We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, par for the price, small rooms, GREAT location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blue Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   327 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent stay, par for the price, small rooms, GREAT location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited in high season, July 2013. We wanted to stay in a more reasonably priced place than the $200 + others were charging. We paid about $140/night. We did NOT expect a $200 room when paying $140, you get what you pay for. This B&B appears to be an older, maintained, 2-story house, that's been converted to squeeze in as many bedrooms as possible. It's located in a residential neighborhood surrounded by houses. The neighborhood looked good and I felt safe. This B&B is in sight of the main street in Banff where all the shops & restaurants are located - a 2 minute walk. We stayed in 2 different rooms, the owner told us we got the 2 smallest rooms. The rooms were clean and slightly updated, and VERY small, just big enough to fit the double bed and a small TV (one of the rooms had a small table & 2 chairs). The bathrooms were tiny. The showers were the size of those in small RV's. The shower curtains draped into the shower pan which I thought was not hygienic. They supplied only 1 small bar of soap per room. There was no air conditioning, thankfully it's cool in the evening in July, we opened the windows. It was noisy outside late into the night with people talking and partying. Again, you get what you pay for so best not to expect an extensive breakfast. There was cereal & milk, but I only use almond or soy milk, so no cereal for me. They did not have decaf coffee, so no coffee for me. There weren't enough hard boiled eggs for all the guests so we missed out, disappointing. The plain croissants were good. There were toast, apples & bananas, and small containers of yogurt. The owner was helpful, as was the female employee who was very friendly and knowledgeable about all there is to do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    15
    16
    6
See reviews for
9
67
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Our stay here was rubbish. Firstly we didn't feel very welcomed when we first arrive, this was not the best thing for anyone after a long car journey! After we checked in we were shown out room and to say the least it was not what we had expected. The blinds were broken, the beds weren't very clean and the bathroom was soo small it felt like if you had to go to the toilet the shower might turn on a drench you!!! After the first night we decided to leave and book into a different hotel nearby. When we asked for a refund we had to negotiate. It's been a while since we were there and we hope it has changed since then.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this lodge with a couple of issues. The staff was friendly and the breakfasts were very good. The location is very convenient.

The room we had was very small but it was clean and comfortable. It had an outside door that was tricky to unlock. I would recommend a deadbolt. The inn promised Wifi accessibility but it did not include our room.

I expect other rooms in the inn would be more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in this lodge for one night. The lodge is lovely - decor, setup, etc. We stayed in Old Trapper room on the top floor - it has a bear skin on the ceiling, and very cool interior, very unique! So cool. The owner was super friendly, and also other staff member. Beds were very comfortable, we had a TV and fan in our room. The breakfast was so good - coffee, orange juice, freshly baked croissants, etc. We loved very minute of our stay! Th location is perfect - two steps from the main street, and also close to Banff Cultural Center. Will definitely stay in this lodge again!

Room Tip: If you can pick, get an Old Trapper room - so unique... real spirit of Rocky Mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed there for planned 3 nights but had to stay 1 night longer because of the flood in June 2013. The staff there is very friendly and helful (with ideas of hiks, sight views, dinner...) As we had to stay longer they gave us a room for the same price again (and they got many inquirys this day from many travellers)
The wifi works very good, the breakfast is also very good. The rooms looks cute, especially the room on the top. (yes they are small but usually you dont spend your time in your room when you are in the Rockys..)
If i will be in Banff again, i will be again a guest there! Thanks again to everybody there, we appreciate a lot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Highly recommend staying at this wonderful B&B. Host is very knowledgeable about local things to do. Breakfast is very good, loved that they have unsweetened cereal. Everyone working at lodge is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Mountain for a few days in October last year.

The lodge is old and very quaint. However the facilities do need modernising. If the rooms were bigger this would be an excellent base for a stay.

We booked the "Prospector's cabin " as it looked to be one of the larger rooms and was on the ground floor with it's own private entrance. We found the room to be a tight fit despite being bigger than most shown on the website. However it was warm, the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and had good pressure, ( but is in a very small space).

Pascal, the owner, is very friendly and more than willing to give loads of advice on days out walking or driving.

The breakfasts consist of cereals, croissants and boiled eggs, fruit juices, teas and coffee. More than enough for the start to the day.

The car park is small however parking is free. There is loads of space on the streets if you don't get there in time !

As most people have said in previous reviews. The best thing about the lodge is it's location. Two minutes from the main avenue where there are loads of shops, bars and restaurants. We also took many strolls from the lodge over the bridge and along the river, South of the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Lodge

Address: 327 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to announce that the Blue Mountain Lodge changed ownership in January, 2007. Since then, we have engaged in extensive renovation work, erased past problems and upgraded breakfast. We are also very excited to report that Select Canada will acknowledge our accomplishments by giving us a three-star rating in 2009. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff! Pascal and Louise, Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.