We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but unit could use new dishwasher” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice property but unit could use new dishwasher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Hidden Ridge Resort provides nice condo style accommodation and offers units which can accommodate larger families. The check-in staff was efficient and friendly, and we had no problems with our reservation which we made on-line. Our unit was nicely furnished with good beds and bedding. The washrooms were clean and in very good condition.

The unit had a full kitchen which we used to cook dinner both nights during our stay. Here's where they could do with some upgrades. The refrigerator was good. The electric stove was acceptable, albeit was the older style with coil type elements. The plates, cutlery and cooking utensiles were OK but the frying pans needed to be replaced. The frying pans were the non-stick variety but the coating was all worn and had started to flake off. The dishwasher had seen better days and definitely needed to be replaced. In fact, the one in our unit leaked all over the floor when we tried to use it. Also, there's nothing worst than opening up an old dishwasher where the plastic components inside the dishwasher are broken, stained or worn out, like the cutlery basket.

They do not have assigned parking stalls so you're not always able to park directly in front of your unit. They do have some underground parking but it doesn't accommodate high vehicles or mini-vans with a storage tube on top.

Hidden Ridge is a bit newer and more upscale than some of the other condo style resorts in the area so it's priced accordingly in a town where accommodation is relatively expensive to to start with. There's more economical accommodation in Banff but if you need the extra room, want to cook your own meals and want a nicely built property that's off the main road, Hidden Ridge is good choice.

The resort is located on Tunnel Mountain Road, a short 5 minute drive from downtown Banff. There's a free shuttle bus that will take you downtown. For those that are more energetic, you can walk but it will be uphill on your way back.

This was the second time we have stayed at Hidden Ridge and had great visits both times. We plan on staying here again the next time we visit Banff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for the review. We're sorry the dishwasher did not work correctly. We have ordered some new dishwashers in the last couple of weeks and I am hoping the one that was a problem in your room was replaced. I don't know for sure, however, as I don't have a room number to check. Could you be so kind to call the resort and let us know? We can also track your reservation by your last name to find the room number if you can't remember. Looking forward to seeing you next time, we can ensure you have a working dishwasher.
Peter DuBeau
General Manager
403-760-8511
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    432
    155
    71
    31
See reviews for
603
463
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Came across this resort by chance. We originally booked a large room with 2 queen sized beds with a small kitchenette (sink, small fridge and microwave) for 4 adults. The room was too small for all of us but an Internet search located a one bedroom/loft with 3 queen sized beds, 1 and a half bathrooms, kitchen, lounge/dining room and fireplace. This was perfect for all of us. It was a little bit out of the way but the resort provided free bus passes to downtown during our stay. The resort also had an outside spa which really soothed the muscles after skiing all day. We even encountered wildlife at our back door - two elks. They came so close and gave us plenty of opportunities to take photos. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review and for recognizing our team in having made in impact to ensuring your stay was a good one. It appears we still have some of your books here. I'll have staff give the number on file a call in order to organize getting these back to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Hidden Ridge last week for a night before snowboarding in Lake Louise. Such an amazing place. We really liked the fact that we could build a fire in a REAL fireplace, not to mention the outdoor hot tub looking over the valley in Banff. Tip: take a dip in the hot tub and when you get hot, cool off in the little warm pool below - repeat! AMAZING.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for the great review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for your snowboarding getaway, with hot pools and wood burning fireplaces!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Made a Weekend trip w/ the FAM Jam to this real jem in the woods, Resort is about a 5 min drive from centre Banff. Wonderful views of the mountain all around the resort.

Check in was quick and were given a key to a 3 bedroom unit in the centre of all the units, comfy beds, homey feeling and awesome stay. We had problems with the washroom drain on out first day but the hotel maintenance staff was on it right away and had it fixed within minutes of calling the front desk.

Parking was hard to find in front of units since it was an open parking lot for every one and if you were out late into the night u would have to go out on the road and park, no big deal it was a pleasant walk back to the unit.

Outdoor hot tub was the highlight of the Trip, was opened till about 10PM every night and faced downtown Banff, you won’t really get a view of downtown even through the resort is up on a mountain but sit back and enjoy the views around you.

A lot of activities to do in Banff down town, including the Banff gondola which is a must for every one I would say, breathtaking views on top of the mountain.

Made a trip to Jasper via Hwy 93 I believe and it was the best 4-5 hours drive of my life, the scenery is worth praising, can’t explain in words a person has to see it to really believe how beautiful this place can be and u will see a lot of wide life on the roads from Deer’s to Elks to Bears and more. So drive safe.

This is truly a wonderful place to say and if anyone is thinking about visiting, they should not think twice. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the outdoor Hut Tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for the comprehensive review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your trip to the area and your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of 8 (plus 2 babies) stayed here over American thanksgiving and had an wonderful experience. The beds were comfortable, there was good space to socialize in the main room, and the full kitchen was a major plus - we cooked most of our own meals, which meant more money for the apres ski. Everyone *loved* the fireplace and the ample supply of firewood. Staff were very helpful and attentive whenever we needed anything (more firewood, dish towels, dining advice, etc). Because it's away from the downtown we thought the location would be inconvenient, but it's only a free bus ride away or a pleasant 20 minute walk. Plus, there were tons of good hiking trails right at our doorstep. The hot tubs are huge and have the most incredible view. When we come back to Banff we'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the hot tub if you're staying in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for the review. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Hidden Ridge Resort looks over Banff from Tunnel Mountain. Our loft spa suite was spacious and comfortable with all mod cons and kitchen amenities. (including chopped firewood for the wood burning fireplace, cable tv and our own hot tub on the balcony). The large outdoor hot tub and pool was a great place to relax after a days skiing. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. There is also a complementary bus that takes you to the town centre in just a few minutes. A wonderful place to stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Very happy you enjoyed your stay in the king jacuzzi suite and thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here between Christmas and New Years and had a very enjoyable stay. The resort is tucked away from Downtown Banff but not too far away to be inconvenient. Bed was comfy, kitchen well equipped and the overall feel of our room (103) was cozy.

Staff were courteous and very helpful. We booked some excursions through the desk and they took their time to work with us, offer recommendations and explain our options.

Lobby was clean, cozy and a fire was constantly burning to take the edge off the cold. There were also hot coffee and cocoa to warm you up while you were waiting.

The only negatives that I could comment on were the parking situation (not horrific but a bit of a struggle at times) and noisy neighbors. We were in a lower unit and the unit above us had children staying in it. The construction of the units made it sound as if there were wild elephants staying above us. If you are looking for peace and quiet, try for a upper unit if possible.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would stay here again if we returned to Banff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for the review and your kind words about the resort and our team. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,707 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#14 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.