We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon at the museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies

Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies
111 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A3, Canada
+1 403-762-2291
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 99 Attractions in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Whyte Museum inspires discovery and wonder where people and the Rocky Mountains meet. The Museum's founders, Peter and Catharine Whyte, were local artists and philanthropists who wished to offer a place where people could gather and appreciate the culture and beauty of the area. Explore the culture shaped by this mountain landscape through our exhibitions, events, heritage homes, archives, library and museum shop. Our programming is made possible through generous support from you - the Museum's Members, donors and sponsors.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Afternoon at the museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wonderful history of the Banff area and its explorers. Great pictures and artifacts. Take a couple of hours to visit this site.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    92
    22
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good way to spend a few hours very quiet. Not a large museum but it had some good local displays and we did get to tour the Whyte home.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very small, beautiful artwork”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Came here to escape the rain and it is a good attraction. The museum is a little sparse but there is some cool footage of heli-skiing and interesting exhibits on local mountaineers. I particularly enjoyed the art gallery which houses a fantastic collection of paintings of the Canadian Rockies. It was very inspiring!
Overall I'd allow 1-2 hours to make the most of the visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting background to Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited on our last morning in Banff and we are glad we stopped by. It only takes an hour or so to go through the museum but there are optional free tours that you can do with the guides as well. The museum gives a good background to the history of Banff and the surrounding area. While we were there they had a great art display about the Canadian Pacific Railway, which runs until October 2013.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Understanding The History In and Around Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Add to the meaning of the Banff area during a rainy day by stopping here. Surprisingly fine exhibits and plenty of information about the history of area and the pioneering people who made this area what it is. It will enhance your appreciation of Banff National Park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.