We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Deary, Id
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights midweek. Property was everything it was represented to be and very convenient for our family. The staff was helpful and friendly. Will stay here again. Great place for a family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    322
    109
    57
    23
See reviews for
430
376
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Hidden Ridge in September, and thought it was quite lovely. After reading some of the other reviews which recommended the loft rooms instead of the lower one bedroom units (which are supposed to be noisy), we opted for the loft unit even though it was more space than we needed.

I imagine this place could get very noisy on weekends in the summer, however it was very quiet on the weekdays. The cabins are located next to a large campground for tents and RVs, which may also contribute to the noise in the summers, especially if you leave your windows open.

Pros:
- Kitchen is well-stocked
- Room was clean, including the fridge and stove (we stayed in a dog-friendly room, which I imagine probably has a little more wear and tear than a regular room)
- It was quiet (we were there on weekdays only)
- Free bus pass to get in and around Banff centre
- Nice little trails nearby (if you have a dog, this is great for little "potty" breaks)
- Dishwashers in the room make for an easy dish clean-up
- If you don't feel like cooking, there's a convenient delivery service (menus in the room). We ordered pizza and salad from one of the restaurants in Banff, and it was delivered right to our door. They deliver food from several restaurants around Banff, from sushi to Italian to Indian food.
- They have a nice little selection of movies for those rainy days (several kids movies too)
- They don't skimp on the firewood and kindling, so if you need more, just ask

Cons:
- Room didn't have the dog amenities as promised on the website (no bowls, treats or dog bed). We brought our own, so this wasn't a huge deal.
- No air-conditioning (if you leave the balcony sliding door open, this helps cool down the room a lot at night)
- Some of the cooking equipment (pans and trays) were a little sticky and had to be washed
- Parking was nutty when we were there, and it wasn't that busy. I suspect parking could be a nightmare during high season.

A tip about the coffee maker - the little packs are for 4 cups, but the coffee makers are 12 cup, so use three packages of coffee for one full pot.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a loft room, even if it's more space than you need. The cost of the upgrade is minimal if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just what one could want on a mountain getaway. Great looking resort; spacious and well-equipped cabins surrounded by peaceful wilderness, and still close to downtown Banff. Very professional staff, great attention to detail and all amenities you'd need. Mountain vacations typically involve outdoor activities, and what could be more relaxing than a nice outside jacuzzi with a great view after a tiring day or outdoor fun. Save your $$$ from overpriced hotels and stay at this cabin-based resort with kitchen, fire-place and great wilderness locations (just right - not too segregated from the city, and not too close to lose the peace of a mountain getaway).

We are definitely going back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family was so happy with Hidden Ridge that we cancelled the rest of our trip to stay an extra two nights! Comfortable condos with spectacular views, especially from the pool and hot tub. We also enjoyed stargazing from our patio.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to a loft unit it is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location and views are great, especially in a "hot tub on the deck" unit or from the outdoor pools! Service was wonderful including helping us bring our luggage upstairs when checking in. It's beautiful to be up on the hill and see Trundle Mountain. The drive by the river coming down into town is very scenic or there is a bus stop right there. We have great memories of Banff and staying at Hidden Ridge Resort. We plan to return.. all the way from California!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Hidden ridge was definately the place we were looking for! Spacious chalets, clean, amazing staff who respond to every question or request with wonderful attitude and immediate action. The location was breath-taking, the view from the hot tub- Spectacular!!! Super comfy beds And pillows! not those usual wimpy airfilled pillows! EVERYTHING you could need is available, from bbqs incl use of utencils, great firewood for the fire places, even use of marshmellow roasting skewers!!! They thought of everything!!! We are absolutely booking again next summer!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our second second stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. Our first experience wasn’t the best, we had stayed in one of the basement units in the older section.

This time ,we stayed in the newer units, a two bedroom with a loft and fireplace , unit 319. This unit was really nice. We truly enjoyed our stay. The kitchen was well stocked, the unit was clean and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this unit in the newer section. I would return to Hidden Ridge based on our last stay.

I have to give a big kudos to the management and staff. They reached out and truly wanted to ensure we had an enjoyable stay and we did. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.