We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugaboos Exhibit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies

Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies
111 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A3, Canada
+1 403-762-2291
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 34 Attractions in Banff
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums, Libraries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Whyte Museum inspires discovery and wonder where people and the Rocky Mountains meet. The Museum's founders, Peter and Catharine Whyte, were local artists and philanthropists who wished to offer a place where people could gather and appreciate the culture and beauty of the area. Explore the culture shaped by this mountain landscape through our exhibitions, events, heritage homes, archives, library and museum shop. Our programming is made possible through generous support from you - the Museum's Members, donors and sponsors.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bugaboos Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent museum! Lovely exhibit of the Bugaboos. the mountain range in BC. My son had a picture that was in the exhibit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    84
    20
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I are not normally museum visitors, but had time on our hands... the Whyte Museum was recommended to us, so we went. Two hours sliped by very quickly. The displays are very well composed, many with integrated audio or video. We especially enjoyed a feature art exhibit titled Yellowstone to Yukon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful 'Yellowstone to Yukon' exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It rained a lot on our last visit to Banff but luckily our visit to the Yellowstone to Yukon exhibition - showcasing wildlife/landscape art from the region - was a real highlight of our trip. There were some really beautiful paintings on display and the exhibition space is very pleasant indeed. A great book of the exhibition was available, along with lots of other very high quality items on sale in the shop. The rest of the museum was very interesting too. The entry fee isn't the cheapest but it was more than worth what we paid. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyte_Museum, Marketing & Communications Specialist at Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed "Yellowstone to Yukon: The Journey of Wildlife and Art" - this exhibition will close on November 15 so hopefully more folks can catch it before it is gone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton Hills, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fascinating compilation of history and art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was curious as to how the town of Banff and its settlement came to be. The museum provided a clear history of Banff and events that shaped it. The collection of paintings was a joy to behold.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited this interesting, well laid-out museum to see a special exhibition 'From Yellowstone to Yukon' - which was fabulous. There was also a show of local artists' work around the gift-shop area which was well worth seeing. If you are passing through, and have time, do check out what's on at this super museum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.