We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blue Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   327 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had a great stay here. Friendly hosts and really helpful with recommendations. Great breakfast. Kitchen available for guest to use. Room was small but Brilliant for the price.

Very close to the Main Street. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    15
    16
    7
See reviews for
9
69
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Hardy, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was lucky to stay at the Blue Mountain Lodge for 3 nights at the end of October. Emma and Pascal were great hosts and made sure that I had plenty of information about Banff, what to do, places to see, restaurants to check out and more. The breakfasts are very generous, with fresh croissants, cereal, toast and more - you will not go hungry here! On my last morning, we were also lucky enough to have some deer visit and we could watch them in the garden as we ate our breakfast. This is a lovely old style inn in the heart of Banff, the rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff work hard to make sure that you are happy and enjoying your stay - so if you need something extra just ask and they will do what they can to make you comfortable. Once again, thanks for the great stay and I will be back!

Room Tip: The separate entry room is great, very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Don't be fooled by the external appearance of the building, it's actually quite spacious on the inside. It's well decorated with historical photos and artifacts that make it a very welcoming and cozy environment. One thing I noticed is how clean it was! Not a single dustball was to be seen (and I really value cleanliness so I liked that).

We checked in at around 4:30pm and they had two freshly-baked cookies left, like it was meant for us!

Our room (#5) had a double bed and a single though we only used the double. We had a nice view of the mountain and it is away from the busy Banff Avenue which made for a good night's rest. The shower was hot, just the way you'd want it on a cold winter day. The floors in our room were laminate wood - fairly new or just very well-kept. The bed is also very comfortable and they keep the temperature of the building at a nice warm level.

Breakfast is COMPLIMENTARY! And it was delicious! Fresh baked croissants and muffins! Great coffee, variety of yogurts, juices, cereals, oatmeals, teas, etc. Fruit and hard-boiled eggs were also served. My boyfriend and I stuffed our faces to prepare for another busy day of travelling and nature-sight-seeing.

It's within walking distance to Banff Avenue, about 5 minutes and very accessible by car. Lots of parking spaces around.

Don't really have complaints. Everyone's expectations are different. My boyfriend and I have never been one to be picky about our accomodations since the main thing you do is sleep there. We've never really needed anything fancy. In fact, we prefer cozy and home-style accomodations more than extravagantly decorated hotels. So if you're like us? You'll love this place!

Room Tip: We had room #5 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Friendly owner, Pascal,greeted us on arrival and even had our room ready for us even though we were extremely early! After a 12 hour overnight bus journey, we were delighted to have access to our bedroom! We stayed in a room with a queen size bed and single bed, the rooms were very cosy with TV and WiFi! Pascal spent time with us explaining and drawing out the local hikes for us! An employee named Em was very helpful to us too and had a lovely breakfast spread ready for us the next morning! Home made cookies and kitchen access with tea, coffee and hot chocolate made our stay in the lodge feel like a home from home! I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The girls who work there are nice, but the place itself does not accord with the writeup. Our room is tiny and one could barely fit into the shower stall - we are quite small girls to begin with! Would not stay there again for th

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsières
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The welcome by all the staff is excellent and very friendly.The boss knows very well the region and gives excellent advice on all actifiviés it is possible to do. We had problems with our rental car and he came with us to the agency for help.
Thank you for everything and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. The breakfast is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The place is nice and quiet. The rooms are quite small, but clean and decent.
The service is very good, the hosts are very friendly. Breakfasts are not the strongest thing in this hotel, but still ok: fresh coissants, which are really good, apples, boiled eggs, yogurt, toasts, jam, 2 % milk, cereals, tea and coffee. Not a wide selection of food but still you can find something to eat.
Location is a real advantage of this place - just in 3 minutes of walk from the center, but quiet, easy to reach everything.
Parking lot: not enough room for all guests, but we parked easily near the hotel.
On the whole I recommend this place to travellers who are not very fastidious about their food and size of their rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Lodge

Address: 327 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to announce that the Blue Mountain Lodge changed ownership in January, 2007. Since then, we have engaged in extensive renovation work, erased past problems and upgraded breakfast. We are also very excited to report that Select Canada will acknowledge our accomplishments by giving us a three-star rating in 2009. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff! Pascal and Louise, Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.