We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of bears” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Minnewanka

Lake Minnewanka
24km (15 miles) north of Banff, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 33 attractions in Banff
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Fishing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Banff National Park's largest waterway.
Bellmore, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beware of bears”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We tried to go around the lake. We passed the point where we were warned of grizzlies (we did not encounter any). It was a great view, but the trail was a bit boring.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    265
    102
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful and serene”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We drove to this lake on a nice road. We could walk on the frozen lake but was too cold for comfort. It was so nice and beautiful to take snaps. Wished could stay longer, all facilities were closed and very few people around.

this place would be a summer wonderland not so much for winter time but worth a visit on way to Banff.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wintry wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just a short drive from Banff over well-plowed roads, Lake Minnewanka offers spectacular scenery. As our first outdoor activity in Alberta, we spent two our walking on the frozen, snow covered lake. We met several people who were snowshoeing on the surrounding trails, others were cross country skiing on the lake. Just a note, facilities are closed in the winter (including the bathrooms). We would love to come back and see this area in the summer.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“If you're lucky you'll see the sheep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Lake Minnewanka loop is a short, beautiful drive. If you're lucky, you may see both elk and sheep by the side of the road. The sheep usually are to be found close to the dam or by the adjoining lake. At the dam, watch for the drivers entering into the very icy waters to see if they can spot some of the ruins on the lake bottom. The lake provides an opportunity for an incredibly beautiful boat ride or a picnic. There is also a fantastic biking trail along the lake. Lots of people just head into Banff, but Lake Minnewanka is a pearl not to be missed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriaville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“WoW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The view was wonderful... It's just next to Banff's downtown (8-10 minutes with a car) , and it's a good place to see the Canadian Rockies. You can take amazing pictures!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Minnewanka also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Minnewanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Minnewanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Minnewanka to your Saves list
;