We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies

Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies
111 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A3, Canada
+1 403-762-2291
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 71 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Whyte Museum inspires discovery and wonder where people and the Rocky Mountains meet. The Museum's founders, Peter and Catharine Whyte, were local artists and philanthropists who wished to offer a place where people could gather and appreciate the culture and beauty of the area. Explore the culture shaped by this mountain landscape through our exhibitions, events, heritage homes, archives, library and museum shop. Our programming is made possible through generous support from you - the Museum's Members, donors and sponsors.
MIA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

history of town since it was since it was born 125 years ago, base on the build of the railroad, some thing to do if you are not skiing

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    93
    22
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
High River, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“we even went back the next day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The current photo exhibits were awesome. Permanent exhibits were informative and historical perspective on Banff art & the Whytes worth the many visits.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Mostly photography”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

There was a large display of photographs by school children - rather ho-hum, although quite well done. My husband and I enjoyed the displays of guide and skier equipment, but the best thing in the whole exhibit is the advertisment for the bear-resistant trashbins in a far corner of the museum. A grizzly bear spends a quarter hour trying to force open this bear-box, rocking it, clawing it, biting it, squeezing it. It reminded us what would happen to our tent if we left food in it....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

When we entered it didn't look like there was much to see, however what was there was very interesting. We easily spent 2 hours here. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

To be honest I found the displays lacking but it gave me a lovely insight into the history of the area. There was a heck of a lot of school students photography assignments - though interesting not really what I expected in a museum. I did like the displays of the explorers and they were interactive, and I do swear that John Malkovic actually narrated one.....now I could be wrong....hee hee but it had me captivated (it was the one where both explorers were talking to each other in a tent).

For 8 dollars per adult or 20 for a family it is a good way to kill 1 to 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.