We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster Travel Canada - Banff Gondola

Brewster Travel Canada - Banff Gondola
Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403 762 2523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 39 Activities in Banff
Type: Trams
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Sulphur Mountain Gondola and the Sunshine Gondola provide visitors to Banff National Park breathtaking views and access to hiking trails.
London, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful view, great walk to observation area? I would recommend going in January when there are not many people around.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    521
    120
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Banff, Alberta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Banff over the weekend from Jan 17 to Jan 20/13.
The scenery is absolutly splendid. We did the gondola ride .... it was awsome. We were awed at the ability of the people that found a route through the Rockies for the railroad back in the day with no maps or GPS.
My kids (in their 40s) went Xcountry skiing and had a ball, Most of the skiing was on their butts but they had a lot of laughs.
We had a family reunion which is the best part of whole trip as we have not been together in years.

Cheers from ice cold Winnipeg

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“My Guests from England were Wowed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The ride was scenic, but the view from up on high was truly stunning. I think a sunny winter day, as we had, must be the best. Make sure you go up to the weather station on the boardwalk. Take your time. Be prepared for wind, and for it perhaps to be warmer than you expect. Don't expect anything special in the cafe. It's less than basic, and staffed by people who appear not to care. Check out the webcam (google will get it for you) before going, so you know if it will be worth it. It's not cheap, so that will be a real help. But do go if you can. It's stunning up there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“You just have to go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited the gondola on our last whole day of our holiday. The views are spectacular, I almost used a whole 16gb memory card on my camera. You really need to go here if you visit Banff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Clear at the bottom and then it snowed at the top - very beautiful. Some climbing stairs but not too strenuous. Worth the ride up.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewster Travel Canada - Banff Gondola also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Brewster Travel Canada - Banff Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster Travel Canada - Banff Gondola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.