We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money, staff were superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Lonodn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money, staff were superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed with how friendly and helpful the staff were. They could not do enough for you. The views were amazing from up here and it was all the little touches that made this resort... Firewood and logs were available free, there was free transportation into the town centre (only a 10 min walk away), bike hire was half the cost of what is charged in town.

The only reason I gave it a 4 and not a 5 is because we had a ground floor lodge and the neighbours upstairs were so noisy that I did not sleep well. The bed sunk slightly in the middle too.

Value for money though I would highly recommend this resort and would suggest you ask for a lodge on the first or second floor. I would certainly come back when we return to banff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I will personally ensure that our staff is recognized for their contribuation in making your stay more memorable. I am sorry to hear that the quality of your sleep was not as high as it should have been. We strive for perfection and I am sorry to see that we missed the mark here. The two rooms types that are on the ground level are the deluxe one bedroom condo with one queen and the deluxe one bedroom condo with two queens. All other room types have balconies rather than patios and present upper level accomodation. We look forward to welcoming your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    375
    127
    67
    28
See reviews for
507
415
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Langley, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Located on a ridge overlooking Banff, Hidden Ridge offers some pretty nice views. The hotel is actually more of a motel style with cabins located along a long driveway. Unfortunately during our stay there were quite a few groups partying hard and making noise through the night so a restful night's sleep was elusive. However the accommodations were clean and well equipped. The kitchenette was fully stocked with dish ware as well as pots and pans. The fire places are wood burning and the hotel provides wood free of charge. The hotel is located a bit out of town so a car is very useful for getting around. The hotel is really best suited to families are groups who want to keep expenses down by doing some of their own cooking.

Room Tip: Try to book an upper suite for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at The Hidden Ridge Resort in Banff. We had a wonderful stay and received really good service from the time we checked in till the day we left. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The rooms have fireplaces and one night we found it quite smokey in our room due to someone else having started a fire in their room which was in the same building. When we called the front desk they advised us to start a fire in our fireplace which alleviated the problem. The hot tub area was very nice and provided an awesome view of the mountains. It was nice to have a kitchenette so we could cook some of our own meals. We were also able to use the BBQ. On the weekend we had some difficulty finding a parking spot but they do have an indoor parkade just across the road. Overall we had a great time and would consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad you had a great stay!
As a note to future travellers who have parking needs, unlike some Banff hotels who charge exorbitant fees, parking is complimentary. It is, however, unassigned and limited so free parking is not an invitation to drive one vehicle per person to the resort. We request that you reduce your enviromental impact on the national park and on the property by carpooling. Parking is generally busiest on Saturday nights. We recommend the use of our complimentary ROAM transit passes for public transit around the town of Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Hidden Ridge Resort was beautiful - wonderful spacious units with fireplaces. The pool and hot tub were also amazing, with views overlooking the mountains. However, when I booked this room, I admit I was a bit naïve. I assumed people who visited Banff were mostly interested in "getting away from it all", and viewing the mountains and wildlife. Instead, it seems all the locals come here to party. We stayed here on a weekend - we counted three separate bachelorette parties and one family reunion taking place while we were there. The family reunion set up their tables and chairs in front of our unit, which made for a lot of noise, and made it difficult to get in and out. Management offered to move us to another unit, but the other unit was across from a bachelorette party with lots of alcohol and screaming. So we stayed in our original unit, only be awakened at 3AM by the people in the unit above us, screaming obscenities and knocking over furniture. So bottom line - the facility is wonderful, but the clientele is awful. If you want to party, this is the place to be. If want peace and quiet, avoid this place, especially on weekends. Later on this trip, we stayed in town at the Fox Hotel - it is by far a superior choice.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an upper floor unit. The noise from above will keep you awake at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and the kind words about our facility. Needless to say, I am sad to see that the weekend clientele at the resort provided you with a poor stay and that your expectations of a quiet weekend were not met. We apologize for this uncommon circumstance. Unfortunately, we are not the only hotel in Banff to suffer from noise related issues due to clientele on the weekend (check the poor reviews for other hotels). It is near impossible to screen all bookings prior to arrival and although I admit that we knew a family reunion would be on site during your stay, we did not know that they were going to set up a get together in one of our outdoor public spaces. I can assure you that we did regular patrols over the course of the entire weekend and proactively and reactively stopped all nuisances in a timely manner. To hear that we made efforts to attend to your need for relaxation and quiet with an offered room move into another noisy area gives me more cause for concern. We do endeavour to room our guests into appropriate areas but we had limitations due to our high occupancy on the weekend. In any event, let me apologize again for the noise of the clientele and I can assure you that if you were to return, we would do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chose this hotel with an online living social deal; included breakfast buffet at The Keg and a bottle of wine.
Pros:
Location - not in the town centre; up tunnel mountain; but they provide bus passes
Facilities - spectacular outdoor pool, hot tub and sauna with amazing views over the Banff town
Service - nicest front desk staff I've come in contact with in a long time
Room - kitchenette, free firewood for your indoor fireplace, updated bathroom, bedroom as separate room
Breakfast - part of the deal was free breakfast buffet at the keg - this was one of the best breakfasts ever! Fruit, cereal,yogurt, eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, hash browns, coffee, juice (worth checking out for $15 even if you don't have a the free deal)


Cons:
Location - if you want to walk to town it's a bit of a hike
Restaurant - didn't see one there at all
Rooms - we had a basic room so it had absolutely NO view

We've stayed in numerous hotels in Banff - and this one is a definite keeper. Loved being slightly away from the crazy town, and the pool/hot tub view was amazing.

We'll be back regardless of the deal!

Room Tip: Every room has a kitchenette, so you can bring your own food. There are a few upgraded suites that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. If gives us great pleasure to read your kind words regarding our facility and especially our staff. It is even more important coming from a Trip Advisor traveller with so many reviews and helpful votes! You know your stuff and your confirmation that you liked our stuff makes your review even more valuable to us! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The condos are in a good location, 5 minutes from downtown but some how away from the tourist hoardes...During our stay, incidents like an overflowing toilet happended, but we were surprised by how prompt the problems were resolved. We liked the free fire wood plus the starting kits. The kitchen was kinda spartan, and overall the facilities probably deserve 4 stars... We upgrade it to 5 due to the excellent customer care.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! I actually forwarded this review over to the staff so they could read it directly. I am happy our service response was quick. We endeavour to serve all of our guests in the most timely as possible manner! We also try our best to be as proactive with all of our room maintenance. Since all of our rooms have more than one flat screen TV, a full kitchen with dishwashers, ovens, refrigerators, toasters, kettles, coffee makers, dishes, plates, utensils, among other amenties, it sometimes proves more difficult than a standard hotel room you mind find somewhere else...but we try hard anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Located some way out of the centre of Banff up Tunnel Mountain this was a great place to escape. It's great location for enjoying the mountain air and watching elks walk past our balcony. We shared a upper chalet between four adults easily although would have benefited from an additional sofa, saying that though it was our choice as we realised we didn't need the two chalets originally booked. We stayed for three nights, made use of the outdoor hot pools and cooking facilities and log burner in the accommodation. Staff were friendly and helpful. They do offer bus passes into Banff but we didn't use them as we were too busy exploring the area. Accommodation is clean, comfortable and a great escape location

Room Tip: Look for one of the upper chalets with view over the mountains and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.