We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE SKI PASSES
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Loved the wonderful atmosphere in this grand old hotel. Have stayed here many times in the last 30 years with my husband. Came with my whole family this time and my girls are totally addicted to the beautiful Willow Spa and wonderful restaurants. I think I have started them both on a love affair with this wonderful, grand old hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,961
    687
    314
    183
    110
See reviews for
652
1,525
72
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We celebrated a milestone with a fly/drive tour of the Canadian Rockies and the Great Lodges. First stop was the Castle, what a wonderful experience. We reserved Gold level accomodations, well worth the price for the concierge service. The hotel is a legend, amenities spectacular, and location is perfect for scenery, hiking, active sport. We will be back as often as time permits. Met a lot of interesting people from the UK, Australia, and other parts of the world in the Gold lounge. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to compliment The Fairmont Gold floor experience at our hotel. We really appreciate it and hope you will return.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed 4 nights at the Fairmont Banff Springs in one of their 2 bedroom 2 bath spa suites. The only two spa suites, which I highly recommend, are secluded from the rest of the rooms of the resort. The spa suites are on the ground floor beside the spa. These suites come with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a powder room, a living room, an 8 sided glass turret with a dining table, and a spacious terrace. This is great for families since it is so large. The hotel is in a great location and offers magnificent views. The best places to see the mountains are the Rundle Lounge and the Riverview Lounge. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that will take you into downtown Banff. Overall, the Fairmont Banff Springs was a fantastic hotel to stay at and I would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for visiting The Fairmont Banff Springs from North Carolina and for recommending the terrace suites to others. We are delighted that you enjoyed.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Once you are at the Banff Springs Hotel there is no need to go anywhere else. It's all here. The outdoor hot pool, spa, amazing restaurants and the incredible view with hiking trails. The Fairmont is world famous for their staff and hospitality but really nothing compares to the Banff Springs. It is truly an experience and it is always a pleasure to be here! Our next trip here will be with our kids and grandchildren. It is also their favourite place to come. Just nothing compares with the experience of the majestic mountain views, the beautiful decor and the wonderful warm staff that make it a perfect getaway for family or solo.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you return with your family.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed here for three nights during our Banff adventure, and I'm so glad we did. We felt completely spoiled and transported to another time. The staff took excellent care of us. Breakfast was simply divine, and the dining room is exquisite. Our beds were so comfy that we didn't want to leave the room, despite the beauty outside. The views are unbelievable. It's such a magical place to walk around--full of history and an old-world feel.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so much for your positive review and for visiting from Oregon. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel but "normal people" wouldn't be able to afford it! Almost $100 for 4 drinks in the lounge and had we not had a special rate for the wedding we attended we wouldn't have stayed here!!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your review which we will share with our team. We are truly sorry to learn of your disappointment.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are a family of 4, with 2 girls aged 7 and 10 years and we stayed at the Banff Springs at the beginning of December 2014 for 5 nights. We have recently avoided Fairmont hotels after a bad experience in San Francisco. However, given the history of this particular place, we thought we'd give it a try. Definitely glad we did. First of all, this is a very grand old hotel, that surprises you in the midst of a snowy Christmas card landscape. The grand foyer has a high ceiling, giving it a very spacious historical feel and there is a small museum within the hotel that we found very interesting.

As with other historical hotels, the rooms are on the small side but sufficient. Our first room had a bath tub but then we moved to the Gold floor, which didn't have a tub. This was, however, replaced with a multi-jet shower which was very fun. The service in the Gold lounge was first class. All the staff were great but we were particularly impressed with their assistant manager, Greg Silva who went above and beyond to ensure we had an amazing stay.

We had arranged some ski lessons and rentals via the Skibig3 network, and the hotel ski-shop/rental outfitters were able to help us out with rentals without prior notice, and saved us a trip to town.

Our girls were most impressed by the outdoor heated swimming pool - swimming on a freezing winters night, surrounded by snow in jacuzzi-temperatures was a great experience. One criticism I would raise is that during our stay there were several large conferences being held and some of these conference participants were noticeably loud, rude and rowdy.

Aside from this, we throughly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Gold Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience on Trip Advisor.
The Fairmont Banff Springs appreciates all feedback we receive and we read each and every review so as to put the comments to our best constructive use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.