We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, friendly owner and staff, however rooms very small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blue Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   327 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, friendly owner and staff, however rooms very small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Mountain for a few days in October last year.

The lodge is old and very quaint. However the facilities do need modernising. If the rooms were bigger this would be an excellent base for a stay.

We booked the "Prospector's cabin " as it looked to be one of the larger rooms and was on the ground floor with it's own private entrance. We found the room to be a tight fit despite being bigger than most shown on the website. However it was warm, the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and had good pressure, ( but is in a very small space).

Pascal, the owner, is very friendly and more than willing to give loads of advice on days out walking or driving.

The breakfasts consist of cereals, croissants and boiled eggs, fruit juices, teas and coffee. More than enough for the start to the day.

The car park is small however parking is free. There is loads of space on the streets if you don't get there in time !

As most people have said in previous reviews. The best thing about the lodge is it's location. Two minutes from the main avenue where there are loads of shops, bars and restaurants. We also took many strolls from the lodge over the bridge and along the river, South of the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    14
    16
    6
See reviews for
8
67
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I just recently stayed at the Blue Mountain Lodge for one night while we were in Banff. It was very convenient location, very charming place, and very charming price! This would be a 5 star review if not for the size issue. The queen room we booked had a very small double bed- my husband was a foot and a half off the end of the bed. The bathroom was tight to maneuver, and he was nearly hitting his head in the shower. I would stay again in a heartbeat if there was a bigger room to be had. Breakfast was wonderful next to the fireplace, we had views out both our windows, and free parking is included 2 blocks from town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose this place after looking around for best value for money. We wanted somewhere we could cook in, and this place was great as there was a nice little kitchen for us to use, however I did find it strange that there is actually a modern larger kitchen that guests have breakfast in. It seems pointless to have two kitchens and of the two guests can only use the small one...I'm glad it wasn't busy when we were there!
We stayed in the "beaver room" which was spacious for just the two of us, however the tv was tiny but hey what does that matter really when your on holiday...!although it was annoying that we couldn't get wifi on our iPad..so we had to head to Starbucks but again not the end of the world just not very convenient.
The breakfast was a bit half done to be honest (cold coffee/old croissants) apart from the morning when the owner was about and he cooked us scrambled eggs which were yummy.
I didn't like the long term guest...he was always around and rather irritating.
Overall....we really did enjoy our stay. It really is a great location and the staff are very friendly and chatty. The room was nice and clean and equipped well!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nm
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our four nights in Banff at the Blue Mountain Lodge were wonderful. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was simple but delicious. The prospector's cabin room was petite but perfect and we enjoyed the private entrance. We especially enjoyed a magical day of back country skiing with the amiable, knowledgeable owner Pascal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for our winter-holidays and felt very welcome from the first moment!
We enjoyed the interesting conversations, the excellent informations about restaurants and activities in and around Banff. Overall we had a very nice time and could recommend staying in the BmL. We had a room with a great view to the mountains (first floor).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

we were slightly dissappointed with this hotel. the location was excellent, 2 minutes walk from the main shopping area, however we felt that it was more like a hostel than a hotel. the room was very small, (booked a queen size room, or so I thought) there were no tea making facilities in the room, however guests had the use of a kitchen to make tea and we could bring food in and store it in the fridge but it appeared you had to provide your own milk for drinks. when we mentioned to the owner that there was no milk he said other guest usually leave some behind to use up. the complimentary cookies in the afternoons did'nt appear. and breakfast was very basic, cereal,bread, cakes and hard boiled eggs. For the price, I would have expected better.

Room Tip: I asked for a queen sized room but it was quite small. to be fair, we didnt see the sizes of the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Lodge

Address: 327 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to announce that the Blue Mountain Lodge changed ownership in January, 2007. Since then, we have engaged in extensive renovation work, erased past problems and upgraded breakfast. We are also very excited to report that Select Canada will acknowledge our accomplishments by giving us a three-star rating in 2009. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff! Pascal and Louise, Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.