We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great winter area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Minnewanka

Lake Minnewanka
24km (15 miles) north of Banff, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$84*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 72 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Fishing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Banff National Park's largest waterway.
Key West
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great winter area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went snowshoeing her and had a great hike once we got off the groomed cross country ski trail. This is the prime area fro cross country sking - wooded, but with plenty of open gorgeous vistas. A lot of game tracks. We were told to look for elk at about sundown, buit we did not see any.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    447
    151
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chipmunks and wild life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were able to watch and feed chipmunks who are adorable little creatures and photographed many species of birds there. It was great to sit on the bank of the lake and eat a picknic prepared in our camper van.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This Lake is a bit of the normal tourist track, but well worth the drive. We saw it when it was frozen, and had a beauty of its own, In summer, it must also be wonderful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The biggest lake of the group.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Here again the scenic beuty is beyond imagination.The boating in the calm waters was so soothingg to the mind that we forgot all tiredness

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Everywhere you turn in Canada you see fantastic lakes and this one is no exception. A must stop off when you are in the area, if the weather is good you will get some great photo's.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Minnewanka also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Minnewanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Minnewanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.