We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Staff were amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Loved hidden ridge!
We had a 2 room apartment with loft which was great because we had more room to move around.
The staff were so great. They booked our bus tickets to Calgary, brought firewood to our room, brought more coffee over when we ran out and offered great advice on a whole range of dining and activities.
They also got our fire going for us on one particularly cold night. It did keep us warm but there seemed to be something wrong with it as our room filled up with smoke even with the flume thing open.
It's a little bit far out of the way compared to the other hotels but its only about a 10 minute walk into downtown.
The hotel also offers the cards that get you on the bus for free which is great.
They have a lot of movies and board games for free at the front desk although I wish they had trivial pursuit as I love to beat my family with my knowledge skills.
I didn't get to try out the Hot pools but they looked fabulous.
My bed was comfy but as I was in the loft it got very hot so I had to sleep with the windows open but that's not a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I can guarantee you that we read all of our reviews and I can also guarantee our staff were very happy to read your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    351
    116
    63
    25
See reviews for
468
392
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I just spent four nights here (feb1-4/2013)
Nice little get away , we'll equipped kitchens , great wood burning fireplaces and a great view from a King suite with the hot tub on the balcony . We wanted a quiet place to kick back and enjoy each other and do a little dining and clubbing in banff . We took in the spa at the Fairmont hotel , that was a great experience . The staff at hidden ridge were accommodating and didn't bother us at all . The places were clean , but looking a little worn . Thanks to the staff , we enjoyed ourselves .

Room Tip: King loft suite was great , but pricey .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights with our kids and grandkids over Christmas. We rented the 1 deluxe bedroom with loft.We had enough space for all of us ( 5 adults & 2 little kids); however the sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable.The location is excellent with a bus stop at your door step to get you to the centre of Banff and the resort provides a free pass for all the guests for the lenght of your stay. The heated underground garage was very much appreciated. The hot pools are excellent with the best view of the rockies. The service was excellent. We highly recommend this resort however we have to mention that we had an issue with the fireplace. This type of unit is located above another unit and the firplaces are connected which caused us to be smoked in as soon as the people beneat us started their fireplace. The fireplace trap didn't close properly. We were then offered 2 suggestions: either to constantly use the fireplace or to block it completely. We chose to block it. When we checked out we mentioned our disappointment about the fireplace and we were told that they know about the problem which happens when the temperature is very cold. They should try to solve the problem or advise people once they check in to avoid having to open the windows at -25 degrees to get rid of the smoke and the smell.

Room Tip: Ask about the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words. The fireplace issue is a complex one and not one we encounter often. I can understand how it can impact the quality of your stay. Every unit of the resort has a wood burning fireplace. None of the chimneys are connected though some room types have venting caps in close proximity to one another. Depending on wind, weather and barometric pressure, we can have a room that gets smoky due to fires a neighbouring room is having. Rest assured that we have cleaning done as recommended by the National Fire Protection Association and that we are working on options for prevention of this issue. As recently as last December, we consulted an expert to provide us with possible options. Even the expert is unable to provide a conclusive solution other than refurbishing the entire hotel with gas burning fireplaces, which, based on our guests' appreciation of the rustic and homey nature of having wood burning fireplaces, is unlikely to occur and we have yet to action anything. I encourage you to touch base with me, Peter, before your next stay at the resort and I can elaborate on our progress further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Hidden Ridge with my daughter on a ski trip. Our suite was a one bedroom condo that consisted of a living area with fireplace open to a small kitchen. There were two queen beds in the bedroom.
I had high expectations of Hidden Ridge considering the reviews on trip advisor. Many aspects of Hidden Ridge met or exceeded my hopes while other aspects fell short.

The things that met or exceeded my expectations were:
The location was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Banff.
The resort was well managed and staff were helpful and friendly.
There are many extras such as the BBQs and fireplace that made things more enjoyable.
We had a deer on our doorstep every morning.
The hot tub is large, hot and had and excellent view.
Value for money.

Things that fell short:
The carpet was worn and looked tattered.
The bed was uncomfortable.
Our room was next to the parking garage and every time the door opened/closed it was noisy.
Our room was at the far end of the resort so it was a long cold walk back from the hot tub.

I suspect we will stay at Hidden Ridge again when we are in Banff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby/hot tub. Ask for a room away from the parking garage door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for the review Stan C, we are happy you decided to stay with us at the HIdden Ridge again and that your stay was better reviewed this time around. Your first review was 'average', your second review was 'very good' and we aim to make your third review 'excellent'! I'd like to note that we are still in a carpet renewal project at the resort and the unit you stayed in is earmarked to have new carpet installed at some point soon. In that particular room type, 8 out of 18 rooms have been completed. We'll be sure to have you in one that has been done next time. Unfortunately, none of the deluxe one bedroom condos with two queen beds (the room type you stayed in this time around) are very close to the hot tub. Our houseman would be happy to offer you rides back to your room with the assistance of one of our trusty golf carts. Thanks again for the review Stan C and we will 'wow' you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Whilst there are many good holiday condos in the Banff area, the staff at Hidden Ridge make this property outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
The rooms are comfortable and the huge hot tub is a plus.
I will be back again!

Room Tip: Two floor condos are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I arrived for a week at Hidden Ridge over Christmas. Check in was nice and smooth and we were given some information about Banff and our free bus pass for the week.
We were in room 107 which was a lower level room that overlooks the valley. The room had a separate bedroom, kitchen and lounge area, more than enough room for the two of us. The bathroom was also a good size. When we arrived there was a supply of kindling and firewood for the fireplace. When we needed more we called into reception on the way in or out and it was delivered to our room.
There were deer that walked around the property which was a real treat to see. We didn't have a car, there is no way we would have driven with all the ice and snow on the roads, we're just not used to those conditions. We used the bus regularly. Only takes about 5 minutes to get in to town and whilst they only come every 40 minutes it never seemed like we had to wait too long we just did a bit of planning as to when we wanted to leave Hidden Ridge or town.
In town we went to Safeway and bought some supplies to cook breakfasts and for a Christmas Day bbq. We needed a pan to cook some eggs in so just went to reception and they gave us one. There was also plenty of equipment to cook on the bbq.
Needless to say it was freezing at this time of year and being from Australia we were not used to these types of temperatures at all. But the scenery was worth it and I'm glad we stayed at Hidden Ridge and not in town as we had plenty of open space to play in the snow and attempt to build a snowman.
The spa and pool area was lovely and the water in the spa was nice and hot. Getting out was the hard part as it was so cold but it was worth it.
There's a nice reception area with a large fire place. They also had coffee and hot chocolate available. We would inside here sometimes when waiting for the bus or a tour shuttle to pick us up so we could stay out of the cold.
The property as a whole is very nice and the service was very good. We would love to return to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I managed a weekend getaway. Simply put, it was fantastic. From the great staff to the magnificent views from the hot tub, our stay couldn't have been better...well, maybe if it was a little longer. I'd highly recommend the hotel to anyone, specifically the Premier King Jacuzzi Condo. The personal hot tub was a nice touch after a day of skiing. It is a little off the beaten track but well within the reach of all amenities which was exactly what we were looking for. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;