We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best In Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our stay at Hidden Ridge was nothing but exceptional, from the friendly people at the front desk to the beautiful room, and all the amenities they had. I would highly recommend Hidden Ridge to anyone looking for a place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    619
    342
    114
    63
    25
See reviews for
460
387
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that's not in town, this is the place. The view is fantastic and it's a nice quiet location. It's not too far of a drive into Banff or to other tourist attractions. The front desk staff were very accommodating. They upgraded us to an apartment style room with a full kitchen, for not much more money. The outdoor hot tubs are very nice. We never had any problems with other guests as some of the other reviews had. Don't let their reviews deter you from staying here! That kind of thing can happen anywhere. It's very family friendly. We have a six month old girl and there were no issues. The cleaning staff could learn some lessons in patience though. I've never stayed at a place where they clean while you're in the room, even after we asked them to come back. They could have done the next room first and come back when we had left. Other than that, we had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry that the housekeepers interrupted you while you were in the room. On a future stay, I can recommend that you let us know what time you would prefer to have service done in the unit, we are happy to take such requests at the front desk and we can ensure to pass that on to the housekeeping team. We strive for perfect stays! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

What an experience! The staff at the resort are lovely and friendly people willing to go above and beyond the call of duty! The hot pool has an amazing view and the challets are lovely. Thank you team for such an awesome stay xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you fo the review. I regularly go over Trip Advisor reviews with the staff and they'll be very happy to read your kind words! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

There are definitely much better properties in Banff to stay at but this one just happens to have some of the larger units.

I don't blame the service as it was all reasonable, but we stayed in one of the 2 bedroom loft units and the heating in there is horrendous! The rooms are both located on the bottom floor but the temperatures swing wildly.

Room 1: Our room was like a sauna oven because I think we were beside the furnace and we ended up having to open up the window half way through the night to cool down.

Room 2: The other room was like a fridge because it didn't have any vents and our friends had to wear hoodies, extra pants and touqes at night to stay warm.

Loft: The loft area was also an oven because naturally all the hot air rises while the main living area was colder because all the air rose to the top.

We were a group of 30 something professionals celebrating a birthday weekend and I would really not advise groups of 8 to stay here. None of you will sleep very well unless you all enjoy extreme heat or cold. Also, be aware that the front desk will do all in its power to ensure that you aren't throwing any raging parties (which I'm sure could be a problem here). I can't really blame them for it, but come on, don't assume all big groups will be guilty of having ragers until it actually happens. That was something that irked us for sure and I will not be returning to this establishment for that reason. I would not recommend this place for groups unless you are a couple that doesn't mind being outside of the townsite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here late September/early October. By far it was the best holiday we have ever taken. We did not want to leave, which is rare for us... usually we are ready to head back home. But not from here, this felt like home! The fireplace every night, watching movies borrowed from the front desk, the comfy beds and spacious bathroom - everything was wonderful! The staff was incredible. They heard we were here for a late anniversary trip, they came to our room and delivered wine glasses, a bottle of red wine and a card. It was great! We will never have to wonder where to stay in Banff again (we come every year). Thanks Hidden Ridge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I found it was quite small, and quite high in price. Rooms are average and dated. Free firewood and sauna, pool. Good experience but not my favourite. Would recommend it if you wanted to spend 300$ a night for 4 adults.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Service and amenities are great but if you're only looking for a 1 BR unit, expect to stay in an older ground level unit (no view) without great sound proofing. The larger units looked newer/updated and much nicer.

Room Tip: Choose a larger unit if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.