We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but would try another hotel next time..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but would try another hotel next time..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I found it was quite small, and quite high in price. Rooms are average and dated. Free firewood and sauna, pool. Good experience but not my favourite. Would recommend it if you wanted to spend 300$ a night for 4 adults.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    359
    121
    65
    26
See reviews for
482
399
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Service and amenities are great but if you're only looking for a 1 BR unit, expect to stay in an older ground level unit (no view) without great sound proofing. The larger units looked newer/updated and much nicer.

Room Tip: Choose a larger unit if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife, daughter (6 yrs old) and I stayed Nov 15 for 5 nights and had a wonderful stay. In addition to a spacious 3 level 4 Queen bedded over 3 bedroom unit, the staff were extremely accommodating and nice to experience a resort that was self catering essentially with nicely equipped kitchen and washer/dryer - particularly handy for the ski clothing after long day at Lake Louise slopes.

Added touches that many resorts nickel and dime for - wireless internet, DVD library (huge selection of all categories at front desk), 24/7 coffee/hot chocolate in lobby, firewood for fireplace, newspaper, etc were generously provided free of charge and clearly got the sense the property was more about guest satisfaction then frustratingly charging for these incidental items.

The location while some descriptions had it out of the way, in reality it is a nice 3 min drive and had no problem finding free parking in Banff - if not for snowy conditions would have been a nice walk....really not a big deal at all and nice wooded mountain surroundings, well, who can complain?

Overall the resort was absolutely perfect and very friendly and accommodating staff with late check out and every other small request along the way. Only suggestion might be to have couple more kitchen sponges/paper towels for kitchen and perhaps single use laundry detergent in the units that have washer and dryer. Oh, and perhaps a few more kids books available for loan in lobby...as I learned when we got there the Banff library would not even issue temporary loan or card to non residents which was a little frustrating as families can only carry so many books on long trip and not wanting 6 yr old glued to too much tv/dvd/video games over a 5 nt stay.

It was nice to pick up food and basic groceries to have so we did not have to drag ourselves out after returning from long day of sking and with great fireplace to enjoy...one word of traveler advice - nothing to do with hotel, but found the price of groceries/wines etc at the local supermarket in Banff about 20% higher on exact same items then same brand store in Canmore (on way into Banff) - might recommend worth stopping there if approaching from Calgary to Banff. Premium for being located in National Park perhaps?!

Other than that...again, very well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Highly recommend....and definitely will return!

Room Tip: The 4 bedded three story room was fantastic...we stayed in number 402 and it was absolutely perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a place i would and i will return too,the Hidden Ridge Resort is located a nice distance from the town of Banff so that you can have peace and quite and you are only minutes from all places of interest.The employees were of a great help and carried out their jobs with pride,we got a three story apartment and have to say it was clean and tidy and to a high standard,it was spotless.We also enjoyed the log fire later that night after we come out off the hot pools,this resort has in deed put a lot of effort into making quests welcome.The Hidden Resort is also a great place for young families and pets, the next time we visit the resort we will make use of the bus service that has a very good time table into and back from the town of Banff.
Try this place out,its excellent

Room Tip: we were in a corner suite and had no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

First of all I'd like to say that the employees here are friendly and helpful. We paid just about $200 a night for a three story, large apartment style place. There were 4 queen beds and a large loft, fireplace, kitchen and washer/dryer. There were only two of us so it was much more room than we needed. The bad news is that the carpet was filthy and threadbare, the neighboring units can be quite loud and the "under the stars" hot pool had a lot of children. The community sauna didn't work on the nights we were there. It never even got warm.
Had the carpet been clean I would have given 4 stars.

Room Tip: If you don't want screaming children around this may not be the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am happy to note that we had every carpet in the resort cleaned in October 2012 (unfortunately after your stay) and we have had meetings to discuss the replacement of all carpets in all twelve of our Premium Two Bedroom with Loft Condo's with 4 queens. We have been given the go ahead to do this and between sampling, purchasing, delivery and installing - we hope to get this done as soon as we can in order to ensure that your and our other guests's future stays are improved! It is worthy to note that we put new carpet in 44 of our units in 2012 (but unfortunately, not in any 4 queen units). We look forward to showcasing our new carpet to you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the best place to stay in Banff, for sure. I booked based on the reviews and was not disappointed! It's a hidden gem. I've been to Banff many times and this was by far the best.

My favourite part was the outdoor hot pools with view of the mountain valley and the town of Banff. Breathtaking. They were never too busy and you can alternate between hot and warm allowing you to stay a long while.

It's not right downtown, but I preferred that. There's a free bus to take you into town, you can walk, or it's a short drive.

We had an upper unit loft style condo. Large and has everything, kitchen, two bathrooms (1 + 1/2), balcony, wood fireplace and 3 queen beds. We stayed as a couple, but if you could easily have two more couples in there. Full kitchen was great as it saves money and time. Great if you're doing a lot of driving, you can prepare food to take with you so you don't have to eat fast food or stop. Take advantage of the communal BBQ's too.

Also enjoyed the wood fireplace, although, the wood was wet and it was near impossible to get a good fire going.

The only complaint I have is that our unit smelled like smoke (from the fireplace not tobacco). We assumed it was from the unit below as when it was occupied we smelled it, and didn't when it wasn't. All my clothes smelled like smoke. You get over it pretty quick though, once you start enjoying this place and it's beautiful surroundings!

Oh, and there was an Aussie lad working the front desk and he was quite rude. We just ignored him.

Great hotel/resort. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband, 9 year old daughter and I stayed here for about 4 nights in July 2012. The accomodation was okay. Very nice kitchen area fully stocked with pots, pans, cutlery, etc. The "living room" was not great. Uncomfortable couch made it hard to relax and watch tv. Also, the smell of the wood fireplace took a bit getting used to. The positives: a magnificent view of the Rockies from the very nice funky shaped hot tub and pool area. Free DVDs from the front desk. Helpful staff. Grills to cook outside. Some wild singles showed up towards the end of our visit. I would have hated to be stuck next to them. Maybe ask to make sure no bachelor or bachelorette parties will be there.

Room Tip: We stayed on bottom floor. Maybe top floor is sunnier. Don't really know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.