We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Rockies of Banff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Guelph
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Rockies of Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We have stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort 4 times. Each visit was wonderful. The staff maintain a top-notch residence-style resort at an affordable price for everyone. The rooms/condos are beautiful mountain chalet style, new and modern. And of course, the free form hot tub is not to be missed. Overlooking the Fairholme Range from Tunnel mountain while sipping a beverage is awesome. Please call HIdden Ridge for your next vacation to Banff. You will tell your friends, and they will tell their friends, and so on......

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thanks for the fabulous review! Some insider advice for everyone: Rates in the autumn season in Banff, especially Sunday-Thursday, are the best you'll see all year and special deals abound. Don't even get me started on all the great restaurant specials you can find! Check with our front desk or reservations agents for more great advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    390
    133
    68
    28
See reviews for
533
433
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We agree with most of the other reviewers about this resort. This is a fantastic place to relax away from the touristy areas of Baff! We had a premier jacuzzi suite. As long as you can get used to the fact that the room is located just above the lobby, you will enjoy all the amenities the room offers. We certainly took advantage of the jacuzzi and fireplace. The only minor issues we like to note is the lack of storage space inside the room. There is no dresser to put clothes, but we managed by leaving the clothese in our luggage. We would also like to see a small safe in the room. These are certainly minor issues for us, so we will definitely consider going back to Hidden Ridge Resort when we visit Banff in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

When I was looking up places to be in Banff for a celebration get away, I found the Hidden Ridge Resort. I then noticed there was a package that they had the "Eat, Soak and Stay" One of the nights we got this package it was 20.00 more than the room and what you got was two steaks from the Keg, 2 ceasar Salads, 2 baked potatoes and 2 cheescakes. You did have to cook it yourself but they had BBQ's located all over the resort finding one was easy enough.

I also got the Chocolate Dipped Strawberries and Champagne (the best package there) and smores.

We stayed for three nights over the Thanksgiving long weekend, and I have to say it was the BEST place to stay for the value. we had the lower condo unit and you get a complete kitchen, seperate bedroom, a veiw from your patio, and so much more!

The Free Transit really was a bonus too for when we went into town to have a dinner out.

You can stay in a fancy hotel for 200- 600. a night or you can just relax and if you want make your own food since you have kitchens and/or bbq's out around the area. For less than a fancy hotel.

The Hot Tub and pool were awesome... however being that it was a bit cooler at night the Hot Tub/Sauna was the choice of the night. The staff kept the fire going outside of the Hot Tub and everything was great.

Fireplaces in the rooms made it that much better so that smores in the privacy of your own room rocked!

The wood and kindling was never out, as they had lots there and they chop it onsite there so they keep it topped up.

If I were to say there was a downside, that is the noise from the upper condo... the floor/celeing is a bit noisy when there are people stomping around upstairs that and when they left the stairs are right outside your room so them stomping loudly down the stairs may wake you up... over all it was a great experience.

I WILL be back next year and I think I might make this a yearly event to come visit them again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We had a fabulous mini vacation, getting out of the hustle and bustle of the city of Calgary. The front desk staff were polite and kind and one lady in particular went above and beyond. She gave us great ideas of what to do in Banff, gave us directions and gave our kids little sweets. One of the best parts of our stay was the pools. One was a hot pool and the other was a very warm (perfect for the kids) pool. We were also able to use the pools at any of the other "Best of Banff" hotels for free. We now call this our pool hopping vacation and are going back in a few weeks making this an annual vacation. Our room was nice and big with an apartment sized kitchen. I wish the dishes in the cupboards had been cleaned better, but we were able to throw them through the dishwasher and have them clean for our next use. The kids loved the loft area with their own tv almost as much as we loved having our own bedroom with our own tv. The bed in the master was not the most comfy bed I have ever slept on, but it was okay. If you are going with toddlers I'd be very afraid of the steep stairs up to the loft and may opt into one of their other sized rooms. Over all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Great location, close enough to town but still remote enough to be quiet and peaceful. Amazing, spacious loft with beautiful view from the balcony. Excellent service. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

At the last minute I changed my reservations to the Hidden Ridge Resort as they were running a special if we stayed for four nights. It was a great value especially considering the prices in the area. The condo was on the ground floor (not quite a basement) but it did not have a feel of a true basement. It was small, but for our needs it was very adequate. We enjoyed the heated tile floors, which came in handy due to six inches of snow the week we were there. This resort is not in the town of Banff and we did find we had to take our car to the main street, the buses (free with our stay) would have taken much longer. The views are great, this resort is on Tunnel Mountain. Front desk help was very friendly and accommodating.

The negatives were few, no snow removal in front of our condo unit, (granted it didn't stay around long since it was September) and the condo smelled of wood smoke the first two nights we were there. Only other negative came on the morning we checked out, I tried to get a couple of cups of coffee in the lobby for the road, but two young workers practically shoved me out of the way to get coffee for themselves.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I have probably stayed in more places than most in Banff. I am a re-located local (Calgary )now in Houston.
I recently stayed at Hidden Ridge resort up on Tunnel Mountain with some of my old friends from school... Really great! It was clean, beautiful, the staff was accommodating and nice.More than nice...we had to keep downsizing our group...no problem for them..and the price was always adjusted accordingly!
...And, the place was awesome!
I have hiked , skied , lived and studied in Banff, had family there...it has been my personal playground since I was able to drive.
I have many benchmarks for accommodation in Banff (including a time share since forever...also nice...)but this was a good place. I just hope they don't change.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.