We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We rented a lower level one bedroom condo. Not the most flashy place to stay in Banff but we are not too picky on aesthetics as long as its clean and comfortable, which it was. The staff were friendly and we really enjoyed and appreciated the extra touches like free firewood, kindle and a bus pass with a bus stop nearby. The view was amazing with the surrounding mountains. It was great to be out the main streets because we were visited by deer and elk every morning by our back patio. The hot tub has got to have one of the best views around. The only downside was that we could hear every footstep upstairs. They weren't trying to be loud but you can hear everything. Overall, a very enjoyable experience and I highly recommend this resort.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    366
    125
    65
    27
See reviews for
495
412
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at his resort in May 2012.
We arrived on time for check in and our room was not ready. They kindly upgraded our room to one that was ready. The cabins are rustic and pleasant, the setting lovely.
Squirrels and Chipmunks abound. The outdoor hot tub was fantastic as the view of the Rockies is majestic. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We traveled here for our winter vacation this year Feb. 15-22nd. Rented one of the games rooms as we have many friends and family rotating in and out during our weeks saty and figured the extra space would be put to good use. We were right. The rooms are not the cheapest you will find in town, and us being here on a holiday we paid a little more then we'd have preferred, but at the end of the day you get what you pay for and we felt like we got just about that much from the resort.

This resort is just u[ the hill from Banff, a 5 min drive or a 10 min walk down, (30 min walk up or take the bus, LOL) We found the grounds busy upon initial arrival as it was the Family day holiday weekend. Though busy the staff were more then attentive to serve us and aid us in any way they could. Front of house staff greeted kindly and answered all questions and informed us that if we were skiing the lift tickets were 10$ cheaper there then @ the hill. We found our chalet and got parked. (If here in a busy season and able to bring a vehicle less then 6' tall so you can park below. Our big trucks didn't fit) Once parked we unloaded our first load of equipment and made our way into the chalet passed the 1 of 3 supplied BBQ areas. (AWESOME!) Once opened we found the chalte to be quite spacious, the kitchen is not meant for more then 1 person to do the cooking, but fully stocked with more then ample utensils and equipment to live for the week. The lowest floor had a bubble hockey table, a large tv and a hide-a-bed (this is the only negative, but I will get to it later) The middle floor had 2 - queen size bedrooms and a washroom. The main floor had the kitchen, a living room, complete with a real wood burning fireplace (with an additional hide-a-bed) and stars leading to the 4th floor loft with it's own washroom as well. This would do us just fine. Made a dinner, started a fire and enjoyed the remainder of the night.

During our stay there were obviously a few "parties" going on but these chalets are quite quiet and no noise inside was heard, we even got a little on the loud side a few nights playing games and there were no issues.

On day 2 we found out our dishwasher did not work, after a call to the front of house they attempted to fix it while we were gone during the day, they were unable to fix it, so they replaced the entire unit instead. This was awesome, and created no issues for any of us nor our stay, thumbs up!

The rooms are cleaned every 3 days, with bed's being made daily. I understand if you'd like a more thorough cleaning in between days a call is all it takes. Rooms were kept up and we were kept quite happy. Also keep in mind if your run low on fire wood a call to the front desk will get you an additional arm load.

The hot tub/pool and sauna here are in an amazing spot. Great view, generally a fair bit of room (there is a rush hour post ski hills closing). They were used nightly and quite valuable to our stay.

The only "negatives" or more accurately put "things to work on" I would have for this resort during our weeks stay would be
1) Hide-a-bed couches are not very comfortable as a couch and horribly uncomfortable to sleep on, had to remove mattresses and sleep on the floor, could use new.
2) Thought it would be interesting if there were to be a large "community" firepit somewhere on the grounds to have a fire and a drink outside, possibly with other guests and enjoy the out doors.
3) Parking on "streets" in the resort can get a little tight, would be nice if those with smaller vehicles were encouraged to park below in the spaces allotted.

Other then that, which is VERY minor, we found this resort to be a fantastic place to stay and a must-stay if going with a larger group of people. We shall be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: The games room has TONS of extra space, can sleep 10, but maybe bring an air matress or any with bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week at Hidden Ridge. We rented a one bed with loft for a family of four which was very spacious (three double beds, two bathrooms), well appointed, rustic but comfortable. Loved the log burning fire and the view of the woods from the front door (regular sightings of mule dear from the doorstep).

Resort is about 1km from town and better for it as your really feel you are in the wilderness; hotel offers free bus tickets to downtown (service every 40 mins), so no issues there.

We were there over a public holiday weekend, so resorts was very busy but no real issues; yes, outdoor parking can be tricky, but we always found ample parking in the underground heated garage.

Hot tubs were always busy, but well worth a visit. No real noise problems in spite of the many groups of teenage guests; horns of passing trains were the only disturbances at night, but to be honest. this just adds to the atomosphere).

Staff friendly and helpful, Banff has plenty going on in the evenings and the skiing was spectacular in Sunshine and particularly Lake Louise. Recommend taking the Bow Valley parkway to Lale Louise rather than Highway 1 as scenery is worth the slower pace.

Highly recommended and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were in 217 and would recommend for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at Hidden Ridge for 4 nights in Jan 2013 with my husband and 17 year old daughter in a 2 bedroom loft room. My daughter was happy to take over the loft room with it's two double beds and own bathroom. The bedroom downstairs was small but comfortable. We had a lovely view from our balcony of the trees with mountains in the background. Each evening we had Elk walking past our balcony often lying down or just standing while we watched and photographed them.
The fireplace makes the room very cozy. Firewood is freely available to collect yourselves or if you call reception they would bring some to you.
When I made the booking I ordered some breakfast item's and ingredients for "smores" to be available in the room. This was a good idea as, not having a car, it was not very convenient to go out for breakfast.
We used the Roam bus to travel to and from town. It is free to guests and passes every 20 minutes so it was very convenient. There are two routes but is is easy to connect routes so that you can access the Gondola & spa's and Banff Springs Hotel. We did not feel the need for a car.
Some night we did not feel like going out. There is a booklet in the room which list dozens of restaurants and their menu's (including a bottle shop). You simply rang the service ordered whatever you want and they collect it and bring it to your door. All for about a $5 fee plus about $2 for every additional stop. Great service and great value.
The staff on reception could not have been more accommodating, especially the young girl from Perth (sorry can't remember her name).
Hidden Ridge is out of town so it may not suite everyone but we loved it for it's peace and solitude.
I would highly recommend it and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for the excellent and comprehensive review. We certainly appreciate having the To Go magazine in our rooms for those who don't feel like cooking. It is great to offer access to several great restaurants for those who want to stay in and would prefer not to use the kitchen amenities. It is also a good resource for those going into town, as they have the chance to preview menus from the comfort of their rooms. We also have other menus at the front desk for our Best of Banff restaurants as well. The coupon booklet we provide at arrival includes coupons from several local restaurants. Certainly Banff is a place that you should never go hungry! We've been sure to recognize Laraine, our front desk agent from Perth of your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautiful Resort. We got a great deal in the off season, and enjoyed an evening of relaxing by the fire and enjoying the view from the great pool. The rooms were clean, and they provided almost everything you could need for cooking/food. We left items there after we left and the staff was excellent at assisting us to get it returned. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We remember you and your group well. I showed Laraine the picture you left. She passes on her kind words. "The picture was beautiful and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay here. It was really lovely to get to know you!" We hope to welcome you back soon. I'll try to force Laraine to stay forever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We would just like to say a huge Thank you to all the staff at The Hidden Ridge for going out of their of way with making us feel so special during the week of our winter wedding in Banff. We had a few guests fly over from Australia....and they were just blown away by the magic and beauty that The Hidden Ridge holds with the quiet atmosphere and breathtaking views of the mountains and Banff. We have stayed at The Hidden Ridge in 2007....and when we picked Banff as our wedding location, we wanted to be able to share accomodation this with our family and friends. The night after our wedding we booked a private jacuzzi suite.....and arrived to the room with all the little extra touches that just made our first night as husband and wife even more special. We plan on making a trip over next year to relive the magic. Thank you again for all your help and friendly staff.......xx see you again soon

Room Tip: Highly recommend the private jacuzzi suites for those special getaway moments.....and also for the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.