We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Banff heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at the resort. It is very close to town although we were a little nervous to walk with all the wildlife around. The bus passes you provide came in very handy. Your front desk staff were superb and very helpful. We enjoyed having access to sign out a game and made good use of that. The ease to get firewood was fantastic. We were a little confused by the housekeeping, making the bed the first day and then they did not come again. They may have cleaned (ie: washing down the sliding glass doors and we found someone else's bathing suit on the bathroom floor, under a cupboard) a bit better. Otherwise it had everything we needed to be comfortable for a family of four adults. Will be back!

Room Tip: The loft space was great for travelling with teenaged or adult children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay and we're sorry about the small housekeeping issues you had. I will be sure to follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    385
    130
    68
    28
See reviews for
525
428
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hidden Ridge was the perfect location for our "Between Men and Women" Couples Retreat. The staff was extremely professional, friendly and helpful. In particular, thank you David for all your assistance. The suite was very clean when we arrived. The outdoor hot tub was fantastic, and the views...stunning! Most of our participants stayed at Hidden Ridge as well, and they all truly enjoyed the experience. Several of them said they wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thank you for the great experience for both us and our participants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for the great review and we appreciate that you and your guests enjoyed your stay. I have shared your kind words with David. We can also see that you'll be coming back in November and we look forward to the opportunity to hosting you and your guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Finding a reasonably priced hotel for a family of 5 is challenging, Hidden Ridge Resort located on a hill just the outside of Banff was perfect. We stayed in a 3 story "condo" with a decent (small) kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a loft. Bathrooms were in the basement with the 2 bedrooms and loft. Clean and nice but not really luxurious or modern, Parking is free but the spaces are very tight (everybody seems to drive a huge truck/SUV) and spaces fill-up in the evening which was mildly frustrating. The small heated pool and oversized jacuzzi have an incredible view, the kids loved to spend time there... so did all the other patrons, it was often very crowded. Service was quick and efficient with some minor issues resolved professionally and without incident. The staff was polite and helpful, they seemed to like working there and made our family feel welcome. The kitchen was small but perfect for preparing breakfast and simple dinners. The free gas grill was very nice.

Really, the only (minor) complaint is the jacuzzi was broken (just the jets, the water was heated) for our entire stay. Normally, I wouldn't even mention this but the pool/jacuzzi is such a big part of the allure. I believe this is a really fair deal for a solid property in Banff and I would recommend it to others and will probably stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Small place so every unit is pretty close to the pool/jacuzzi,front office and free grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for the great review and for forgiving us for the few frustrations you had. Unbelievably, we are still waiting for the impeller for the pump motor to arrive to fix the jets. It was the first time in history that it broke. It needed to be sourced out of California and even though it was ordered immediately after the jets went down - it is taking it's time to arrive on property. In any event, I'm glad it wasn't a hindrance that impacted the overall quality of your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future without the issue for another excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Nice pet friendly resort complete with pet bed and bowls. Nice clean room fast check in and friendly service. There was free WiFi and a well stocked kitchen,the only complaint was rather large logs and no axe which made having a fire difficult. All in all a nice room would go again with our pet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for the review and we're happy you had a nice getaway while you were here. We do have axes on site but they are not stored in rooms. We can either cut your wood for you or find you some smaller pieces. Feel free to call us next time and we'll be sure to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We came up for a night to Banff for my husbands birthday and this resort was the perfect getaway. Our room was romantic, the hot tub was great, it had a fantastic view and our experience was wonderful. Pam made us feel right at home. Thank you for a lovely getaway; we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for the review. We have taken the opportunity to recognize Pam for making your stay memorable. Thank you for mentioning her and we'll see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had pre-booked 2 condos and when we got there. They offered us an upgrade for both condos to include a games room in the basement of each. Reasonably priced as well. The staff was very helpful with anything we needed. We phoned down for some extra kitchen supplies and within 5 minutes they were there, both times. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Fantastic place.

Room Tip: In the middle of the resort is close to all. We stayed in 310 and 311. Right across from the hot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We endeavour to meet any requests as efficiently as possible and we're happy our team were able to respond quickly. We would encourage all of our guests to give us the opportunity to serve them if they need anything. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The first thing I noticed when we arrived in our condo (2 bedrooms and a loft): there was crumbs on the top of the stairs and in the bathroom. I could also feel the crumbs under my feet when I was putting my food in the fridge. The carpet wasn't clean. For the price, I found that the furnitures were old, there was a hole down on the wall, not really well maintained... I tried to use the microwave and it was defective. A lot of toaster's elements were not working, it was impossible to have well toasted toasts. For a condo for 8 people, it was hard to prepare coffee for the 4 adults of us. The coffee maker was small and we had 2 filter-pack for 1 or 2 cup so you have to make 1 or 2 cups at a time. We went to the grocery to buy ground coffee and filters. It's not the end of the world, but I usually have a better equipment in any hotel rooms.
We went to the heated pool. The jets weren't working. The sauna was cold and not working.
For 500$ a night during the big Easter weekend, I was expecting for more.
There were so many cars parked everywhere, it was hard to circulate and drop our luggages at the door of our unit.
The staff were welcoming. It was quiet in our condo. The location of the resort is good if you have a car.
I will definitely not return. This resort was a big deception for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we're dreadfully sorry you did not have an excellent Easter weekend. My team and I apologize for our inability to provide you with the quality and high standards we are generally known for and what you deserved for the price you paid. We certainly endeavour to always provide our guests with quality that exceeds expectations but I can also appreciate how a couple of niggling issues can snowball into a poor stay, especially when rates are higher in Banff on long weekends. We've followed up on the lack of attention to detail on the carpet. As the carpet was completely changed out in room 410 in March 2014, the issue was directly related to our central vac and housekeeping service missing an area with crumbs - microwave, toaster and coffee maker - we will inspect the appliances and we always keep spares around if you're in need of more. The impeller on the jet pump broke and there are no pieces of it's kind in Canada, totally unanticipated, first time it happened - so we're waiting on a part. I'm disappointed we won't see you again but I understand the circumstances. If you reconsider, let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.