We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Winter getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The trip to Banff was a Christmas present and we stayed in the Premier King Jacuzzi Suite. I booked this room in July for our December stay, and it seems this would be the wise thing to do as the premium rooms do get taken up quickly around the holidays.

When we arrived our check in was fast and friendly - they gave us a bus pass for the duration of our stay that allowed us to transit in to downtown Banff, which was well appreciated in the winter and holiday driving season. We also got a bundle of firewood, matches and newspaper and the first thing we did when we got into the room was build a fire.

The room was clean and private, with a lovely view of the valley below (train whistles echo and are very... charming but loud at night time - the hotel even had a notice about it so be prepared). The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans and mugs and we did wind up shopping in town, though there's an option on the website to pre-shop and have groceries waiting for you when you arrive.

A wonderful magical stay overall - the reason I could not give 5 stars is because the 2nd night the jacuzzi tub quit working and after we called the front desk it was not attended to or marked on my account. When we checked out I mentioned it to the front desk again and they removed $10 from the overall stay which I didn't feel this was adequate compensation as the jacuzzi makes the room.

Would recommend a winter stay here; use the hotel hot tubs and ask for the free bus pass. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We have been able to trace your December reservation and we will contact you directly to organize your future stay. We are sorry that the jacuzzi in your room wasn't perfect and we're happy that it did not completely sour your experience. We aim to provide perfect stays and I know the next one will be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    433
    155
    71
    31
See reviews for
604
463
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I am a travel agent and I put up a family of 7 at Hidden Ridge and they loved it. They stayed in a unit that had a downstairs game room. Each person loved having so much room. The staff was great and the grounds were kept nice. The only complaint they had was you wanted to keep your windows open for air but the sidewalk was so close outside, you heard everyone's conversations outside. Other than that I would definitely recommend this place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Very glad to hear that your client's enjoyed their stay. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Firstly, I would congratulate the staff for welcoming us, and introducing us to the resort. We had booked a condo with loft, which meant that we were on the upper floors of one of the older units. We were quite surprised that there was a unit below us, and bearing in mind the amount of noise we could hear from below, due to the wooden construction of the building, and not the guests, I would anticipate that they found the noise from above a little intrusive.
The units around the edge of the development are somewhat tired, and rather dark. Changing a few lights might help, but this may show up some of the older facilities. A redecoration of most of the units would be in order. Units in the middle of the development are newer, but have less of a view that we did. We had a view over the valley, albeit through the trees, the only downside being the noise from the railroad, which started at about 3 AM. This is not unusual in Banff, due to the shape of the valley!!
The beds were good, and housekeeping was excellent.
Unfortunately, whilst the pool and hot tub are in a wonderful location, they are relatively small for the development, and were busy for most of the time that we were there, which has to be said, was quite rarely.
Overall, a good place for a short stay, but I think that I would be looking for some improvements to the buildings in the short term, if I were to return.

Room Tip: Choose a condo with a loft, not a ground floor unit, if you are in the older properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

First, if you're going to Banff, you need a car, which makes this hotel a perfect distance from the city centre when you have one. The unit is
adorable, there is a fireplace (wood is provided free of charge), a kitchen, a cozy living space with a pull-out couch and a separate bedroom. We had a gorgeous view from our first floor unit and we even had a fox come visit outside our door. The outdoor hot tub also has a beautiful view of the mountains and it is generally quiet (except on weekends when the bigger crowds roll in). The staff were so accommodating (let us stay in the same unit when we extended our stay). We also got a great rate on the room because we called and booked through them directly. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Banff!

Room Tip: When booking, request a room with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I would actually rate the overall property as between avg an above average for these reasons. I think if you stayed in one of the upper rooms, the experience would have been better. We stayed for three days in early July in a 'deluxe one bedroom, 2 queen bed' room. Every time we entered the room, there was such a heavy wood smoke smell--first thing we did was open the windows and doors. Also, it happened to be quite warm when we were there, and only one fan, no A/C. We liked the location-away from busy downtown Banff. The bathroom was fine-good towels. The beds and pillows were fine. The room was dark-the only windows in the bedroom were small at at ground level with trees pretty much right behind--so very little light came in. The view from the hot tub was beautiful. The front staff was friendly and knowledgeable and seemed to want to help make the stay enjoyable. One problem the entire time was the parking. The onsite info mentions that parking it to only be in parking spots and only one spot per room-if you need more spots for your room, you need to park elsewhere. People had more than one vehicle per room-they parked along side the narrow roads within the complex and parking was very tight. One person used a parking spot just for their attached trailer! No one did anything to monitor the parking and it made it very difficult to navigate the roads and to get in and out of parking spots. When I mentioned it to the front desk, I was told there was nothing they could do! There was quite a bit of noise from the people above us and also several groups who were very loud either on their decks or out on the lawn. We could very clearly hear the people in the room next to us as well. Thankfully, they did not go very late-but they were very inconsiderate of those who wanted it quieter in the evening. The kitchen was adequate for our use-but we only used it for breakfast and preparing picnic lunches. The space in the bedroom was a little tight, but it was manageable. I would not want to have stayed for more than the three days, or with more than 2 people in that room, but it was fine for our use.

Room Tip: we were in room 122. I highly recommend you ask for a room on the second floor. Second floor rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Hidden Ridge was 'OK' nothing more than that. We were in one of the 1 bedroom condos with our buddies next door (103 & 104)The rooms were clean, although they were very dark and the smell of wood smoke pervaded the air, although some might say this was part of the 'outdoors' ambiance. The stove was fairly useless with heat from the oven coming out of the rear right plate. The kitchen tools appeared to be mix and match when we compared with next door. Our biggest gripe was the noise from the deluxe condos above. It was not just inconsiderate neighbours it is the floors are not adequately sound insulated. I would probably go again but I would insist on selection my room. I have to say that the front desk team were very professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Banff and the Hidden Ridge Resort. After riding through downtown Banff, we were pleasantly surprised to find the Hidden Ridge Resort outside of the busy areas. We arrived early and were thrilled to not only be able to access our condo, but be upgraded. The staff was extrememly friendly, helpful and accommodating. 4 of us spent 5 nights in a 2 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath unit with a loft and gorgeous view from the deck. The hot tub/pool area was just delightful with a breathtaking view of the mountains and Banff. The condo was clean, spacious, fully equipped with a TV in each bedroom, including the common area. If needed, there were washers/dryers, changing rooms for the pool and a computer center.
We would absolutely return to the Hidden Ridge Resort. Spectacular views away from the crowds in town. I'll remember relaxing in the hot tub soaking in not only the warm water, but the awesome views!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.