We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Great accomodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view, Great accomodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Another weekend in banff for us, and this time we decided to stay at the hidden ridge resort. The exterior architecture of the resort was very impressive and attractice. For those who haven't been, this place is located at the top of one of Banff's mountains approximately 5 minutes away from down town. My boyfriend and I along with a few of our friends stayed in one of their 2 bedroom loft condos, It was very spacious and neatly done came with fireplace as well overall the room was great! The huge outdoor hot tub was just another add on to our amazing experience!
I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    322
    109
    58
    23
See reviews for
430
376
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Hidden Ridge for 7 nights in a one bedroom ground floor unit (compared to some of the other large blocks we saw in the complex it seemed to be an older unit), for a week in mid March.

First the good points:
1) Beautiful view over the neighbouring forest, with frequent wildlife spotting from our living room window.
2) NO road noise.
3) A heated underground carpark for our rental car.
4) It snowed almost every night, but the hard working ground staff ensured all paths were kept swept/salted and clear - a welcome service and in the cold weather not an easy or pleasant task!
5) Very warm, either from the cosy central heating or the more atmospheric open fire.
6) Handy block of shops (including a bottle store) at the bottom of the access road.

Now for the not-so-good:
1) I believe all the 1 bed condos in the older units are "basement" rooms, which means we had noise above and beside us the whole time. The soundproofing is poor, so we could hear people talking, laughing, walking, cooking, pretty much the whole time. Yes, we could have paid for a bigger upper level condo, but we didn't see the point in paying two or three times as much for a bigger room that slept 4 or 6, when it was just the two of us. It would have been nice to have the option to upgrade to a similar sized room on a higher level.
2) The bedroom is small - no wardrobe, and no room for suitcases, the only hanging storage was an open coat closet in the entry and a couple of hooks on the wall. Thank goodness for the ledge around the edge of the room, which served as our storage space.
3) Room servicing was erratic - sometimes we got fresh towels, sometimes they took our dirty towels but didn't replace them, sometimes we ended up with more towels than we knew what to do with!
4) The kitchen lacked cookware. Despite having a full oven there were no oven trays. we requested one and were given a small baking dish, so ended up buying some foil trays so we could cook our meals. There is a microwave but again not many bowls or dishes to actually use.
5) If our neighbours were using their fireplace the smokey smell seemed to seep into our room, which was unnerving. When we used our fireplace (& the free firewood was great) there was no apparent way to dispose of hot ashes - as the fireplace was not cleaned during our stay we just bagged up ashes and left them on the hearth.

Overall it was OK, but I don't think we would stay there again because of the room noise issues. We had a rental car, so the distance to downtown wasn't a problem, but in very snowy weather having to drive everywhere if you wanted to go out for dinner (or freeze waiting for a bus) was less appealing and made a hotel in Banff township seem more sensible.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying the extra for a bigger room on a higher level to avoid "elephants"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I booked the patio Jacuzzi suite loft for my birthday (Room 501). The room was great. We had a great view of Banff from our patio. The hot tub fit 4 people comfortably (6 people snuggly). The nice thing about the suite was when the main hot tub got too crowded (or you wanted to enjoy a drink and tub at the same time) it was good to have the option to take off to the suite and continue tubbing.

The front desk staff were very friendly and great with customers. They were always polite, even when people were obviously breaking rules in the hot tub. The would sort out issues in a very professional manner.

What you need to know if you book this hotel:

This hotel is definitely a party hotel (It is also nearby a hostel) so you should be expected to be woken up at night. There really is not much that can be done about the noise. I am a sound sleeper but my wife was woken up about four times by people yelling and hollering to announce their arrival back at the resort. As long as you are not expecting a "zen, yoga-like experience", the hotel will suit you fine.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for some fun and beautiful views.

Room Tip: Book a patio Jacuzzi room. They are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent one night in a deluxe 1brm condo with 2 queen beds (room 127) last weekend and really enjoyed this place. The condo was spacious for 2, and we will be returning several times this summer as a group of 4 adults, happy to stay in the same sized accommodations.

The kitchen was clean and well equipped (oven even baked perfectly), dining table was neatly set when we arrived, and we were provided with kindling and free firewood to enjoy the fireplace in the living area. Beds were super comfy, there was plenty of space to hang winter coats and set out snow/hiking boots, and the bathroom was compact but functional. The décor was pleasant - nothing high-end, but definitely not the dated motel look and feel that’s unfortunately a common feature of Banff’s more reasonably priced (comparatively!) accommodations. Basically a great set-up!

Check-in and check-out were both easy and quick. Reception staff were always pleasant and offered some tips on our planned walking route for the day. The hot tub and pool area is small given its huge popularity (even at 9am opening) but has great mountain views and is well designed (parents can easily watch kids in the cool pool from the adjoining hot pool). Fresh towels are provided. Outside parking filled up quickly from 4pm, but we had no trouble parking a Honda CRV in one of the 2 underground parking lots about 50m from our room.

The hotel will provide free tickets to use the bus system into town, or it's a pleasant walk along pathways. There's also a very well stocked convenience store an easy 500m walk down the street (part of the Douglas Fir building).

Definitely looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: It’s worth checking out the resort map available on the hotel’s website if you’re fussy about your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

It was hidden away from the busy Banff town but we stayed connected to town via the free shuttle bus pass and stayed connected to the rest of the world via the free wifi. No problems at all getting wifi access. There was a PC next to the laundry room for those without smartphones iPads or laptops We enjoyed our stay in the room so much we didn't want to get out. The hotel can stock up yr fridge on request but we bought our own supplies from Safeway and Nesters 3 bus stops away in town and cooked in the kitchenette. All the appliances and equipment worked well albeit not brand new. I would prefer a frying pan and sharper knives but that would be nit picking. The wood burning fireplace was a great touch. We just love it. They teach you how to properly start and keep a fire going too. They cleaned the room emptied the garbage and provided clean towels everyday the 3 days we were there, unlike what some earlier reviewers say. They responded very quickly with our requests for more soap, more coffee etc. The counter staff were different each time we ventured to the lobby so none stood out but they were all friendly and cheerful. Saw several deer while walking ine if the trails behind the hotel and even spotted one crossing rhe path in the hotelz Had the greatest 4 day 3 night hotel experience ever!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just got back from banff having rented the executive luxury suite at the hidden ridge resort. Resort was great. Small playground, awesome pool and hot tub overlooking the mountains, free firewood, free wifi that actually worked well, and free parking. Parking was tight at times, but we managed with a dodge 3500 mega cab so im sure you will manage too. Close to downtown, just a drive down hill. Staff were very friendly as well. Overall a good rating. The loft could get loud with 4 kids but thats a parenting thing too. Theres a tv up there to keep them busy. Dishw

Room Tip: Check theirwebsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort for three nights while we were skiing in Banff. We were welcomed to a unit with lots of fresh white towels but other areas have not been cleaned in a long time, like dirty fans. We did not see another fresh white towel during our stay and the unit was not cleaned during the three days. The towels that were provided for the swimming pool were in better shape than the towels in the room. For the price that we paid we expected clean accommodation each day with good quality towels. Is this too much to expect for $400.00 per night? This property is rated either #1 or #2 on trip advisor but the management is trying to save money and the property is looking run down.

Room Tip: Banff Springs is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the review and for passing on your disappointment with your stay at check out to our front desk staff. It has allowed me to ascertain the room number while you were staying with us and it will further give me the opportunity to contact you. We certainly never want any of our guests to have a poor stay and I have followed up by inspecting the room directly. I apologize for the dusty exhaust fans in both bathrooms. Their condition was unacceptable and have been attended to. We are also working with our third party laundry provider to ensure that our towels come back fresh, white and fluffy everytime. I am sorry that you did not find value in the premium two bedroom with loft with four queens. We feel that the complimentary parking, kitchens, square footage, wood burning fireplaces, complimentary local and 1-800 calls, 10 cent North American long distance rates, complimentary wireless internet access, complimentary bus passes and coupon booklets (none of which the Banff Springs provides) make us an excellent value option for those who are looking to sleep up to ten.
It is also worthy to note that we are renewing the carpet in all premium two bedroom with loft condos. We have twelve on property and we have already completed two. We will have all the drapery replaced in those units by the end of May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.