We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great views and spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This resort has very nice rooms. Fireplaces with non stop wood, fully equipped kitchens. The only downsides are that parking spots are really hard to come by, with everyone driving trucks and SUVs it can make the parking areas look like a can of sardines. It can be a bit noisy on the weekends, I think this is more so because the resort it located away from downtown so there is definitely less traffic noise but there can be some loud parties. The outdoor hot tub is beautiful and has such an amazing view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    399
    133
    69
    28
See reviews for
541
438
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

4 of us (two adults, two teens) stayed in a loft condo for a week. Very hospitable, great customer service and loft condo is extremely comfy. Log fire really helps to create the cosy atmosphere, kitchen is basic but all that is needed and there were two bathrooms but only the downstairs bathroom had a bath/shower. Deer were right on our doorstep (literally!) almost as soon as we arrived which was extra welcoming. Our loft condo faced the peaceful, snowy Alpine forest which was very fun to explore with some beautiful scenic views looking down from the mountain.

Ski resorts and tourist attractions nearby and also right by the reception area there is a lovely outdoor hot tub where you can relax after a day out in the snow! Gorgeous view from the hot tub. Room service were very polite and friendly. Sleep in the loft condo was OK but there is a cargo night train which runs past the resort and can be heard quite easily when it honks to warn wildlife off the tracks - however, you can call reception to ask for the horn to be changed to a bugle sound (elk call) I believe? Did not try this out but sounds amusing. Condo was lovely and warm - the floor heated up which was lovely (we must have had heating on quite high)! You can order food deliveries if you don't feel like venturing out into Banff town (easily accessible by bus which arrives at Hidden Ridge every 40 mins) or elsewhere for a meal.

Overall, had a wonderful experience at the condo and if only we could afford it, I'm sure our family would return ASAP!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I just loved reading your review. I hope you enjoyed writing it as much as my staff enjoyed reading it. All guests can access the sound of an elk bugle by dialing *44 from the guest room phones. We look forward to welcoming you back to try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Upon arrival we knew right away that we were in for a real treat. The resident deer named "Yan" was rifling through the dumpster in search of his next (and possibly last) meal. We were warned by the friendly staff to watch our backsides, as Yan had been known to take liberty on the guests from time to time. Our keys failed to work on the door several times, which would have been grounds for a lawsuit had Yan decided to saddle up. When we finally did gain access to our home away from home, we were somewhat shocked by the decor, but pleased with the soundproofing, as we only received one noise complaint that night.

After a big night of experiencing the best and worst of downtown Banff, we were all grateful to be battling world class hangovers by a cozy fire. All was well and good until the neighbouring suite started a 2 hour vacuuming marathon, which was reminiscent of the last time I had my brains scraped out with a dremel tool. We sought refuge at the hot tub, which provided a stunning view of the Rocky Mountains, combined with a lethal dose of chlorine and loud children. We staggered back to our room, where I vomited (violently) for the next hour. Whether it was the Eddy Burger I had eaten earlier, the overload of chlorine, or the abrupt comedown from whatever cocktail that Aussie had served us, remains a mystery.

All in all we had a wonderful time, and would definitely recommend this resort to low-lives and executives alike.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We rented a condo at Hidden Ridge for a family ski trip. Three teenage kids and two adults were very comfortable in the one bedroom with loft and roll out couch. The condo was clean and well equipped including full size refrigerator, pots, pans, dishes etc.... We took advantage of outside gas grills and central coin laundry. Both were easy to use, with no wait times. The only change I would add would be a place to hang ski jackets or day packs - maybe some pegs by the entry doors.

I would recommend Hidden Ridge as family friendly. There were several other families checked in. We didn't encounter any "rowdy" groups.

Service was one of the highlights. Very friendly and accommodating at the front desk.

Although we had a rental car, the location was convenient with a free bus ride to town (every 40 minutes or so), or a reasonable 15 - 20 minute walk. Banff is a very walkable community.

Room Tip: We followed a previous Trip Advisor recommendation to choose a second level condo to avoid the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We were situated in a loft condo, with forest-facing entrance. I had read reviews stating that this kind of upper floor condo was the way to go to avoid the noise of people trampling overhead, and we weren't disappointed. We were far enough away from the noise of the outdoor hot tubs, and I was actually quite pleased by how well insulated the rooms were.

I also felt that the rooms were very well supplied with kitchen utensils. Everything was in excellent shape (though the toaster was a little sad). The room was cozy, yet had two beds upstairs and one bedroom below. Felt just like a little alpine cabin. We loved it.

My only complaint was that some of the bathroom towels looked pretty rough compared to others. Mentioned it to the front staff, who were very friendly. Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a 8 night stay in the unit with a view to die for. Spending time in the hot and cold pools with a view of seven mountains and valley that changed constantly worth remembering.
The unit had a games room in the basement that the kids enjoyed. There was a real fire that was a pleasure every evening. It was clean and quiet. My kids enjoyed the atmosphere and made lots of friends from all over the world.
I loved how we were away from the main strip madness, yet only 5 mins away.
Lots of animals to see.
I would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the best view and they can suggest the many options for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are very happy you enjoyed the 8 nights you spent at the resort. we hope to see you again soon! As a note to future travellers, many of our units have great views, though none are 100% guaranteed with a booking unless you book a king jacuzzi suite...and even then, the weather can obstuct the view. As this kind reviewer has suggested, contacting us directly is a good way to be provided with options and to request a view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Hidden Ridge for 5 days. It is a nice little place hidden away in the mountain, but within 20min walking distance from the town.
The 1st 3 nights we stayed with friends in a 3 bed cabin. It was lovely, however, only 2 out of the 3 rooms we made up daily. We also needed to get extra towels as there were not enough for all 6 of us.
On the Sunday, our friends left and we were moving to a smaller cabin. As our cabin was not ready yet, we were given a slightly bigger one which was great. On arrival the tap in the bathroom did not work. Reception had the handyman over in a flash and for those of us from the EU, the tap needed to be pulled out, not just turned.
We were able to borrow DVDs from reception at no cost and had food delivered from one of the restaurants in town which got delivered straight to our door and we were able to charge it to our room.
The view from the hot tub is also amazing.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and no request is to big. It is not 5 start, but I would def go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin close to reception if you go in winter. Makes to walk to and from the hot tub a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. The title "Little Piece of Heaven" is excellent! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we were able to showcase not only one but two room types to you while you were here. We've decided to replace all the faucets in many of our rooms. Hopefully this will prevent any future issues with them. And, we've just bought 12 new releases that will soon be added to our DVD collection for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.