We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, great location, could be great with little more attention to details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, great location, could be great with little more attention to details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We have stayed at Hidden Ridge Resort in August 2014, and it was lovely.
After Trans - Atlantic flight and a drive from Calgary to Banff we were very tired, yet the room was ready for us. We got Deluxe Condo, 1 Bedroom (Loft) - 3 beds. The room was good but for the asked price we expected for more.
First of all, the hotel is quiet old, bear that in mind
Second, the housekeeping was in one word – disappointing! Most families which arrive to the area spend their day outside, and return in the evening, so did us, however the expectation we have to find an organized & clean room vaporized when we arrived at 17:30 and the housekeeping hasn’t even arrived to the condo!, in the first day it happened we just took clean towels and they walked away, also in the second, but in the third we told them to come before 16:00 – which of course they didn’t so they had to clean while we were in the room – for over 350$ a night – we could only describe it as disappointment.
Other than that the front desk staffs were nice, and they have nice brochures that helped us to find restaurants, shops etc.
In the bottom line Good hotel, with just a little more it could be great.

Room Tip: Don't select lower level rooms - families with children will stay above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    366
    125
    65
    27
See reviews for
495
412
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very nice resort on top of a hill above Banff. Chosen based on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The queen room was spacious and well equiped, the only downside is that the room was on the groud floor with car parking right in front so a bit dark. It is such a shame that the resort does not make people park cars away from the rooms but I guess that is cultural...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were looking forward to staying at Banff and Hidden Ridge Resort provided some great accommodation to enjoy this lovely community. Rooms were very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. This would be a great place to stay with children or for a special family gathering. Complete with pool, BBQ, bike hire and so on it would make for a memorable and easy family holiday.
Customer service was exceptional, nothing was a hassle.
Easy parking if you have a vehicle or take advantage of the bus to access down town areas.

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs to get the view of Banff at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a lovely hotel removed from the hustle and bustle of Banff, although still accessible with transit passes or a beautiful 25 min (Downhill) walk into town. The places are spacious and the the pool and facilities are beautiful. Nights are quiet and the beds are really comfortable. Its pretty in the summer, and I would definitely give this place a chance in the winter as well. A great retreat for the family or a group of friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Was upgraded to a 4-Queen bed condo, which was plenty of room for 4 adults and 2 kids.
Used the kitchen, which was well-supplied.
The location is a bit remote, but a bus (included) brought you downtown in no time.
Had great service at the reception and from maintenance, as one of our 4 (!) TVs did not work.
The pool and spa were quite warm, with great views.
Kids had access to free freezies.
A booklet of discounts for the city was also given at check-in.
Would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your kind words and share your happiness in having chosen us for your stay in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Overall a good weeks stay here. We did have a 3 floor condo, so nobody above us, which definitely seemed like a good thing given the other reviews. Accommodation was good sized, generally clean, and the location was great, out of the hustle and bustle of Banff, but with a great (free with passes from reception) regular bus service into town and further.

Pool was OK, though limited, washing machines worked fine, DVD loan was easy. Basically a good stay.

On the negative side - nothing spoiling over overall stay, but things to watch out for if you're looking for them

* Noise late at night, mostly at the weekends. Make a big thing of "quiet time" between 11pm and 7am, but no enforcement
* Dishwasher useless
* Oven couldn't even cook pizzas
* Very wasteful housekeeping
* TV system the slowest I've ever seen - more than 5 minutes to get to the point where you could play a DVD, a minute to change the chanel via the chanel menu
* WiFi patchy at best

All minor points for improvement, rather than reasons not to say.

Room Tip: Pot luck really, but avoid ground floor only condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your week here and thank you for the review. It is very pleasing to see reviews from guests who have such a strong presence on Trip Advisor and those who have stayed for such a long period of time, such as yourself. I'd like to investigate the niggles you had a little further if I could as it may yet be remediated. If you could pass on your room number to me, I'll be sure to follow up! Thanks again, Peter DuBeau, General Manager, pdubeau@bestofbanff.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Six of us stayed here in June 2014. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. The beds were all queens, 2 were downstairs with their own bathroom, the third was in a loft above the lounge area with its own bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped with a large refrigerator. There was an adjoining dining area and lounge area, where we could all seat comfortably. The resort has thermal pools which were very pleasant. We were able to park outside our apartment. Staff were friendly and helpful. The resort is out of the centre of town, but fine if you have a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay in our premium two bedroom with loft condo with three queens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.