We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boat tours are just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Minnewanka

Lake Minnewanka
24km (15 miles) north of Banff, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 attractions in Banff
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Fishing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Banff National Park's largest waterway.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Boat tours are just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I took the boat tour of the lake. I felt that the cost was disproportionately expensive for what we saw and learned. The lake is large so the tour took about an hour. There were much better sights to see in that hour and at no cost.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    247
    92
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stopped here for a brief visit only to find the ladies conveniences were closed so we had to post a man outside the gents so that the ladies on our trip could relieve themselves. Good information on the signs telling you all about the lake and the wildlife in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The park activity was curtailed during our visit due to the effects of the recent floods, however the scenery and wildlife more than sufficed, great ice cream too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This lake was really beautiful. Easy hike and definitely worth it. Plan on there being lots of people on a nice day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lake For Hiking/Picnics etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Easy drive from Banff and a great place for hiking and/or picnics. Saw lots of sheep and a huge Elk on the road there which sorta made the trip even more special. There's also a boat ride available but I would suggest you save your money and do the boat on Lake Maligne in the Jasper National Park instead.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Minnewanka also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Minnewanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Minnewanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Minnewanka to your Saves list