We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Hidden Ridge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Anniversary Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here a couple of weekends ago with my boyfriend for our one year anniversary. Decided to splurge and spend big money on the loft king suite with the private hot tub. It was amazing. The view was incredible, the bed was comfy, and the room was beautiful. The only problem was that it was very windy that night, which made the hot tub quite cold (but that's definitely not the hotel's fault - just would have liked to be able to change the temperature on the tub). The free firewood was amazing (as most places charge), and the staff was incredibly friendly and attentive (even letting us check out at 12:30 instead of 11, which helped a lot). Amazing hotel, and we're planning on coming back every three months. xx

Room Tip: Splurge for the hot tub room. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    389
    132
    68
    28
See reviews for
533
432
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Büttelborn
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were a group of 7 people, all airline crew in layover from Calgary, staying in a two bedroom chalet with kitchen and fireplace and two bathrooms. We found everything to be more than nice! It was clean, cozy and comfy thru and thru. Staff was friendly and helpful, really nothing to be missed. Even the fire wood was provided complimentary! And all that for an affordable price. We would defenitely come back for some horseback riding or hiking in the wide forests of Banff National Park.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I headed out to Banff this weekend. After much research and asking amongst our friends, this complex came recomended. We decided to splurge on the room with the private hot tub and were not disappointed in the least.

The staff was very helpful and the place was very clean. The kitchen was well-stocked for the items we needed. We had packed a few items that were easy to prep for meals not entirely sure of the facilities but are already planning our meals for our next visit knowing that we don't need to stick to frozen pizzas and sandwiches.

The wood fireplace was such a treat without heating up the room to an unbearable temperature, the bed was comfy and the hot tub/deck views were amazing.

The free firewood, added amenities (like movies and games) and underground parking were perfect for the cold temperature.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I've stayed here 3 times and I will not stay anywhere else in banff! the hot pools make the place! they're awesome and the view is breath taking!!!
it can be romantic, a wild girls trip or full of family fun!!! I've been there for all occasions! Ive had my birthday there, spent my anniversary there and brought my boyfriends parents there they loved it of course!!
I tell everyone to go to this hotel I just love it!
The staff are super helpful and bring you anything you need whether it be more towels or more plates!!!!!
The beds are a treat and the rooms are awesome! the fireplace is a bonus too!
best hotel in banff!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room thats close the hot pools if your staying there during ski season!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay! Friendly staff, very clean rooms, comfy beds, and well appointed guestrooms. We had a 3 bedroom condo (great for weekend gateways for couples), fireplace, kitchen, patio....everything to make a perfect weekend. I highly recommend this hotel!!! Love the location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We booked the Hidden Ridge Resort for 2 nights (Nov 10-11) to celebrate our 3 year wedding anniversary. We were bringing our dog with us and the only pet friendly room available was a 1 bedroom condo on the main floor.
Upon check in we were very happy with the room. A living room with wood burning fire place, well appointed kitchen and dining table. Bedroom with 2 beds at the back.
We were a bit disappointed the first night to find that the hot tub was so full you couldnt even get in it. We walked by several times to see if room had opened up and werent able to get in until 930 when the hot tub closes at 10.
After the hot tub we went back to our room and discovered that the room was anything but sound proof. We could very clearly hear the people above us walking, running and moving around. At this point it was nothing more than an annoyance however come early morning when we could hear them again very loudly moving around at 7 AM we decided to talk to the front desk to see if anything could be done. The front desk staff were very good and apologetic. They said they were surprised that the buildings were well built and they didnt usually get complaints (upon reading other reviews on here though it is clear to us that they are very aware of the issues with the 1 bedroom condos on the main floor as management seems to respond to all negative reviews!) They explained that the room above us is a large room that accommodate large groups. They said that they were fully booked and only had another 1 bedroom condo 5 rooms over but still on the main floor. We decided to move hoping that the people above that room would be a little quieter. Unfortunately they were not and it was just as noisy as the night before. We were once again woken up at 715 AM by the very loud walking, running and noises from above.
The second night we also experienced a packed hot tub that we were unable to get into until 915 PM. This is very unfortunate as the hot tub is awesome with a nice big wood burning fire place right beside it. It doesnt seem like the hot tub is large enough for the size of the resort.
Our comments are soley based on our experience with the 1 bedroom condo on the main floor. If we had been able to book or stay in a 2nd floor room I think we would have been very happy here.
We were also very appreciative of Kelvins attempt to move us and ensure our happiness including giving us 2 bottles of wine!
Would we stay here again....definintely as long as it were not on the main floor!

Room Tip: AVOID the main floor rooms and request renovated buildings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for the review, we apologize your sleep was not a good one. Although we have received complaints in the past regarding the one bedroom condos, they are rare when coming from this particular building. There are over 30 buildings on site. Some of which, like the premium two bedroom with loft condos and the jacuzzi suties, were built after a large 2008-2009 renovation. Unfortunately, none of the one bedroom condos were newly built during this overhaul and they all have ground level access. Had we had the opportunity to provide you with the sleep you deserved, you had best believe we would have. Options can be limiting when we are sold out and I am glad you appreciated our attempts to assist. We have your information on file and we will contact you directly for future options on a return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

From the moment you arrive at Hidden Ridge, you'll feel like you're escaping the city in a true mountain get away. My girlfriends and I were in Banff for Winterstart, which is a 5 mile run. The hotel room was spacious for all of us, well equipped (we cooked several meals), and had a rustic charm/theme.

Our only hiccup was trying to use the hot tub. It was late evening when we decided to go use the hot tub, but it was packed completely full, and several people were intoxicated. We decided to try again the next morning, but unfortunately we were faced with the same situation. This could have been due to the fact that Banff is quite busy during Winterstart which seems to be a bit of a party atmosphere. It is quite possible that the hot tub situation wouldn't be like this on an everyday stay.

We love Hidden Ridge. Seeing as this is our third year staying there, that seems to be endorsement.

Room Tip: The rooms with the lofts are very spacious, and gives the place a real chalet feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for the review! We appreciate the return business and we would love to see you again for the race next year!
The hot pools are open for 91 hours a week. They are virtually empty 90% of the time. Unfortunately everyone wants to use them at the same time! We patrol the hot pools regularly to ensure that our valued guests are respecting each other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.