We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best mountain town/ ski trip ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our best mountain town/ ski trip ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

After travelling to ski resorts in the Rocky Mtns. for the past 9 years, we just spent our best week yet in Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada and the Hidden Ridge Resort was perfect for our family! The Hidden Ridge Resort is in a nice secluded location, but close enough to the action in downtown Banff. We all enjoyed the hot pools overlooking the gorgeous snow covered mountains. Our condo was very clean with a fully stocked kitchen and comfortable beds for us all. The service was amazing, they brought us anything we needed and kept our condo clean all week. We all want to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    405
    138
    69
    29
See reviews for
558
446
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Our family recently stayed at the "Hidden Ridge Resort" in Banff Alberta - Our experience was truly memorable. The staff were excellent and true professionals in the industry. The rooms were very clean / the out door hot tubs with an amazing view of the mountains were a great way to relax after a day of down hill skiing. The hotel is affiliated with a ski rental shop - so no need to return to a busy store - rentals could be left at the front desk and the affiliated spa "Red Earth" was one of the most pampering experiences we have had. Thank You all - we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Our sister hotel, the Inns of Banff, has a great selection of equipment and great rates (not to mention special discounts for guests of our hotels!). Drop us a line or check our website for more information. Thank you for the nice compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We found this hotel by chance as it is really set back into the woods at Tunnel Mountains resort area of Banff. We had no bookings but the front desk staff was very helpful and quickly offered us a nice suite which we could not refuse. We found all the staff are extremely helpful and the hotel has a really relaxed feel about the whole place. The resort is arranged in a complex of town houses with the bigger family units taking up both the ground and upper floors. Apart from having the usual views of the mountains around Banff, this resort has a nice hot pool with a view and a BBQ area although we forgot our swimsuits! The resort is rather remote but guests are given free rides of the Banff ROAM bus services which stops at top of the road. Usual free wireless internet in room and lounge plus free coffee/tea at lounge area, but the friendly staff really tops the list of services at this resort.

We had a one bedroom ground floor suite which is fully furnished with wine glasses and full cooking facilities. The lounge and room are not big but very reasonable size for a couple although one can also use the sofa bed for children or even another couple. The lounge has a lovely fireplace and the whole atmosphere in the village is so nice that we decided to light the log fire and stay in for dinner. Both logs and fire lighting sticks
are provided and the staff can also deliver logs to room (I guess it is a service for the physically challenged or older guests who cannot manage to move logs 20 yards from the wood shed). The bathroom is a bit small but with sufficient accessories and fittings for a very pleasant stay. The free WIFI internet is one of the best connection in our two weeks travel across BC Canada. It is a very quiet and comfortable resort so local
animals do come to visit. We had a deer visiting our patio door during our breakfast although we decided not to feed it as it looks healthy and can forage for itself.

This is the best resort we stayed at in our two weeks travel in Canada, and it was excellent value for money too, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We booked with Hidden Ridge 5 years ago and returned this spring break with our two teenagers and two extra teenagers. The layout of our room was perfect. All four kids downstairs, dining and living area on the middle floor and mom and dad in the loft...I never had to see their mess. Everything was perfect. The kids could ride the bus downtown at night and we could relax after a five long days of skiing. Of course, the snowboarding and skiing are the best you can get! Hope we can get back again some day....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We just returned from staying four days over the March break. Location was perfect for us. Only a short distance to the centre of the village yet far enough away from the noise and activity. Took the free shuttle a couple of times- bus maintains an excellent schedule.
Staff were very accommodating and courteous. We stayed in a two bedroom condo with four queen beds. Condo was well equipped and spacious enough for four but I would not recommend more than four to one condo because the common areas have limited space-only one small couch in the livingroom to enjoy the fireplace. The room sizes are more on the cozy side (as expected with any condo). Every room was equipped with large screened televisions. Nice touch. Two bathrooms with shower and bath amenities was very convenient.
Fireplace was a bit challenging- the glass slipped away from the frame of the door. The outdoor hot pools overlooking the Rockies were amazing. We only had one afternoon when we chose not to partake in the pool because it was over run with twentysomethings. Complimentary items such as the newspaper, hot chocolate and coffee was a nice touch- had to pay two dollars for 15 minutes of internet service to check in for our flight; Charge is likely because there is only one compuer to use.
All in all, we would definitely return. The hotel met my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

The "new" Hidden Ridge Resort is a gem! It is perfectly situated on Tunnel Mountain with amazing views of Mount Rundle and the Rockies. We were delighted with the amenities and the ambiance of this classic Rocky Mountain Resort. The Hot Pools are a treat with mountain views and room for all. You can choose between warm and hot for your perfect sunset cocktail. The modern, yet rustic design were the perfect choice for a mountain resort and the rooms were spacious and clean. Wood burning fireplaces are an extra nice touch! We stayed six nights and loved the convenience of being close to town but on top of the world. Good times!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I stayed here for two nights with some friends while we skiied in the Banff Area. This hotel is good value for what you get. We were upgraded to a larger loft suite since it was available. The customer service is really good. We needed extra blanket and pillow, called front desk and these were at our door within 2 minutes. The room is well equipped, although the living room could use another couch/sofa (only one pull out couch to sit on (for 8 people). The hotel quite new, with very good cleanliness and maintenance. A taxi into Banff is $8.00. but there is also regular bus shuttle service. The two hot pools and sauna were excellent. Views of the night sky were amazing. I would stay here again, with family or friends. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thanks for the feedback. In addition to the sofa, each room of this size is equipped with 6 dining chairs and two bar stools for added seating. We've heard from more than one guest that extra SOFT seating would be beneficial and are expecting a shipment of extremely comfortable occasional chairs this spring. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.