We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blue Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   327 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the location excellent. We could visit all the attractions in Banff etc. easily and were also close to many other places. It was only a short walk from the B & B to shops, banks, restaurants and so on. The B & B itself was rather dated and the rooms a little small (although to be fair this was stated on their website). THe owner was there and was very helpful with plenty of advice for anyone who needed it about what to do and where to go. Rather expensive for the degree of comfort provided.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    15
    16
    7
See reviews for
9
70
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked 14 nights for first 2 weeks of August using the supersaver back in January which gave us a really good deal. We stayed in room 1 which had a very comfortable bed, although it tended to move a bit! The shower had good pressure, plenty of hot water and the breakfasts we found to be very good. We didn't see the famous Pascal that much but when we did, he was very knowledgable and friendly.
Best to get to the car park early, no spaces after 4pm; plenty of roadside parking if not. Room 9 situated by the smoking table, not ideal. Guest kitchen fabulous, lots of tourist info available, great method of keeping room/door key safe. Mountain view from our window, useful mosquito netting over opening window. The mosquitoes are beasts out there. Very convenient location, just 2 min walk to the main street of Banff which is a shoppers paradise. Only downside was the noise - noisy neighbours/revellers on street through the night kept us awake.
Its a good, clean, basic B & B and great value. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 9 near smokers table. Room 1 reasonable size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The accomodations were nothing special. Clean, but very basic. Beds not very comfortable. The room was very tight, and the bathroom was so small (one person could barely fit in the shower). We could hear noises from outside through the night (we were in Room 10, on the main floor). The location is great however, within walking distance to many things downtown! And the continental breakfast was fine. For the money we payed though (although the location was good), we were not very satisfied with this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This lodge is in a great location which was definitely a highlight! We stayed in the beaver room which was quite small but very quirky which we liked. The hosts offered great advice about the area and helped us plan some trips. Breakfast was fairly simple but nice enough to set you up for the day. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natanya
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We found the room and shower to be very small and the lighting was poor. The old building is quaint but not very comfortable, with narrow, creeky stairway. The use of the refrigerator for our picnic goods was convenient. Breakfast was the basic minimum. This was the only time on our whole 6 week trip that we found the owner of an establishment to be so curt and unfriendly, giving us the barest minimum of information when we asked for recommendations. The best thing about the Blue Mountain Lodge is its location two minutes walking from Banff's lovely main street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

They have really really small rooms. You can barely find a spot to sit in the room. Shower is extremely small as well, it can barely fit in one person. Breakfast are awful, coffee is light, bread is hard. This place is so commercialist, that nothing is done with heart. I wouldn't stay with them ever again.

Room Tip: When going to a hot spot like Banff and Jasper, always need to start looking for place way ahead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Blue Mountain Lodge is awesome and Pascal is the man! My boyfriend and I stayed here for 9 days the last week of March. Pascal is like a living "Choose Your Own Adventure" book - tell him what you feel like doing and he'll have an awesome suggestion for you for the day. He bags peaks and backcountry skis in his spare time and knows a lot about the surrounding areas, as well as what's happening in town. He sent us on big hikes and backcountry snowboarding/snowshoeing routes - we only bought lift tickets 3 of the 9 days we were there as Pascal had so many other fun ideas for us. The breakfast is a great plus as well, croissants and muffins etc - especially in a town where it's hard to find cheap food (I got a lukewarm coffee my first day there and nearly spat it out on the counter when the barista told me that'd be $5). Can't beat the location either, a block away from the main street. Rooms are clean and cute, and fine for two people who really like each other. Plus Pascal tells the funniest stories. If you want a quiet, cozy home away from home, cookies in the afternoon, and the local scoop on what to do in the mountains, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Lodge

Address: 327 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to announce that the Blue Mountain Lodge changed ownership in January, 2007. Since then, we have engaged in extensive renovation work, erased past problems and upgraded breakfast. We are also very excited to report that Select Canada will acknowledge our accomplishments by giving us a three-star rating in 2009. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff! Pascal and Louise, Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Blue Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.