We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learning about First Nations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum

Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum
1 Birch Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A8, Canada
403-762-2388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 72 things to do in Banff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This natural history and Canadian First Nations museum is named after Norman Luxton who once operated a trading post in the Banff area. Come in for a tour of what life was like for First Nations before settlers came and then view authentic First Nations artifacts, borrowed from both personal collections and the Glenbow Museum. Tours of the Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum guided by staff who are local First Nations. Ask questions, learn and experience something truly Canadian.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Learning about First Nations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We are from the UK and what we knew about 'Indians' was learnt from Westerns. We both found the museum really interesting learning about the First Nations People's and their history. It was great to see the pictures and artefacts bringing the people and stories to life. It's a shame the building is dilapidated and obviously in need of renovation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdnathena, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to our Museum. Thank you for your rating!

We know our Museum could use a little TLC, so we are working hard to invest time and donor dollars to make some updates to the space in 2013. Come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    52
    19
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The buffalo nation Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The fort was well worth the entrance fee...a well presented history of the First Nation lifestyle...lots of authentic artefacts

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdnathena, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Upgrading needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The artifacts from the area indigenous population are specatular. They really need some repairs to this building and upkeep to preserve this history. If this space is cared for by the Buffalo Nations, they should realize the importance to their heritage and put more value into it's upkeep.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdnathena, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Museum! We are a non-profit society, so we are always making an effort to raise funds to pay for improvements and upkeep. We sincerely appreciate your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Secret gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This museum as noted elsewhere should be better known, as a museum dedicated to the First Nations people's its excellent. Many interesting exhibits laid out inside what from the outside looks like a Wild West fort. Animals and their relationship to the First Nations people's, their tools and equipment and a good account of how they lived and still exist as a nation within a nation.
There is an area inside for drinks and snacks, but the store is a little poorly represented, of course 100 yards away is the buffalo nations trading post so I suppose the museum can be forgiven for being poorly equipped, but I would have prefered to buy on site, and assist when they don't appear to get as many visitors as the site deserves.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
320 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This museum was our most pleasant surprise about Banff. Its very well laid out and we learned a great deal about the Buffalo Nations. I wish it were more publicized as there weren't many people there. They have a good thing going.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.