We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Inn

Save Saved
You added Homestead Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homestead Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a great budget option for expensive Banff. Limited front desk hours, but can also use Banff Prk Lodge across the street. Front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. We wanted to check in early but there were no rooms available yet, so we went exploring and they called us when a room was available. No amenities, but you can use the pool at the. Banff Park Lodge. The fridge in the room was nice and the location was great. Pet friendly too which is hard to find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Homestead Inn experience! The Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi & Hot Tub at The Banff Park Lodge offered to our guests is very popular after a long day skiing; we are very pleased you had the opportunity to use these facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your pet back to the Homestead Inn.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
The Homestead Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    72
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
33
57
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went about a week ago,booked pet friendly room.Carpets were dirty,water stained and damaged room 123.Free parking if you can find spot and not near your room ,afraid to move car after you have a place.Paid $130.00 yes it is near shops and you can use steam room and pool at Banff Park lodge across the street better just stay there but not pet friendly.Look for better deals.

Room Tip: get there before 4pm check in to find parking by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Inn217, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we do apologize that the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. The Homestead Inn is a 2012 Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association Housekeeping Award Winner, so I am very surprised by your comments on the hotel room. Please know that I have passed your review onto our Housekeeping Manager to investigate and address with her team.

The hotel offers complimentary parking in our parking lot, we do realize that parking can become limited; next time you choose to stay with us, please see our lovely front desk agents and they will always find you a parking space.

Sincerely,


Dee Medcalf
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Homestead Inn just recently, and we were very happy with the location and price. We were really impressed about how clean and well kept the rooms are. And its great that we can bring out pets with us. Its just what we needed during our stay in Banff. Its so close to everything in town, and we get to hot tub!! And the girls at the desk are super nice and make us feel really welcome. See you next time were in town!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Staff is very friendly, you receive great service. the rooms are spacious and very clean. The prices are very reasonable and within walking distance to main street. We go to Banff at least 2-3 times a year and always stay at the Homestead for them exact reasons..
Thank you our 3 night trip this weekend was awesome again thanks to the staff.

Linda Hartwick

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a couple days at the Homestead Inn on our way to B.C. We were pleasantly surprised by the level of personalized service we received, as the hotel does not seem very fancy from the outside. Our room was clean and serviceable. What really impressed us though was the degree of attention we received from a lovely young British woman. She was extremely helpful, answering all our many questions. My husband has mobility problems, particularly in his right leg after a cycling accident last year, and this young lady spent a good deal of time with us, mapping out a walking route that would accommodate his condition. She also informed us we could use the facilities at the Banff Park Lodge, which were excellent, and checked regularly with us to enquire about our stay. My husband and I agree, these little extras made our stay in Banff a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Homestead Inn for our duration of trip to Banff for the Bon Appetit food festival. The location was perfect! We were able to walk out the door to downtown Banff, and come back multiple times a day for naps, change our footwear, etc. etc. etc. It was very convenient and the staff were very friendly! The hotel was obviously older (there's a great history here! Very interesting!) but clean! My boyfriend was amused by the 80's CRT television, but I thought it was homey. It was very quiet, I could never hear anyone moving about.

In short: a simple inn with wonderful customer service and an even better location. It's not fancy, but I would go there again!

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and it was silent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Homestead Inn was a good location in town considering what our options were with our tour group. No A/C - windows only, on the main street. It was quieter into the night. Not as clean as I would have liked it as it was an older hotel. There were holes in the ceiling and the woodwork. Needs refurbishing. We had access to the nice pool and exercise room across the street. Would not stay here again until it was redone. Banff was a neat town, but the hotel was not much. I'm not sure how much other choices you have in Banff.

Room Tip: My review says it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.