We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list
Homestead Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and the staff was friendly and helpfull. Rooms are big enough and clean. With tv and a fridge.
Parking at the hotel is free and plenty of space to park. Wifi is not free but for 5 dollars a day you get a fast wifi connection.

Breakfast and pool is across the street and good.
Hotel is in walking distance from the nice city centre of Banff.

I would come back again to this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Homestead Inn experience! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Homestead Inn.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Homestead Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
The Homestead Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    75
    46
    11
    11
See reviews for
37
65
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearl Lake Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

good basic room for the price... .....bonus you can make use of the (sister property) Banff Park Lodge pool Jacuzzi and steam/eucalyptus spa. Bathrooms dated and TV was not from this century but a good price none the less.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Homestead Inn experience! The Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi & Hot Tub at The Banff Park Lodge offered to our guests is very popular among our guests; we are very pleased you had the opportunity to use these facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Homestead Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
The Homestead Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This motel is in a great location, is very clean, has super-friendly staff, and ia reasonably priced. No air-conditioning, though; and there is a fair bit of noise through walls and ceilings. I will stay here again, though, and have already recommended it to friends as good value in grossly overpriced Banff.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

You get plenty for what you paid for - The property is situated close to everything in town (walking distance), the staff was very welcoming and gave us all the information needed. A direct access to your room from the parking lot helps for people like us who were travelling with a lot of luggage!
The only thing I would've changed would've been a little more comfortable beds and linens, and the water pressure (too hard!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Although the property was dated, it seemed well kept up and clean. The staff was courteous and helpful in answering a few questions we had. The location is great for walking around in Banff and close to the river. The breakfast (with the 2 for 1 voucher) we got across the street was very good as well. We would stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I found the staff friendly and helpful. My room was clean and a good size. The Homestead Inn is dog friendly, which is the main reason I stayed there. Access to the amenities across the road at the Banff Park Lodge is a real bonus. Unfortunately, the couple next door were a little exuberant and we could hear a bit more than we would have liked (I'm trying to be polite) but apart from the fact that the walls are thin, I would give a big thumbs up to anyone thinking of staying at the Homestead Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is clean, has fridge in room, off main street so a bit quieter on weekends but is so close to all the restaurants, it's a 3 min walk away. They also agreed to match whatever price we found on the web for discounts for the hotel. Better to book online as the internet doesn't charge the negotiable local 'surcharge' now present in Banff and Jasper. Tax in Alberta is only 5% but in Banff it's 11% so book online to avoid having a conversation about not wanting to pay this surcharge that goes towards the municipality but is not an enforceable tax as far as I understand.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Homestead Inn experience! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
The Homestead Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.