We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved Our Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Banff
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Saved Our Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had rented another place down the street for our Honeymoon that ended up being the worst place we've EVER stayed at.One call to the Hidden Ridge Resort saved our Honeymoon! Pamela was wonderful in setting us up in a wonderful suite within minutes of arrival. The view is spectacular, the suites and grounds are beautiful, well maintained and the hot tub is nice and large and HOT! :D We wish we would have spent more time here and look forward to an anniversary trip back to this resort to stay a few more nights.

Room Tip: Also great if you're traveling with a group or family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and thank you for taking the time to mention Pamela personally in helping to make your stay memorable. I have taken the opportunity to ensure that she is recognized for her work and we take great pride in ensuring that all of our guests' stay are of the highest caliber. We are eager to welcome you back for your anniversaries and we were happy to save you from your poor accommodation down the street!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    553
    284
    102
    49
    22
See reviews for
382
342
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldbrook, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I'll start by saying the Hidden Ridge is absolutely perfect for some people. These people are families or groups that want a decent place to stay in Banff at a pretty good rate. There's lots of room in the suites, and you can prepare meals yourself.

However, I would have had a much better stay on two conditions. You're going to want a car if you don't want to waste a lot of your day waiting for the bus. I thought 'They come every 40 minutes, that should be fine'... It wasn't really. I only had a couple days in Banff and I feel like I wasted a LOT of time waiting for buses.

Also, request a suite on the top level!! You can hear every foot step the person above you takes when you're on the bottom level (even at 3:00a.m).

The staff is really great and they have things such as free parking, wifi, BBQ's and movies which is nice. There's definitely a lot of pluses to staying here.

Just remember, car (unless you don't mind waiting for the bus). Top level (unless you're a heavy sleeper)!



  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the honest review. As we would prefer you to have a better than average stay, we will look forward to your return in an upper level unit and with your personal vehicle. We are happy to assist in any way in making the booking for you. For your preference, we have eight room types at the resort and two out of eight are on lower levels, specifically the deluxe one bedroom condo with one queen and the deluxe one bedroom condo with two queens. if you book another room type other than the ones just mentioned, you will be guaranteed an upper level loft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed many place in Banff in the past, but I think we have finally found the one we will return to time and time again. Loved the loft suite. Put our kids up in the loft and we had two great sleeps in the main floor. Relaxed with the fireplace and enjoyed the hot tubs after Melissa's Road Race. Look forward to planning a winter family vacation here soon.

Room Tip: Hate it give a good review, would like to keep this place as a little secret..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
You DID make a great pick! We look forward to welcoming you back for your family vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night in Sept 2013 and we were very happy with HR, as usual. Stayed in a 2 bedroom loft condo which had tons of room for our girls' retreat to Banff for Thursday/Friday. Pleasantly surprised to see the newly renovated hot tub - we haven't been up for a few years and liked the new facilities. All in all, great value for Banff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are happy you chose us amongst the many options in Banff. Many of our pre-2009 past guests are quite happy with the new hot tub and we are glad you took the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

It is the most relaxing weekend I have ever had in banff, due to the atmosphere and accommodating staff at the Hidden Ridge! We chose to stay in for our first night just to enjoy the cabin and amenities! Loved it and will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in a 4-queen condo - perfect size for 4 adult, 4 kids and 1 baby.

Comfort: The beds were very comfortable, amenities were nice. Extra towels and linens were delivered promptly.

Convenience: The kitchen in the condo had pretty much everything we needed - except a frying pan! No fried eggs for us that morning, but that was easily remedied by just making poached eggs. :) You may want to bring your own coffee or buy some in town, as the coffee for the coffee makers is lacking in flavor and strength. It was nice to have the option to just buy groceries and cook at the condo, as restaurants in Banff are either lacking for families, too expensive, or have ridiculous wait times.

Pools: The pools are a HUGE plus here. Sure, the kids aren't really allowed to splash around too much, but the water in the "cool" pool is warm, and the hot pool is bliss. The pools were very relaxing.

Staff: They were very polite and helpful, had suggestions on where to go in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review. The only thing I have to note is that our rooms should all have frying pans. Perhaps it was in the drawer underneath the oven? In any event, we would have been happy to deliver you one from the front desk but we are also happy you enjoyed your poached eggs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Location/Access: Conveniently located on Tunnel Mountain Rd. just a few blocks from the town of Banff, but still far enough away to be quiet. There is an RV Park across the street but we never heard any noise from them at all. The resort is just 1½ miles from a great photo op – Surprise Corner and 4 miles from the Banff Gondola. There is a complimentary shuttle service around Banff daily that picks-up about every 20 minutes in front of the resort. The shuttle route runs from 6:20am – 11:12pm and goes downtown, Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, Banff Gondola and Banff Upper Hot Springs.

Amenities: There is daily towel service with full cleaning every third day. The Hot Tub is open from 9:00am – 10:00pm with towels, changing rooms and coin lockers provided. The hot tub is the size of a small swimming pool with a view of the mountains. It is a popular place after a day of hiking. The ice machine and coin laundry are also located next to the changing room. There is free WiFi provided. Many full size gas barbeque grills are located throughout the resort with BBQ utensils at the front desk for use. Parking is available in front of each condo unit or in an underground heated garage, which is fantastic in winter months. A lot of units have fireplaces with free wood provided too.

Rooms: We originally booked a one bedroom condo. No deposit was required just a credit card to hold the reservation. We upgraded to a loft condo after arriving. There was a full kitchen, living room with fireplace on the main floor. A Queen bedded upstairs loft with sink/vanity outside the bathtub/shower bathroom and a flat screen TV. Downstairs were two more separate Queen bedded rooms each with flat screen TV’s and a large bathroom with great sized shower. The back deck patio was a great place to relax and take in the view but could get warm if you have a deck that faces west. The only draw back we had to the loft was that you had to go upstairs or downstairs for the bathroom. The kitchen was stocked and a perfect size with a bar counter. There is no A/C but each room has ceiling fans and there is plenty of windows to open for the cool night breezes.

The resort grounds were beautiful with colorful hanging flowerpots. The front desk staff was wonderful and cheery with bright smiles, wanting to accommodate whenever they could. I noticed the dishwasher in our unit was not working properly and they had maintenance there within minutes.

As any resort town, restaurants can be very expensive. We were going to stop in Calgary to purchase grocery and spirit supplies on our way to Banff. But we had to wait over an hour for a rental car because they were behind in returned cars. There is a Safeway Grocery & Liquor store in Calgary at 99 Crowfoot Crescent NW on the way to Banff. Otherwise in Banff there is Nesters Market at 122 Bear St. with free parking and Sidestreet Liquor’s back entrance is next to the Keg Restaurant in the same parking area.

We were very pleased with Hidden Ridge Resort. Location, very nice accommodations, beautiful grounds and all the amenities one could ask for. Off to Jasper next. See my review on Alpine Village Resort.

Room Tip: Decks facing the west can be warm at sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review and your pictures. You deserve all the helpful votes you get as your detail is fantastic. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Hotel
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.