We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in beautiful Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great stay in beautiful Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'll start by saying that the property is older and our unit was showing its age. The lower level rooms are very dark. The units do not have air conditioning. The pool is small and parking is difficult (I wouldn't recommend parking in the underground when driving a mini-van or larger). That being said, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this property again. We booked a 2 bedroom unit and were upgraded to a premium 2 bdrm plus loft. While we didn't need the extra 2 queen beds, it was nice to have 3 floors and some separation between guests.

The staff are warm and extremely helpful. My dad likes to cook elaborate dishes, and any kitchen tool that we didn't have in our unit was promptly provided by the front desk (mixer, colander, baking dish, new frying pan, sauce pan, measuring cups). We had a couple items that stopped working (exhaust fan and light bulb) and were promptly fixed. We also needed other extras like dish soap, dishwasher liquid, laundry detergent, extra trash bags and towels, all of which were promptly provided. I've stayed in many condo-like properties in the past and the staff at Hidden Ridge was the most helpful I've experienced.

While our unit did not have a view to speak of, the property is located on a ridge with tremendous views and within walking distance of some great hikes.

While the pool is small, the hot tub was very hot, which i really enjoyed. Normally resort hot tubs are barely above room temperature, but not so here. As other's have stated, it was nice to meet and talk to people from around the world while enjoying the lovely view from the pools.

Overall, this resort was a great find. Just far enough from the hustle and bustle of town, but close enough for quick trips to the store.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    605
    323
    110
    58
    24
See reviews for
435
376
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our 5-night stay was less than ideal.

First, the room. We were in a downstairs unit (2 queen beds -- “Deluxe 2 Queens”) which was very dark and warm with dirty carpet (yes, I have now read some other reviews and see that the carpet is about to be replaced...it would have been nice, however, if you could have cleaned it up to that point). I see that others have described similar units as a “cave.” That sums it up: we were in a little dungeon so dark that I could barely read my book in the evenings. Thank goodness for that plastic Adirondack chair sitting out in front of our room -- I was out there at 7 a.m. each morning, all cuddled up in the mountain air, reading away. We also heard a great deal of noise above us on several nights. We asked to move but they weren’t able to accommodate us (they “put our name on a list”...then, it seems, promptly forgot us). I now see that my husband could have booked a loft room which would have only been a bit more money. Though we are not keen on lofts for sleeping and didn’t need a third bed, wish he had as (I presume) there would have been nothing above us to create noise.

The biggest problem, though, was the pool, which was closed for the last two days of the stay. Yes, the pool is crowded when it is open (if the occupancy limit is 22 for the hot tub and 28 for the pool, as the manager mentions in one of his/her responses to another review, it is grossly undersized for the property). Nevertheless, it has a lovely view and was one of our favorite parts of the stay. There’s an upside to the in-pool cosiness: you can meet a lot of interesting people, who hail from all reaches of the world, and compare notes regarding Banff. Unfortunately, on Thursday they suddenly closed the pool due to some sort of mechanical malfunction. We were offered a voucher for the local hot springs (a voucher for the $18 admission only...we still had to pay for towels and lockers, which the hot springs insisted upon). If you think Hidden Ridge’s hot tub is crowded, it’s nothing compared to the sea of humanity in the hot springs (not to mention that it was a poor substitute for our 12-year-old son -- it’s more of an adult thing, hence, not a suitable alternative for this family resort). On Thursday, when the problem first occurred, the front desk stated “we hope to have this fixed by tomorrow.” When we inquired again on Friday, we were told the pool would not reopen until the NEXT WEEK. The communication regarding the problem was poor (not like we ever got a voice message or a printed notice with an update). Had we initially been told that the pool would not reopen, we definitely would have moved to another hotel.

At the end of our stay, I asked for a reduction in our room rate. We did, after all, contract for a property with a pool, and that’s not what we got. The woman at the front desk knocked $66 (15% off of the last two days) off the $1150 bill. Hmmm. Did I feel better about the stay? Not really. It felt like two little, two late...and I had to ask.

On the upside, the free DVDs that one could take back to the room were great -- lots of current movies to choose from, which delighted our son. The kitchens are not well-appointed (no serving bowl, no colander, etc.) but are definitely serviceable and we loved making several pots of coffee each morning. The front desk staff was always cordial (though, as I have mentioned, in many ways ineffectual...when I remarked about the noise coming from above, the woman on duty at the time says “we rarely receive that feedback because there is reinforcement between the rooms” or something like that, yet I see that many of the reviews remark on the noise between rooms...one would think they would try to make a party with a 5-night stay comfortable). The bbqs worked fine and were a nice alternative to dining out, though they were filthy...with just a bit of cleaning, they could be a real plus. And finally, the property, despite the proximity of local campgrounds, is nicely situated outside the center of town. I wonder, though...if it had been really hot (it was not), how would we have kept cool at night while ensuring our safety, as (with no a.c.) we would have needed to keep the windows open? Indeed, those campers are a stone’s throw away...and the windows into both the front and back of the room are right at ground level. It would have been very uncomfortable sleeping without locked windows.

I wish we had selected a different hotel. That said, this was neither a home run, nor a nightmare. The room rate is fairly low. That old adage, “You get what you pay for” holds true. We won’t go back. Can see why some people (with better rooms) like it, but it wasn’t at the top of our list.

Room Tip: Even if you are a small party and don't need the extra space, book a room that does not have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am sorry that you had a poor stay at the resort. I can assure you that you were never forgotten but as we were sold out every night, we had no options to move you. The lower pool, one of two pools is now open as of Monday morning. We are sorry this proved to add to the inconveniences you suffered over the course of your five night stay. We have extensive plans to shampoo the carpets once we are able to find the room vacant for a night, which we have not seen in unit 123 (the unit you stayed in) since Sunday, June 23rd during the flood. As all of our units open to the great outdoors, our carpets suffer more from dirty shoes than a traditional hotel might as you would generally walk though carpeted hallways that can be cleaned without the room being vacant. Our housekeeping team is working on shampoo spots as they go, but we need the unit to be vacant to do a full shampoo at the carpet takes time to dry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you're looking for a cosy, comfortable stay in Banff, I would recommend Hidden Ridge Resort. We were given an upgrade at a very reasonable rate - with 5 of us, the 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo was perfect. The shuttle bus is very convenient if you choose to use it. The views are spectacular, the walking and biking trails are great. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First I'd like to say that the staff is very professional, friendly and helpful in every way.

However the units themselves are in terrible shape. I believe this was built in the 70s and it's still in the 70s except for the TVs. The website shows very charming buildings, however that's a very small portion of the property. The good-looking buildings are surrounded by a much older and unattractive buildings All of which have parking spaces in front of them.

Since there's no air conditioning we had to keep the windows open. There are only two windows and one is at the front door. There were three parking spaces that would look directly into our unit ,as they're only 5 feet between the unit and the parking. So any time anyone came or went they were looking right into our unit. Oh yes and this 5 foot space between the front door and the parking spaces was our so-called "deck"

Even worse was the noise from the unit above us. We could hear EVERY footstep, EVERY toilet flush, EVERY EVERYTHING that I cannot mention. The real ICKY factor was the carpet and the curtains. The rest is just old and outdated. The kitchen is minimalist and basic cooking was a challenge. No garbage disposal, hello?

We rent condos every winter for skiing and every summer for hiking (this is just one of 3 this summer) and this by far, the worse ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am sorry the resort did not meet your expectations. I can see that you really did not enjoy your stay. This is the worst review we've received since March.
To clarify for our readers, there are 32 buildings on site with a map available online, the 7 oldest buildings which house all of the deluxe one bedroom condos with one queen, all on lower levels from 101-114 were built in 1986. The last extensive renovation of those 7 buildings took place in 2002. We have not neglected those units since 2002. During my two years as general manager, we have replaced the carpet (2012), touched up the millwork (ongoing), replaced all drapes (June 2013) and replaced the shower and sink fixtures (may 2013). We currently do not have any plans to add a garbage disposal/insinkerator style amenity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We liked this laid-back resort, the staff were friendly and helpful, the apartment was nicely laid-out with lovely views, had everything we needed and the free shuttle bus into Banff was very handy. As it is on the outskirt of the town, there is easy access to some great walks, including the Hoodoos in one direction, and along the river valley into Banff in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hidden Ridge was a great place to stay in Banff. We got an upgrade when we arrived, without asking for one, so our condo was larger than expected and very nice. The loft bedroom upstairs had a flat screen TV and a separate bathroom. Downstairs, there were 2 separate bedrooms, a bathroom and a large game room with flat screen TV, etc.. The hotel gives you a Wii machine when you get there and you can check out lots of movies. The staff was very accommodating in all respects. One night, we were unable to sleep because of a loud party going on. Within five minutes of reporting it, the noise completely stopped. I was very impressed with the way it was handled. Since there was no air conditioning, people had their windows open so it could have been a real problem had it not been taken care of promptly. We appreciated the nice furniture, fireplace, kitchen, and overall cleanliness of the condo and whole resort. It was in a good location, not directly in the middle of town, but just a short distance from there. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A very good, affordable option if you want a self-contained apartment (condo) in Banff. Spacious room, bbq grills to cook on, laundry available to use (though 1 dryer was broken, only 1 working). A little bit out of town, but not too far, just a short drive. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am happy to note that our third party laundry machine provider has fixed this very recent issue with the lower lobby laundry facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.