We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum

Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum
1 Birch Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A8, Canada
403-762-2388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 72 things to do in Banff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This natural history and Canadian First Nations museum is named after Norman Luxton who once operated a trading post in the Banff area. Come in for a tour of what life was like for First Nations before settlers came and then view authentic First Nations artifacts, borrowed from both personal collections and the Glenbow Museum. Tours of the Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum guided by staff who are local First Nations. Ask questions, learn and experience something truly Canadian.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited on our last day, while waiting for the shuttle. Very nice exhibits of the various indiginous tribes in the area. Worth an hour or two.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    52
    19
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

First off we had a coupon for 2 for 1 which is basically the only reason we stopped here. How pleasantly surprised we were. For $10 I learned so much. There were more exhibits then I thought when judging by the outside. We also bought a few things from the gift shop which had lots to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdnathena, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review! We are glad we were able to surprise you in a good way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a lovely few hours here. Theres a lot to take in and a lot you can learn. The displays were well thought out and informative. I'd recommend if you had couple of hours free to go here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interesting but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The exhibits were interesting but few in number considering the $10 entrance fee. It felt as if the whole museum needed an update. For children there were no interactive displays and little to hold their enthusiasm.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The place has the external appearance of a fort, which seems incongruous given its content. I knew little or nothing about the First Nations so I found this informative. Exit thorough the gift shop...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.