We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We would just like to say a huge Thank you to all the staff at The Hidden Ridge for going out of their of way with making us feel so special during the week of our winter wedding in Banff. We had a few guests fly over from Australia....and they were just blown away by the magic and beauty that The Hidden Ridge holds with the quiet atmosphere and breathtaking views of the mountains and Banff. We have stayed at The Hidden Ridge in 2007....and when we picked Banff as our wedding location, we wanted to be able to share accomodation this with our family and friends. The night after our wedding we booked a private jacuzzi suite.....and arrived to the room with all the little extra touches that just made our first night as husband and wife even more special. We plan on making a trip over next year to relive the magic. Thank you again for all your help and friendly staff.......xx see you again soon

Room Tip: Highly recommend the private jacuzzi suites for those special getaway moments.....and also for the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    321
    110
    56
    23
See reviews for
427
376
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was here for a girls weekend and our room was incredible. We were located very close to the hot pools which we used several times a day. Great views excellent location! Access to the Roam bus extremely handy for getting into town. Kitchen offered a nice alternative to eating out every meal. Will definitely stay again and would highly recommed it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for the review. We're happy that you enjoyed your midweek getaway! We would be happy to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed the weekend of Feb 9-11. My wife and I stayed in a premier suite with a hot tub right on our deck. The view was incredible while sitting in the tub. The room is just right for 2, full kitchen if you want to use it. Room was clean, maids left towell art, bath robes to use and a nice fireplace. A bottle of wine was delivered to our room 10mins after we checked in with a card wishing us a great weekend. We had a great romantic weekend and will be returning again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pkay, I'll be short and to the point.
We stayed at Hidden Ridge in the beginning of February 2013.

The pro's: Great location, beautiful scenery, awesome hot tub, and comfy beds. We stayed in a condo with a games room, it was very nice. Clean, spacious, and fit 7 of us comfortably. The free bbq propane was great too. Wood burning fireplace with lots of wood available.

The con's: Our fridge BARELY kept things cold, we had to call for repair and even then it hardly improved. The hot tub became extremely crowded at night, standing room only. The toilet needed to be bolted down to the floor, as it wobbled every time you sat down (and I'm not a large person). Parking was very tight.


Overall we had a really good stay, fridge issues aside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'm guessing this resort has got most of its high ratings by people who've stayed in the loft-style suites. If you're not travelling with a group, and are, perhaps, a couple like us with only need for one bed.. please, don't go for the "Deluxe one bedroom condo" - there is nothing deluxe at all about it! We were extremely dissapointed that our hopes for a peaceful vacation away together were let down.

Located beneith the lovely loft-style condos, and sharing a wall with the other basement suite, the one bedrooms are basically the equivalent to a dank basement. My main complaint was with the terrible sound proofing; you can hear people above you, AND beside you as if they're in the same room as you. And we're not talking loud raging parties, basic conversations and laughter are crystal clear, not to mention other couples "intimate" activities at 4am! YEESH! Not so nice when you're wanting to hit the mountain to snowboard early in the a.m. ! I've seen management respond on Trip advisor that these are the most "economical" choices at their resort.. but really, for a couple with the need for only one bed what other choice is there? Spring for the deluxe jaccuzi suite or just all together avoid staying here. Management tried to "find something suitable" when we complained, but all they offered was another basement style suite at their sister "Fox Hotel"... ? not helpful! And it takes about 2-3 calls to the front desk for them to really do anything about getting other occupants to quiet down the noise after "quiet time".

Smaller things need improvement as well, the decor really needs some updating, the carpet in our suites looked like indoor / out door carpet, the ceiling lights didn't work and paint peeling off the ceiling just added to the dungeon atmosphere. And the "free firewood" provided for the fireplace was all damp, wow that was awesome for smoking up the place once the kindling burnt off.

To be fair, I'll mention the resort has a few nice amenities such as the hot-tub with a view and the dry sauna is nice too. The staff was overall polite and friendly, yet needed some insistant nudging to take action about the noise. So if you're looking to stay with a group you might have a great time here, but if you're a couple like us please take a look at the 1 star comments on this place to save yourself the dissapointment.

Room Tip: Avoid one bedroom deluxe suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hidden Ridge was a great place to stay in Banff. Affordable as we split cost with another couple and were able to bring quite a bit of food. We had a one bedroom plus loft and was big enough for four. Altough set up to sleep 6, it would be a squeeze to put 6 adults there.Free wi-fi, free fire wood. Had a full kitchen so we were able to cook dinner most nights (as we ate out at lunch time either at the ski hills or in town). Very close to Sunshine Village and Norquay about a 45 min drive to Lake Louise (but an easy drive). Absolutely gorgeous scenery and a couple of very friendly deer. Saw a number of elk around the resort as well. Staff was very good, condo was very clean. Hot tubs fabulous view and perfectly hot! I gave a 4 out of 5 because of basic maintenance. They need to start fixing the little things soon or the resort will become run down. For instance, the screen on the fireplace was bent so difficult to keep sparks in, the exhaust fan over the over didn't have a cover, the microwave plate supposed to rotate but didn't, the hinges on the door of the dishwasher not holding door up properly, one lamp shade had a hole in it, toilet needed minor adjustment to work properly, fan in the bathroom wasn't working properly ( was fixed when we told them about it but hadn't been working for a long time as the finish had come off the door and around the mirror from humidity). I would recommend that they hire a person to go into every room at the resort one a month and test EVERYTHING to see if working. Please don't take the above as a recommendation not to stay there it was still a great place to stay.
The Skiing was absolutely phenomenal in the mountains. So glad we went. Big 3 lift ticket worked well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Loved hidden ridge!
We had a 2 room apartment with loft which was great because we had more room to move around.
The staff were so great. They booked our bus tickets to Calgary, brought firewood to our room, brought more coffee over when we ran out and offered great advice on a whole range of dining and activities.
They also got our fire going for us on one particularly cold night. It did keep us warm but there seemed to be something wrong with it as our room filled up with smoke even with the flume thing open.
It's a little bit far out of the way compared to the other hotels but its only about a 10 minute walk into downtown.
The hotel also offers the cards that get you on the bus for free which is great.
They have a lot of movies and board games for free at the front desk although I wish they had trivial pursuit as I love to beat my family with my knowledge skills.
I didn't get to try out the Hot pools but they looked fabulous.
My bed was comfy but as I was in the loft it got very hot so I had to sleep with the windows open but that's not a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I can guarantee you that we read all of our reviews and I can also guarantee our staff were very happy to read your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.