We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

It was an amazing stay. They upgraded our room with a jacuzzi and a view of Banff for free because the original room we booked wasn't ready. The place was very clean, the rooms were well maintained (the place just recently undergone some renovations) and the staff was excellent. Every room has a kitchen so you can cook your own food or you can use one of their outdoor barbeques. We were blown away by how upscale everything is. Would highly recommend it! We're already looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
It hasn't taken long for our Jacuzzi Suites to become our most popular room type - book ahead if you want to ensure a private hot tub on your balcony!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    374
    127
    67
    28
See reviews for
507
414
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neustadt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

When checking in on the first of August we were confronted an extremely helpful clerk in the office who offered us to upgrade from a premium deluxe to a condo unit which we accepted. When entering the condo we were extremely impressed by its cleanliness, the comfort it offered and the size of the rooms. We can only say: We totally felt well and we regretted to leave after two nights.
We recommend this unit to anybody who wants to hear and if ever possible we would like to come back.
It was a really positive surprise.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Thanks for the housekeeping comments - our team has been working harder than ever and appreciate your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We had 1 night booked as we were driving through the rockies and liked it soo much that we booked a second night!! We have a small dog, so booked a Pet Friendly Room..When we arrived there was a doggy bed, dish and toy...my dog was sooo excited...We had a room with 1 bedroom and 2 queen beds...This unit (No. 115) was totally renovated and spotless with a full kitchen, including microwave, dishwasher, fridge, stove and a nice dining table, which was all set nicely with cutlery and dishes!! A nice wood burning fireplace, which we didn't use cause it was sooo hot, and 2 LCD TV's...Also a nice sitting area outside with a view of a few mountains...

The pool/hot tub is beautiful with magnificent views of the mountains.. This property is totally renovated and the price we paid was a steal..i hope we can go back next year.. The staff also, very friendly..we just loved the place!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Great to hear your dog enjoyed his stay. We have a good selection of pet friendly rooms, but be sure to book ahead of time to secure this option and check our website for further pet information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Just returned from 5 nights at the Hidden Ridge. It was pretty close to perfect for myself, spouse and 2 boys (11 and 8). We had a deluxe room w/loft with 2 queens up and 1 queen down. It was nice to give each kid their own bed to get some good sleep. The full kitchen was awesome. Breakfast everyday, and 1 night we had dinner at the resort using their grills and picnic tables. There are grills around the property, and then in the middle are 2 newer grills (stainless steel) with picnic tables. It saved us a lot of $ eating that way and saved us time since everyday we were out of the condo by 9 am.
On the first full day we climbed Tunnel Mtn., it is close -- HRR is on Tunnel Mtn. We saw some mule deer and had a nice hike. Then we ate lunch in town at "The Gate" (St. James Gate Irish Pub) Good food. Then we went to the HooDoo's and hiked around them. The boys were excited and found a trail down to the HooDoo's and it was pretty easy to get down and back up. Then we hit the hot tubs (pools) at HRR. Very nice!

I won't bore you with every detail, but somethings we heard prior to going that concerned us a little were:
Construction: Almost completely finished, just landscaping stuff. No hammers or dozers or anything like that. But we were gone from 9 til 6 everyday, but we heard nothing.
Train Noise: Yes, but... The first night woke up several times with the train whistle. Only the first night, after that I think we were so tired from hiking and sightseeing all day, we slept great! Honestly, I think if you sleep with the windows open any where in Banff, you will hear the trains. The sound just carries through the valley.
Location: Not in town-- that turned out to be a good thing! The resorts in town are more like hotels with buildings all around you. The 5 minute drive to HRR is perfect. All around you are trees, except for the entry. If you want to walk, 5 minutes away is a small store at the base of the drive to HRR.
A few suggestions: We left for the Columbia Ice Fields at 7 am and drove straight up there. We also did the Banff Gondola and got there at 9 or so in the morning. Both places we beat the tour buses!! On the way to the Ice Fields saw 2 black bear. On the way back stopped at Lake Louise and had dinner ( in the lounge) at the Fairmount. $100 CAD for 4 people looking out at the lake--- awesome view and good food!
Highly recommend both the Ice fields and the gondola. It's not cheap, but they are both great. Also, take an empty water bottle so you can fill it up with melting glacier water-- it is fine to drink.
Last thing, if you are flying back to the States, give yourself PLENTY of time. We read on here about giving yourself 5 hrs from Banff to your airplanes gate. Pretty close. 2 hour drive, customs/immigration took 1:10 (up to 2 hrs we hear) and then 1 hour to play with. We left on a 2 o'clock Delta flt on Thurs. afternoon--- not exactly a busy travel time and it took a while to check in and then everybody, from every airline gets in the same immigration line to clear. Delta was on time and gave us a great flight to and fro!
Wildlife: Saw 2 black bear, numerous mule deer, white-tail deer, bald eagle, ospry, big horn sheep, and a coyote on Tunnel Mtn!! Saw him the last night, drive with your windows down radio off---- we heard him howling and pulled the car over, he was standing on the side of the hill, 20 yards above the road---- we would have never heard him if I had the windows up!
It is an awesome mountain town, the staff at the hotel was great and someday we would love to get back!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Great review - excellent information! Good feedback on the train - you do hear it everywhere in town as it whistles at the two vehicle crossings. Canada was built around trains and we have become used to it's announcements and don't really hear them anymore. If you wish to learn more about the trains in Banff try the Whyte Museum while you're here or read Pierre Berton's the last spike (visit the site of the last spike at Craigellachie on your way to Vancouver from Banff). Gordon Lightfoot wrote and sang the Canadian Railroad Trilogy which may drone out the sound of the trains if you play it loud enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed here twice this year. In March for skiing and in June at the start of a Rockies journey. Construction was still in full swing in March which didn't bother me as I was there for skiing but might have bothered someone who was there for solitude. By mid June it had been transformed with only a few finishing landscape touches in progress. Both times I stayed in what are now the "older" apartments around the edge of the resort. I prefer these as they have open mountain views to the rear. Apartments are spacious and well equipped. All you need if you want to eat in and a free shuttle bus into town if you want to eat out. Wifi access from the room was good and included in room rate. Hot tub complex must be the best in Banff with views to die for.........and if you stay in the hottest tub too long you probably will. Staff are very friendly and now the renovations are complete this place is a much better choice than its current Trip Advisor rating might suggest.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
We hope to see you back this winter - no construction, I promise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

I spent a few weeks at the Hidden Ridge Resort for the end of the ski season and had an absolutely amazing time. A group of us stayed in a condo with four floors and it felt really spacious- the basement games room, with table ice hockey, was particularly cool. The beds are super comfy, perfect to sink into after a hard day's skiing or walking, and there are huge flat screen TVs in all the bedrooms and communal areas, with loads of channels.

They've done a lot of refurbishment work recently and everything felt brand new and spotlessly clean. A friend who stayed there more recently told me that the building work (which was going on while I was staying) is now finished and the outside areas match the lovely interiors. The cleaning staff also did an amazing job of keeping everything clean and tidy. The kitchen was particularly good, large and well equipped with everything you might need. It was really nice to be able to cook for ourselves when we wanted, a big improvement on staying in a normal hotel. The bathrooms were also gorgeous, with great showers and lots of towels.

The resort also has two large hot tubs and a sauna near the reception, which look out over the most amazing view of the mountains. It's a really nice place to just chill out in the evenings,and while it did sometimes get busy there was always a nice atmosphere.

The staff are one of the things that really make this place stand out. They were so helpful, giving us loads of advice on the local area and responding really quickly to all our requests. Everyone was very friendly and made us feel really welcome.

The only minor downside is that the resort is up on Tunnel Mountain, a little way from Banff town centre. However, the lovely surroundings and peace and quiet more than make up for that. It's a scenic 15 minute walk into town, or there's a regular bus service which Hidden Ridge guests can use for free. We never really felt inconvenienced by the distance- we still took full advantage of Banff's restaurants and nightlife, but it was nice to be able to get away from it all when we wanted. The bus to Sunshine stopped just down the road from the resort as well, so you don't have to go into town to get to the slopes. There's a little shop, off-licence and launderette just down the road as well.

I loved the Hidden Ridge, the facilities are great and it was perfect for groups. It would also be great for families with kids; there's loads of space, it's a safe and quiet area and you can cook when you want to. It's good value too. Whatever brings you to Banff, the Hidden Ridge is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Wow - we're happy to have impressed you so successfully! I expect the Canadian Rockies must have helped us by dropping a fresh layer of powder every morning as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in July 2009, for 6 nights and were very impressed with the resort. I knew prior to booking that the hotel was still under moderate construction, as it was posted very clearly on the website, however, the location was too good to miss out.

Our Queen Suite with kitchenette (full sized fridge, stove, AND dishwasher!) was amazing, we had a tv in the living room, as well as in the bedroom, and a DVD player. The wood burning fireplace and walk-out patio in the back was also a bonus! We found the staff exceptional and helpful, helping to plan a few outdoor adventures and day-hikes for us as well. Another bonus is the bus that takes you into town so you don't need to struggle to find parking!! An additional bonus is that you can park right outside of your room door!!

Although there was construction it was very minimal, and did not bother us at all, starting not too early in the morning, and stopping around 5, and was not done on the weekend.

The price was outstanding, and if you want to stay in Banff, and be close to town, yet away from the hustle of it all, this resort is perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
We're always thrilled to see guests returning year after year. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.