We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would most likely stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Would most likely stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We wanted a nice getaway from the city back in May and needed a place for a group of 5. After reading about the reviews and that they had a cheaper rate due to the construction during that time, we decided to give this place a try.

The parking lot surrouding the place wasn't paved yet when we were there with construction equipments everywhere. Check-in went smoothly, and we got a free upgrade because the rooms that we originally booked were all taken (odd, but free upgrade!). Check-in went pretty smoothly. Our upgraded condo had 2 bedrooms (rather than 1 that we originally booked for), and it was one of those recent renovated ones too.

I agreed with other comments below than the place is smaller than what you see in the photos. Nevertheless, it was good enough for 5 of us to hang out at the place. 2 bedrooms on the main floor, living and dining room on the 2nd, and loft on the 3rd, + 2 full bathrooms.

We slept in the loft area that face the big window in the living room with no curtains. That becomes a problem in the morning because it was so bright in the room. The brightness in the room (good during the day) was more of an issue for us than hearing the train in the middle of the night whcih didn't bother us that much.

An interesting thing that happened in our unit was that there was water leaking from our kitchen ceiling from the bathroom upstairs whenever someone takes a shower. It got even worst in our 2nd night. It was supposed a newly-renovated 2-bdrm unit...a bit shocked from this...but the girl at the front was really nice when we reported it to her, and was very apologetic...it'd have been nice to offer a discount in return for this trouble tho...good thing the water leak was directly above the kitchen sink...otherwise, it would have been bad....

Other than our leaking ceiling...which I'm pretty sure it probably doesn't happen on a normal basis for a new unit. I would still recommend this place to other people. The view was nice by the hot tub. But it is indeed a pretty small one, and we opted for going to the Banff HotSprings instead during our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    349
    116
    63
    25
See reviews for
468
391
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We travel to banff at least 6-8 times a year with stays in either Canmore or Banff.Looking ahead to or annual Christmas trip to Banff we tried the Hidden Ridge . Upon arrival our rate quoted was not what they were willing to give at the time (even though there was a notation on our file). Fine go to the room and frot desk will confirm rate later. There was garbage piles all around the front door,bathroom toiletries half empty, table dirty, no dog bed bowls etc (but they had her name). Again called front desk over came front desk manager she appologized and still 1 hr later no answer to our rate. Carpet was filthy, cigareette burns all over it microwave didn't work , bad odour from fridge (old so was freon smell) exhaust fan light filthy and not working. So needless to say its not getting our 7 day stay at Christmas .Canmore is not far away and accomadations are far superiour for similar or less rates! Staff tried but.....my wife even got us up early on day two as she was so diappointed and wanted only to leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at Hidden Ridge Resort the last week of June. It was wonderful, the place was clean and inviting. The staff was very accommodating when ever I asked for anything even a tea bag it was at my front door within 5 minutes. The staff was there to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable one. We stayed in the townhouse that has 4 queen beds I could not get over how large it was. I mentioned to my kids it is a shame that we did not bring more people on vacation with us. We had heard they were remodeling, the only thing we noticed was that the landscape was being changed and spruced up. We also loved that it was not in town but close enough when you needed anything.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We had family visiting from Eastern Canada and wanted to show them a really nice time in Banff/Lake Louise and make it a memorable vacation for them. We researched so many hotels and finally decided that Hidden Ridge looked like it would be the right choice. The room was perfect with a loft, one bedroom, kitchen and two bathrooms! Check-in was very smooth and the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. We also had our dog with us and they are very accomodating to canine companions with a giant bed, dishes, toys etc. We thoroughly enjoyed the hottubs outside overlooking the mountains (gorgeous!!!). We had one issue on our second night (locked out of our room because none of the keys would work, not even the hotel's back up keys) but once they fixed the issue they were very apologetic, and not only did they provide a monetary appreciation on our bill, they also verbally apologized by phone and in person. This was the perfect location as well because it's away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I just came back from this resort, the stay overall is very good. The construction is at the very last stage, very minor, no noise at all. Good service, good location (if you go there by car), a value buy. However, there are some points you need to be aware:

1. The apartment is smaller than what you see in the photo (let's say 20%), guess it's because of the wide angle camera. However, it has exactly what it shows.

2. The hot tub has the same thing, much smaller than what you see in the photo, it will be very crowded after 8 people inside there, it is not a swimming pool, but literally a tub.

3. ***This is important for people who rented the apartment with loft with ridge/mountain view. The Canada railway will pass through the mountain, and you can hear the train in the middle of the night for people who sleep in the loft even you close the windows. Either you have your earplugs or you rent the garden/campground view. But you will miss the great Banff mountain view in the morning when you wake up.

4. The kitchenware provided are really worn out, and the followings will not be provided: cooking oil, scissors, food wrapping foils or aluminum foils. So, remember to bring your own.

5. The parking space are crowded and narrow, so if you have a huge SUV or trailer or 2 to 3 cars, you might want to ask for detail parking info before booking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We - two adults, two teenagers - stayed at Hidden Ridge for 6 days in late July and early August 2009. Overall, it's a truly excellent property that we really enjoyed. Stay here and you will be glad you did.

We originally booked one of their "regular" condo-type units. Since we were interested in good views, the front desk clerk suggested upgrading to another unit. He showed us both options. There was nothing wrong with the regular unit (two bedrooms plus a living/kitchen area, all on the same floor), but the upgrade - a second-floor unit with a separate bedroom, full bath, a large living/dining room/kitchen on one floor; a loft with two beds and a half bath upstairs; a balcony; and terrific mountain views - was well worth the $35-$40 upgrade fee we were charged. (We were told that was half the normal upgrade fee - don't know if that's true or not.)

The full kitchen was well stocked with dishes, utensils, etc. A wood-burning fireplace came with as much (free) wood as you wanted. There's a large (crowded!) hot tub and regular pool. A laundromat is just 100 yards or so away down the street. As the name implies, it's up over the town in a fairly secluded area. (Neighbors include a lot of forest, a campground, and a couple of other similar properties.) We saw elk and mule deer from our balcony. It's about a 20 minute walk or 4 minute drive to downtown Banff. There's also a bus every hour or so. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was polite and attentive. When we encountered a few minor problems (a squeaky door, a balky screen door), they fixed them promptly. They are at the very end of a period of extensive renovations - comments by previous reviewers about messes and equipment everywhere are no longer valid.

We had just two complaints. First, a major rail line runs through Banff. The property is probably a couple of miles from the rail line, but nevertheless each night/early morning we were awakened two to four times by trains. (We are light sleepers.) Our guess is that it would be very difficult to find anywhere in Banff where train horns cannot be heard, so this is really a problem with the whole town, not Hidden Ridge. Second, we would have appreciated more cleaning. They supposedly do heavy-duty room maintenance every third day, but we didn't see that. And they should have a policy of at least running a quick vacuum every day in addition to making the beds and replacing towels every day. (One day they didn't even make the beds or replace the towels.)

There's nothing to be done about the trains, but I hope they give a bit more attention to the cleaning. If they do, an already terrific property that brought us a great deal of enjoyment during our Canadian Rockies vacation will be even better.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Sorry we missed a cleaning day - we are quite attentive and hope to impress you in the future. Anyone looking for additional services, such as a vacuum, during your stay simply need to call the front desk to make arrangements. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We hate to even share this review as it will reveal our new found hidden treasure hotel to stay at, but it really does warrant sharing our experience. This resort is absolutely fantastic... great customer service, great rooms, and well....the whole resort is just GREAT! It's situated just perfectly on the mountain!!
We wanted to camp while we were in Banff, but the weather sucked when we arrived so we decided we'd just stay in a hotel. when we found this little gem, we were extra excited! We could use up our camping food in the kitchenette..... and we could enjoy the great smell and sound of a crackling fire...right inside our nice little romantic room. It was "almost" like camping.. :) We'll most definitely be staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
The only thing better than watching a fire while it rains outside is watching a fire while it snows outside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.