We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for weekend getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Minneapolis, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent for weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had never been to Banff and did not really know the "lay of the land," but this turned out to be a good choice for our 4-day weekend. It is away from traffic and therefore quiet, but is a three minute drive to the downtown area. The staff were friendly and helpful and the property is well kept. The view from the hot tub was awesome! There are walking/biking trails that pass right through the resort and you will almost certainly view wildlife along the trails. We were most pleased with the stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are most pleased that you chose us for your first stay in Banff. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    366
    125
    65
    27
See reviews for
495
412
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joelton, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

As condo rentals go, this one is just average. The secluded location is nice, but the buildings are so packed together that it feels and sounds like you're in a city. There are kids all around and forget the pool and hot tub....small and always over-run by youngsters. And our "deluxe" room was a dark, basement unit with no view and with very noisy neighbors above. There are probably a few good units in this complex (top floors on the outside buildings) but for almost $300 a night I would definitely suggest other locations.

Room Tip: lots of internal buildings....try to get an edge building top floor unit and you might get a view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the review and we're sorry you didn't have an excellent stay. We endeavour to provide all of our guests with a quality leads to an excellent stay and we are crestfallen that we missed the mark with this stay. Ultimately, the resort is sold out for much of the summer and our rates reflect our occupancy more than off season times. I am sure that given a different time of year, we could provide you with a stay and price that would exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Other than being on the lower level and having children upstairs who thumped around we can not fault our stay here. We didn't want to leave. We even had a little squirrel visit us each evening! Loved the pool and the view. Staff friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in our travels.

Room Tip: Perhaps stay on higher level ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the review and your kind words. Hope the rest of your travels were stellar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the Farimont for a few days but it was sold out on our last two days so we booked here. What a lovely place. It is high up with a nice view. The enormous jacquizzi was wonderful to soothe muscles tired from hiking. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a fireplace in our room and you could get dvds to watch from the front desk. We stayed at Fairmonts the rest of our time in Canada and the cabin and lodge feel of this place made me wish we had booked more places like this for our visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your great review and for choosing/comparing us over the Fairmont. We're blushing! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We just loved the view from our hot tub on the balcony of our apartment. We overlooked the tree's and could see Banff nestled in the valley between the snow covered mountain peaks.
There is a great outdoor heated pool with a fireplace and a BBQ area and its all overlooking the amazing view.
We would certainly return to this great hotel

Room Tip: The hot tub suites are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We checked in today and were really disappointed with our loft room. For over $300 per night I expected more. There are no drawers in the downstairs bedroom. There's no air-conditioning (and it is quite hot today). The furniture is really old and worn. The bathroom is atrocious with no storage. The shower is over the bath and is so outdated as to be a joke given the price of the room. So the upshot is the three of us can't unpack fully as we have nowhere to store things - unless you want to go upstairs to the children's room where there are 6 drawers. There's handing space downstairs but only bedside tables. The bathroom floor is the only place to put your toiletries bag and other bathroom requirements.

I can't express adequately how disappointed I am in this hotel, with it being our last one in Canada before heading off to New York. The hotel website photos don't show what it really looks like, and the reviewers are not being entirely honest about the rooms. If you like to pay a lot for an old room, then stay here. I'd rather go back to the Sutton Place in Revelstoke which cost the same and was really modern and nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the review and we're sorry you didn't enjoy your night at the resort, checking out after your first night of a three night stay. Frankly, I do not blame for liking the room quality of the Sutton Place in Revelstoke more. Our rates reflect the supply and demand in Banff. Those traveling for off season skiing destinations in Revelstoke are more likely to find comparable rates with a higher quality. This will be a common complaint for us over the course of the summer and you have every right to take your business elsewhere if you are not happy. I wish we could have provided you with a rate or quality that would have more met your expectations and I am sorry you felt deceived by our Internet presence and the hundreds of unbiased positive reviews we have an Trip Advisor, Expedia, Booking.com, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The property is not located right in the town of Banff. It is about 5 minutes away on Tunnel Mountain Road (aka Otter Street). The property also provides passes for the bus which comes by about every 40 minutes. Our room was a three story unit -- two bedrooms (1 queen in each room) on the ground floor. There was also a full bath on the ground floor. The first floor was an open concept kitchen, dining area, sitting area with a door to a small deck. The second floor was a loft bedroom that extend over about half of the 1st floor. The loft had a queen bed and a full bath. The unit was well-appointed and clean. The kitchen has all the needed appliances. We only experienced a couple of (relatively minor) drawbacks. First the loft bedroom might be fine for children but it lacks privacy for adults. It is open to the first floor sitting area but also open to a large window above the sitting area. There are no window coverings for this large window. In our unit there was a direct line of sight from the loft to upstairs bedroom windows in the unit just down the hill. This is related to another issue. Some of the units are "stand-alone" units while others are duplexes but they are all located very close to each other. If you go to bed early or are a light sleeper this can be a problem because you are likely to hear your neighbors coming and going. Finally, it is important to note that those with limited mobility may find it difficult to navigate the stairs in these units.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the view and we are happy to be recognized by you as being a good option for Banff. We agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.