This was a great convenience because
we did not have too much driving. We found the front desk people courteous and helpful. The mountains are
very scenic because of the time of year we were there that allowed for great photo opportunities. If you did not get the
photo you were looking they had some very scenic post cards of the local area. The diner was quaint and the
service was fine. They seemed to have a very pleasant crew from different parts of the world too. The cabins had
a very cozy feel to them. We liked the variety of wildlife too that one could see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    67
    19
    21
    11
See reviews for
71
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The refund process at this establishment borders on fraudulent. We made a reservation on 10/12/12 for the upcoming summer. My card was charged a deposit on 11/05/12. Due to medical problems we notified JC that we would have to cancel and asked for a refund less the service charge on 1/26/13 by email. Hearing nothing, I sent another email on 2/13/13. Hearing nothing, I sent another email on 3/9/13. I have tried calling directly on 3 different occasions as well but it is not possible to leave a message as "this mailbox is full". It is unfortunate that one has to go through such a trial for such a simple transaction. A bad taste will linger.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chase, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We appreciated the service and amenities. The location was great and we found the meals
very good. The cabin we had was very well placed and the weather was very cooperative. We were grateful for that as we heard they had a heavy rain that affected the creek awhile ago but offered amazing photo opportunities for the creek levels.
The people were delightful and helpful too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We found the place very friendly and all the employees were no nice and helpful with our
stay. The location was central to what we wanted to see and explore. We cabin was comfortable and well presented. As the grounds were larger than what we thought and it would have been easier to find our cabin with a map. We were pleased with our housekeeping and also with the layout of the cabin. We would like to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The cabin we were in was a larger cabin than the others and found it very comfortable. We had planned to stay 2 days but was able to extend our stay as they had the space for us. We were grateful for this as we preferred not to have to rush back. The gift shop had some gift items we had not seen elsewhere. We had some some good suggestions for sightseeing too. The resort is located between Banff and Lake Louise which was appreciated as it allowed us to visit both places without driving too much. It is quite different driving in the mountains compared to the prairies. It was interesting to see that there is still a fair bit of snow on the mountains and that it does not completely melt over the summer. The room and setting was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were thrilled with our cabin and the close proximity to everything that we wanted to see and do in the area. We found the staff so incredibly helpful and informative. We thought that the food in the cafe was great. The best hamburger that we had during our trip. We are telling everyone that we know that if they are planning a trip to the Alberta area that they should book a cabin. It was one of the best vacations that we have ever taken. Thank you so much for everything. This exceeded our expectations.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Johnston Canyon Resort for our vacation and found it very comfortable. The amenities were
great and we found the cleanliness very good. It was a peaceful and relaxing stay away from the noise of the city.
We saw a bear and 2 elk along the Bow Valley Parkway which added to experience of being in the Park.The food in the
restaurant was good and we found the service was good. The Canyon burger was highly recommended. We will return soon. Hopefully in the spring.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room closer to the back of the resort if you want to be more in the forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.