We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small, but has offers a good history of the area .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies

Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies
111 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A3, Canada
+1 403-762-2291
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 34 Attractions in Banff
Type: Libraries, Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Whyte Museum inspires discovery and wonder where people and the Rocky Mountains meet. The Museum's founders, Peter and Catharine Whyte, were local artists and philanthropists who wished to offer a place where people could gather and appreciate the culture and beauty of the area. Explore the culture shaped by this mountain landscape through our exhibitions, events, heritage homes, archives, library and museum shop. Our programming is made possible through generous support from you - the Museum's Members, donors and sponsors.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very small, but has offers a good history of the area .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Small museum, but nice way to spend some quiet time away from the shopping district. Historical displays give a good overview of Banff and the Canadian Rockies. Did not go thru student photo exhibit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    86
    21
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This lovely little museum gallery captured my heart when I first visited, and I visit it every time I go to Banff. I love the welcoming feeling of the building, and the friendly staff and the combination of heritage and art. The heritage show manages to combine a lot of history over a small space, from an old, old car to a modern rescue helicopter. The current show in the galleries is photography, not all that inspiring, but apparently it is mostly the work of high school kids who been through a photo program offered by the Whyte. It seems that the gift shop has been stocked with a lot more local product, which is a nice change after the chain stores and the tacky souvenirs on the main street.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Museum visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I enjoyed the the books , art , jewellery and silk scarves in the gift shop . The hand made cards were good.
I would like to see more hand made sweaters and Indian crafts. and original toys for children. . .
The youth art was well displayed on the walls. Some of the titles were hard to read.

The section on helicopter skiing history was interesting. The videos throughout the museum were excellent.

The museum has a nice feel to it. Allow one ahd half hours to browse.
It would be nice to be able to buy coffee. and be able to sit down some where to drink it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent showcase of the Rocky Mountain history & Canadian artists!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I headed to this museum after reading a review on here which said entry cost was $4 but on arrival the cost was indeed $8 and I'm sure glad I still went in as this was money well spent. The museum is true to the Banff mountain style and for such a small town you will be surprised to find a lot of interesting information and great art features. The current current Exhibitions which were: Through the Lens: A Retrospective, Beyond Through the Lens, Expired Places: Bankhead, Brandy Dahrouge(Awesome!), Gateway to the Rockies, Watermedia in the Rockies. I truly enjoyed this museum and will go again to check out the upcoming exhibitions!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

history of town since it was since it was born 125 years ago, base on the build of the railroad, some thing to do if you are not skiing

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.