We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum

Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum
1 Birch Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403-762-2388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 33 attractions in Banff
Type: Natural History Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This natural history and Canadian First Nations museum is named after Norman Luxton who once operated a trading post in the Banff area. Come in for a tour of what life was like for First Nations before settlers came and then view authentic First Nations artifacts, borrowed from both personal collections and the Glenbow Museum. Tours of the Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum guided by staff who are local First Nations. Ask questions, learn and experience something truly Canadian.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Just average and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately the artifacts are not as we'll-documented as they could be, and become repetitive. The building is interesting, and I enjoyed spending 30 minutes her, but the $10 would have been better spent at the Whyte.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited on our last day, while waiting for the shuttle. Very nice exhibits of the various indiginous tribes in the area. Worth an hour or two.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

First off we had a coupon for 2 for 1 which is basically the only reason we stopped here. How pleasantly surprised we were. For $10 I learned so much. There were more exhibits then I thought when judging by the outside. We also bought a few things from the gift shop which had lots to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdnathena, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review! We are glad we were able to surprise you in a good way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a lovely few hours here. Theres a lot to take in and a lot you can learn. The displays were well thought out and informative. I'd recommend if you had couple of hours free to go here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Interesting but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The exhibits were interesting but few in number considering the $10 entrance fee. It felt as if the whole museum needed an update. For children there were no interactive displays and little to hold their enthusiasm.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum to your Saves list