We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel Just Outside of Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Minnewanka

Lake Minnewanka
24km (15 miles) north of Banff, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$88*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #7 of 32 Attractions in Banff
Type: Bodies of Water, Nature & Parks
Activities: Fishing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Banff National Park's largest waterway.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Jewel Just Outside of Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a beautiful mountain lake. Clean and cold. Spectacular scenery all around you! We saw a family of bighorn sheep right next to the road.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    350
    127
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful lake. :) It's a must if you are in Banff.
I wish I could have done the boat trip, unfortunately it was too late. :/

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Scenery at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a leisurely visit to this wonderful piece of Rocky Mountain splendour. Tree colours were coming into the beauties of the Fall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - walk !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited the lake from Banff September 2012 and while it is no doubt a beautiful location , we regretted spending the time and funds on the boat trip when compared with other attractions in the area it does not seem value . The boat trip was very fast ride up the centre of the lake and back - no added value from a good walk we thought . There was some commentary but mostly about bears which if you have got that far in the Rockies you will have heard before !
Beautiful place worth a visit for sure , spend time but think twice on the boat trip unless you have the combined ticket - gondola , lake and ice field as stand alone it is expensive . We regretted not spending the time walking and taking in the views on foot as it is a spectacular place .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Check this out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

At the right time of the day this lake shimmers oh so beautifully. Next time we are taking the boat ride mini cruise.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Minnewanka also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Minnewanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Minnewanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.