We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place for a family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I booked these chalets for a big family wedding in August. We rented 8 full cabins (2 bedrooms + 1 bedroom loft + 2 balcony + 2 bathrooms + 1 living room with pull out sofa + full kitchen per cabin) for about $400CDN per night. It was an amazing price for the value. On our back porch, there was a full bbq station set up with picnic tables where our family (about 30 people) had breakfast and dinners together. The resort was very accomodating in letting us stay all along the same strip of the 'hotel neighbourhood'. Because the hotel was on the outside of the main town (5 min drive), the hotel provided a shuttle pass for guests to take into town free of charge. They also provided bikes for a $20/day rental which was perfect for those who are into the outdoors activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    419
    147
    70
    30
See reviews for
581
454
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Basically the "average" rating sums it up. We chose this place because it had a self-contained kitchenette and a fireplace. We arrived mid-week and although all the units around us were completely empty we were given a ground floor (read underground) unit. The lighting was so dim you couldn't see a thing, and since in winter it's dark for 16 hours of the day this was a bit of an issue for us. The heating was completely over the top and no matter how much we tried to adjust the thermostat we couldn't cool it down. We tried to open the windows which were jammed shut. The sliding door at the back wouldn't slide either and it was an effort to get the door open. The fireplace didn't work - despite having the vent open the unit filled with smoke and then the logs wouldn't take light. I can only guess the chimney was blocked because there didn't seem to be any oxygen getting to the fire. The internet signal in the unit was very weak, we ended up going down to reception to get onto the net. The hair dryer provided in the room shorted out the power and we had to get someone to turn it back on for us.
If I come back to Banff I would probably choose somewhere else over this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I went with my family to Hidden Ridge for a early season ski and hiking trip and it was GREAT! The hospitality afforded us was truly exceptional. We were travelling with two babies and had two pack and plays waiting in our room. We needed some trail advice and the front office staff showed us countless options using a detailed map that they had on hand. From the delivery of firewood to our door (yes REAL WOOD FIREPLACES!) to the friendly and efficient delivery of several different odds and ends (towels, extra blankets etc.) the staff was courteous and accommodating. Oh and the outdoor hot pools were outsanding as well! I travel quite a bit and I highly recommend Hidden Ridge.

Jonathon K

Room Tip: Plenty of room options check the website for detailed floor plans and request the one that suits you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a great place to stay. Quiet, clean, and love the wood burning fireplace. We paid for an upgrade to a Premier Suite, what a treat this was! 3 bedrooms, 3 floors, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. I didn’t even know suites like this existed! More space than we needed, but worth it!
Front desk team were very helpful. Asked for a map of downtown as we wanted to hit a couple of pubs. They said “why don’t you leave your car here, you have FREE bus transportation”!!! Umm, ok! Parking is ample, and free too!

Room Tip: Premier Suite!! All the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a fantastic resort!!!
While on a little weekend get away me and a couple friends decided to check out the tangle ridge and our expectations were blown away. We stayed in a 3 bedroom loft with a fully furnished kitchen, 2 bathrooms, a real wood fireplace and a balcony overlooking the mountains.
The real treat were the outdoor hot pools with the unparalled backdrop.
Close enough to the town of banff for all your conveniences but just far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet.
Upon reception we were greeted in a most friendly manner and promptly directed to our room.
I will be returning with my family next time as there is nothing else comparable in the rockies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I'm in Banff usually every other month. Small getaways for business and pleasure. I needed to getaway for work and was looking for a quiet, beautiful place infused with inspiration. Hidden Ridge is truly one of Banff's best. I've stayed at countless resorts and hotels in Banff and can't tell you the last time I enjoyed a stay like I did at the Ridge.

The room was beautiful (I was in the loft, wood burning fireplace which has a spectacular view of the snow crested mountains). Drinking my coffee in the morning with sun shining and soaking in that view was so soul refreshing.

The customer service is, without a doubt, the best I've encountered in Banff. Courteous, professional and goes above and beyond.

The room was immaculate and the extra touches leave with you with the sense that this place has great management and people care about the people staying. The bed was heavenly. I felt refreshed and invigorated leaving despite coming for a "work stay."

I'll be back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you have luggage, skis, children, are pregnant, senior or basically a family this is not the hotel for you! To put it shortly they don't have enough parking stalls for the resort forcing people to park on the street. When you park on the street you get a parking ticket which we did get! Our family arrived with ONE car. Other units seemed to have 3 or 4 cars. Unfortunately they don't give you an assigned stall so it's "First come, first serve!". That is their only plan for parking. So we had to park on a snow bank down a dark street and WALK all of our gear to the resort AND we got a parking ticket. Will never stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to also address your comments regarding the parking situation. To suggest that the Hidden Ridge is not for someone 'with luggage, skis, children, are pregnant, senior or basically a family' is untrue, reactionary and unfair. Parking has been and will continue to be a topic of discussion at this resort. We do realize that it can lead to frustrations during busy peak periods on the weekends as all our parking is unassigned and we are located at the end of a dead end road. We have looked at alternatives but unfortunately every scenario has its positive and negative aspects. If we re-introduced assigned parking then guest satisfaction, patrolling and enforcement can become a major obstacle. In the past people encroached on parking spots that belonged to other rooms with reckless disregard for the quality of another guest's stay and it lead to many negative experiences between guests. We had a working overflow parking system in effect until the summer.

We have enough parking on property as dictated by the Town of Banff bylaw. Our problems were recently compounded by the town deciding to put up permanent no parking signage on one side of HIdden Ridge Way leading into the resort in an area that was traditionally used for overflow parking. We are not the only hotel or business in Banff to use the town's street infrastructure for overflow parking. I have made many pleas to town council and administration to reconsider this and I will email some of them to you after my response. Saturday, November 24th was the worst day for parking since the no parking signs were installed. We certainly do not support the town's decision to send a municipal law enforcement officer to tag vehicles on Sunday morning. The hotel paid for all of the tickets that were distributed, including yours, which you fail to mention in your review.

I realize that this incident and the manner in which it impacted your stay has created a very negative affect on your experience at the Hidden Ridge resort. This is regrettable from our perspective and one that saddens me. Rest assured the handling of the situation is ongoing, that we do have a plan in place and that we are working towards preventing too many vehicles and road improvements. Unfortunately, the challenges are great, especially when complimentary parking is on offer. Some other hotels place a charge of $30+ for valet parking and/or $20+ self parking (which would mean that you would have to walk a lot further to get to your room that you would here).

For future travelers, parking at the resort is complimentary but is limited to the geographical boundaries of the resort. We recommend carpooling. It is better for the environment. This occurrence was certainly a rare one but can occur on Saturday nights when occupancy is high. We expect to get more news from the Town of Banff as our discussions continue in regards to the no parking signage. We are committed to guest service and will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.