We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Hinckley, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lively resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay in this resort which had a lovely view of the mountains from the outdoor pool. There was a buzz about the place, which sometimes strayed into the rowdy, but people were having a good time, so that was OK. The suites were a little dark, but the weather was so good that we could sit outside on the small porch in front of our room. The units were well presented with flowers etc. and there was a full kitchen inside, but no safe.
The resort gave you a free shuttle bus token for the bus into Banff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    366
    125
    65
    27
See reviews for
495
412
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom bedsit apartment in the middle of August. The weather was fantastic for our 3 day stay but we needed all the lights on in the apartment at all times as it was so dark and everything (bathroom, kitchen tiles, floor all walls) were brown. Very dated! The bed was massively uncomfortable, and the kitchen and the utensils provided were dated, felt unclean and need replacing. However, the staff were very friendly. We were out all the time, seeing all the fabulous scenery around Banff trying not to spend any time at all in the apartment. Would not stay there again. Was the worst place we stayed on our honeymoon, and cost the most per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am sorry you felt this way about your stay. We want our honeymooners to have a great time here and provided we know it is your honeymoon, we work towards providing a complimentary bottle of wine. The decor in the one bedroom condos with one queen was recently upgraded with re-upholstered dining chairs and carpets. I gather from your other reviews that you stayed in Revelstoke and Vancouver during your trip and as a Banff insider, I can see why the Hidden Ridge would have been the most expensive property during your travels. Banff National Park can be an expensive place to stay, especially in August. I am happy you had great weather while you were here, bright sunny days sometimes lead to extra lighting requests. We are happy to provide anything upon request. We are constantly updating old utensils as we need them. Having 107 kitchens stocked with forks, spoons, knives, spatulas, flippers, large knives, steak knives and knife blocks, pasta forks, among other items can make things challenging at times but we do our best. As a note to our future honeymooners, might I recommend the king jacuzzi suite for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Banff for a wedding and we stayed in one of the condos. It was a perfect base - the house was spacious and spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable and there were wonderful views of the mountains from the hot tubs. It's a little way out of town (about a 20 minute walk) but there is a regular shuttle bus service so getting to restaurants, shops etc is very easy. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone staying in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our second stay in Hidden Ridge Resort and I hope it won't be our last. It is situated in a beautiful location, away from the bustle of Banff township, but close enough to be easily accessible - especially with the free bus service that runs from the front of the resort directly into town.
There are various sizes of condos, we were in a three bedroom one split over three levels, two queen bedrooms and a bathroom with walk-in shower on the lower floor, kitchen/sitting room on the ground floor with a balcony outside, and a mezzanine floor with a queen bed and bathroom above. Each bedroom has a flat screen TV in addition to the one in the living area, which also has a DVD player attached.
The condo was extremely well equipped, with all the standard appliances, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave, full size cooker, kettle, coffee maker, etc, and a more than adequate array of crockery, cooking utensils, glassware, pots & pans, etc.
The weather was very warm during our stay (mid Sept), so we had little need of heating, which was a shame as there is a lovely log fire, with free logs, provided. In addition the condo is heated by a warm air system.
The condo was beautifully clean on arrival, lots of towels, which were replaced every day, bed linen, on the delightfully comfortable beds, was changed every three days.
The resort has three barbecue areas, each with a very large gas fired BBQ and seating close by. BBQ utensils provided in reception. There is also a very large outdoor hot tub, as well as a similar sized cooler tub and a sauna. The view from the hot tubs can only be described as stunning!
The staff at the resort were very welcoming from the first and were unfailingly friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We stayed 6 nights at Hidden Ridge and were truthfully sorry to leave, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is a gem. Beautifully rustic resort, situated among the beautiful trees, mountains and valley of Banff. Self-catering accommodation was well set up, with TV's in each bedroom as well as the lounge. The rooms had spectacular views. The beds were uber comfortable and the bathrooms were well set up. The staff were very helpful and the general manager introduced himself and made sure we were well looked after. Personal service at its best!

Room Tip: Our room was right next to Reception, so very convenient. Traffic was a little congested at times, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

To me, this was a nice, but very average hotel. I must admit that the price, compared to other hotels in Banff was good. The staff were friendly, the rooms fairly clean (though the many mosquitoes in the room was annoying - odd for September) but there was just nothing better than average here. In fact, we found the ceilings / floors to be amazingly thin to the point that neither of us slept very well simply due to the noise from above us. Every step sounded like the people above were coming through the floor, the water from their bathroom sounded like it was flooding our room, and their bedroom "activity" could be clearly heard. If staying here, I would HIGHLY recommend making sure you are on the top floor.

The hot tubs were OK - the views of the mountains somewhat obstructed but nice none-the-less. Unfortunately, just nothing to really rave about..... Not really disappointed, just not thrilled. I would likely try another hotel on our next trip.

Room Tip: Stay on the top level!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for the review. I wish you could rave about your stay! I'd be happy to welcome you back into an upper level unit in the future as I think that had you been in one, your stay would have been better than average.
As a note for our valued Trip Advisor reviewers and readers, the deluxe one bedroom condos with one or two queens all have lower access. We have eight room types at the resort, most of which have three queen sized beds/lofts and are great for families. If you have your heart set on an upper level unit, give our king jacuzzi suite a try. They are perfect for couples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in a 3 story condo and it was perfect. There was lots of space for everyone and having 2 bathrooms was very handy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and made sure we had a good stay. The view from the hot tub was amazing and a great end to a day of exploring. The free bus pass is very convenient if you dont have a car. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The front condos were a little noisy in the mornings
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.