We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaw-dropping beauty all around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% OFF SPRING BREAK
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Jaw-dropping beauty all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Sure, the hotel is nice. I stayed at a one bedroom suite in Stanley Thompson wing--honestly a bit aged throughout the room, but spacious enough. One could argue that with such natural beauty all around why you would care about the room at all. But at those prices i would have expected a bit more. Easy access to downtown Banff--5 min drive.

Oh, if you are a golfer--please play the course. You will thank me. Magnificent views. Plus at that altitude you'll drive like a 25 year old Tiger.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you! Score Golf Canada has just ranked our course as #6 in the country. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,033
    706
    320
    186
    114
See reviews for
695
1,559
74
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel is a beautiful resort in a spectacular setting. The staff was friendly and helpful with the services being impeccable! The restaurants were wonderful. We would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Happy Anniversary and congratulations on this significant milestone together. Thank you for choosing to spend it here at The Fairmont Banff Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! The rooms are definitely overpriced, but you are there for the ambiance and history. They even have a harpist in the hotel lobby and she played lovely! Keep her!! We decided to stay there and do a little ghost investigating. It was quite exciting! The power went out in the whole town and the hotel and they gave us $100 off the room price that night, so the price wasn't so painful! Definitely recommend using the valet parking. They are so nice and helpful those guys! Keep them too!

Room Tip: If you are from Alberta, you receive a 30% discount. They didn't ask for AB ID though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review which has been shared with our team. We appreciate the feedback.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Many times, pics can be deceiving, but not in this case. The service was remarkable. The rooms are rather small, but we had a view centered on the water, and it didn't matter. We had a short stay there, but hope to go back again. We did an ice walk with a naturalist that was wonderful. The prices in the shops in town were much better than we anticipated.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The rooms were small but that is the ONLY thing wrong with this hotel! Lots of space to sit and visit with friends and family and the outside heated pool was amazing!! It was 68 degrees outside, and we were swimming outside the water was so warm!! Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and other readers. We do appreciate it, and we hope you had successful meetings here with us. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Banff Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Macleod, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Such a wonderful sight to see and place to stay! The rooms were clean, comfortable and beautiful, the staff friendly and very helpful. The conference rooms were clean and very spacious, as were the washrooms. :) I enjoyed touring around the hotel and seeing the history prevelent in the hotel itself. Take notice of the fossiled staircase, the grand staircase and the view! There's a giftshop, golf course, spa and so much more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for visiting from Fort McLeod. We are pleased that you chose The Fairmont Banff Springs and that you had a memorable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I was completely blown away by our stay. Everything was perfect. We had a beautiful, spotless room with a comfortable bed. The service we received from the staff was impeccable. Our ice bucket had even been filled when we arrived in our room. Just a small touch but it was nice. The two restaurants we ate at were excellent (Bow Valley Grill and Castello Ristorante). There was live entertainment in one of the lounges in the evening. (I think this may only be in the summer.) The grounds are well-kept, and there seems to be a lot to do. I wish we had been able to stay longer and explore more of what the hotel has to offer.

Room Tip: Make sure you let them know if you have mobility challenges. We had room 808, which was essentially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so very much for sharing that you had a perfect stay. We really appreciate it.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.